You are not logged in.

#1 2017-08-23 10:07:50

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,906

Conky opacity setting

Would like to add opacity to conky background to make it stand out on the wallpaper I want to use, not really sure if it is possible without using compton. Anyone know if it is possible and how to achieve it?


Comments, suggestions, donations please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org Artix information https://artixlinux.org/migrate.php

Offline

#2 2017-08-23 15:37:57

pablokal
Administrator
From: Nijmegen, Holland
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 3,630
Website

Re: Conky opacity setting

http://conky.sourceforge.net/config_settings.html

own_window_argb_value     When ARGB visuals are enabled, this use this to modify the alpha value used. Valid range is 0-255, where 0 is 0% opacity, and 255 is 100% opacity.

This also will be necessary:

All you need to do is add own_window_argb_visual yes to your existing conkyrc file

see also https://unix.stackexchange.com/question … ansparency the first answer


Getting your questions answered here at ArchBang Forums
Please! Always give hardware info, if there is a chance that 's relevant: #lspci -vnn
On Arch(bang) and Openbox: http://stillstup.blogspot.com/

Offline

#3 2017-08-25 09:30:46

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,906

Re: Conky opacity setting

I can only get a solid black background, so thinking it will need compton or alike to work. It was more that text for shortcuts does not show up so well with latest ArchBang wallpaper. If I cannot get it working then I resort to pipemenu instead.


Comments, suggestions, donations please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org Artix information https://artixlinux.org/migrate.php

Offline

#4 2017-08-26 02:18:42

seventh
Member
Registered: 2017-02-07
Posts: 73

Re: Conky opacity setting

Try these lines in conky.conf mr green? Im not on archbang for now but im pretty sure uses conky.conf and conky version 1.10

own_window_argb_visual = true,
own_window_argb_value = 100,

This will give it a somewhat dark opacity background but not a solid one, if you get a solid one it maybe due to not having a compositor.

Last edited by seventh (2017-08-26 02:19:51)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB