You are not logged in.

#1 2017-10-19 09:16:11

WhatInConation
Member
Registered: 2017-10-19
Posts: 3

Installer Not Showing Partitions

Hi all,
I'd really like to try out Archbang, but can't get the installer to work. The partitioning part of the install allows me to use both cfdisk and parted correctly, but when I finish with 1 of those tools and hit "quit" (after making /dev/sda1, /dev/sda2, and /dev/sda3 partitions and checking with sudo fdisk -l), it asks me to install root on  /dev/sdb1 or /dev/sdb2 (US partitions). There's no option given to install it on any of the /dev/sda partitions.
It appears that someone had the same problem a while ago, but no answer was given and the topic was mistakenly marked [solved].
http://bbs.archbang.org/viewtopic.php?id=5570
What can I do to get around this?

Offline

#2 2017-10-19 10:16:18

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,906

Re: Installer Not Showing Partitions

Did filesystems get created?  USB partition does not normally show up, would help if you state which version of ArchBang you are using...


Comments, suggestions, donations please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org Artix information https://artixlinux.org/migrate.php

Offline

#3 2017-10-19 10:19:51

WhatInConation
Member
Registered: 2017-10-19
Posts: 3

Re: Installer Not Showing Partitions

Mr Green wrote:

Did filesystems get created?  USB partition does not normally show up, would help if you state which version of ArchBang you are using...

I believe they did. I made them all ext4 (except for what's going to be /swap; other two will be / and /home, although I'm considering only having / and /swap and opting to encrypt individual folders instead of all of a /home). I'll update on this when I get back to my computer. I'm using the Artix version.

Last edited by WhatInConation (2017-10-19 10:23:13)

Offline

#4 2017-10-19 17:06:23

WhatInConation
Member
Registered: 2017-10-19
Posts: 3

Re: Installer Not Showing Partitions

Alright, here are some pictures.
Here's the actual error:
the error after making partitions
Here's the first half of the output from sudo fdisk -l:
fdisk output 1
Here's the 2nd half:
fdisk output 2

Offline

#5 2017-10-20 20:42:54

seventh
Member
Registered: 2017-02-07
Posts: 73

Re: Installer Not Showing Partitions

I can confirm this was happening to me also. The way around it is to create partitions and filesytems first in say gparted then use "maintain current" in the installer. FYI mr Green, i downloaded and installed last night using the the most recent iso.

Last edited by seventh (2017-10-20 20:44:05)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB