You are not logged in.

#1 2017-08-24 02:01:06

BigF
Member
Registered: 2012-02-17
Posts: 55

Some issues on the latest verions of Artix

Hello gentlemen,

After a major server upgrade just a few months ago, i am now upgrading some clients too.  Till now i have tried every artix version that was distributed by AB.
On every one, i had (till now) a few major probs, who i really need to fix, and i am affraid this old guy is gonna need your help once again ....
They may all be associated to my, still very limited knowledge of openrc stuff, but i try to learn :-)

First problem :

I share media by NFS on the server. I do it this way ever since i started using linux.
I always connected to them using autofs, witch pretty much worked flawelsly.
Not anymore tough.
It appears to me, i should not use autofs, but autofs-openrc.
I can install the first one, but am not able to set it up.

@Zoeloe etc]$ sudo /etc/init.d/autofs start
sudo: /etc/init.d/autofs: opdracht niet gevonden

etc]$ packer -S autofs
waarschuwing:autofs-5.1.3-1 is up to date -- opnieuw installeren
 

it seems to be installed, but the "command is not found"

When i try to install autofs-openrc :

curl: (22) The requested URL returned error: 404 Not Found
==> FOUT: Downloaden mislukt https://raw.githubusercontent.com/gentoo/gentoo/master/net-misc/openvpn/files/openvpn-2.1.conf
    Afbreken...
The build failed.

Seems the package is not found on a gento server....

I seem not able to fix this, so pls pls pls, help me around this :-)

EDIT :
I can however, mount a remotedrive manually on a local directoty ...



Second problem : NVidia

I use an older yet good Nvidia GTX295 card on this particular client. I always used the nvidia-340xx-lts driver.
And til now, i tried to install every (yes, every) nvidia-lts package availabe as well as nouveau, but they all got me an blank screen where i cant alt-tab away from.
Do i need a nvidia-"openrc" version or so ?

Please enlight me you guys, i am getting desperate and i really not wanna leave AB for an other distro cos i love it, and have worked with it for years now.


Oh, and this reminds me, since i am condammed to use plenty time on a console this way, please let me know to how to set the keyboard there to "be" instead of "us" :-)  Its very anoying to do all this typing in an wrong keyboard layout.  It always helped to configure vconsole.conf in etc, but that doesnt work in openrc versions anymore :-(


Many many many thanks in advance !!

Biggy

Last edited by BigF (2017-08-24 02:11:20)

Offline

#2 2017-08-24 08:31:28

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,920

Re: Some issues on the latest verions of Artix

Can you post your pacman.conf and mirrorlist (/etc/pacman.d). With Artix autofs-openrc is no longer available.


Comments, suggestions please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#3 2017-08-25 01:18:36

BigF
Member
Registered: 2012-02-17
Posts: 55

Re: Some issues on the latest verions of Artix

Thank you for your reaction MrGreen :-)

Here is what you were asking for :

My mirrorlist, still original

#
## Artix Linux repository mirrorlist
## Generated on 2017-08-18
##

## Worldwide
Server = https://netcologne.dl.sourceforge.net/project/artix-linux/repos/$repo/os/$arch
Server = https://freefr.dl.sourceforge.net/project/artix-linux/repos/$repo/os/$arch
Server = https://10gbps-io.dl.sourceforge.net/project/artix-linux/repos/$repo/os/$arch
Server = https://netix.dl.sourceforge.net/project/artix-linux/repos/$repo/os/$arch
Server = https://kent.dl.sourceforge.net/project/artix-linux/repos/$repo/os/$arch
Server = https://superb-dca2.dl.sourceforge.net/project/artix-linux/repos/$repo/os/$arch
Server = https://pilotfiber.dl.sourceforge.net/project/artix-linux/repos/$repo/os/$arch
Server = https://iweb.dl.sourceforge.net/project/artix-linux/repos/$repo/os/$arch
Server = https://managedway.dl.sourceforge.net/project/artix-linux/repos/$repo/os/$arch
Server = https://cfhcable.dl.sourceforge.net/project/artix-linux/repos/$repo/os/$arch
Server = https://svwh.dl.sourceforge.net/project/artix-linux/repos/$repo/os/$arch
Server = https://versaweb.dl.sourceforge.net/project/artix-linux/repos/$repo/os/$arch
Server = https://cytranet.dl.sourceforge.net/project/artix-linux/repos/$repo/os/$arch
Server = https://gigenet.dl.sourceforge.net/project/artix-linux/repos/$repo/os/$arch
Server = https://excellmedia.dl.sourceforge.net/project/artix-linux/repos/$repo/os/$arch
Server = https://liquidtelecom.dl.sourceforge.net/project/artix-linux/repos/$repo/os/$arch
Server = https://phoenixnap.dl.sourceforge.net/project/artix-linux/repos/$repo/os/$arch
Server = https://superb-sea2.dl.sourceforge.net/project/artix-linux/repos/$repo/os/$arch
Server = https://ayera.dl.sourceforge.net/project/artix-linux/repos/$repo/os/$arch
Server = https://ufpr.dl.sourceforge.net/project/artix-linux/repos/$repo/os/$arch
Server = https://razaoinfo.dl.sourceforge.net/project/artix-linux/repos/$repo/os/$arch
Server = https://jaist.dl.sourceforge.net/project/artix-linux/repos/$repo/os/$arch
Server = https://ncu.dl.sourceforge.net/project/artix-linux/repos/$repo/os/$arch
Server = https://nchc.dl.sourceforge.net/project/artix-linux/repos/$repo/os/$arch
Server = https://vorboss.dl.sourceforge.net/project/artix-linux/repos/$repo/os/$arch
Server = https://mirrors.dotsrc.org/artix-linux/repos/$repo/os/$arch

Btw, i do have a mirrorlist-arch also in /etc/pacman.d/  ....


My pacman.conf :

#
# /etc/pacman.conf
#
# See the pacman.conf(5) manpage for option and repository directives

#
# GENERAL OPTIONS
#
[options]
# The following paths are commented out with their default values listed.
# If you wish to use different paths, uncomment and update the paths.
#RootDir     = /
#DBPath      = /var/lib/pacman/
#CacheDir    = /var/cache/pacman/pkg/
#LogFile     = /var/log/pacman.log
#GPGDir      = /etc/pacman.d/gnupg/
#HookDir     = /etc/pacman.d/hooks/
HoldPkg     = pacman glibc
#XferCommand = /usr/bin/curl -C - -f %u > %o
#XferCommand = /usr/bin/wget --passive-ftp -c -O %o %u
#CleanMethod = KeepInstalled
#UseDelta    = 0.7
Architecture = auto

# Pacman won't upgrade packages listed in IgnorePkg and members of IgnoreGroup
#IgnorePkg   =
#IgnoreGroup =

#NoUpgrade   =
#NoExtract   =

# Misc options
#UseSyslog
#Color
#TotalDownload
CheckSpace
#VerbosePkgLists

# By default, pacman accepts packages signed by keys that its local keyring
# trusts (see pacman-key and its man page), as well as unsigned packages.
SigLevel    = Required DatabaseOptional
LocalFileSigLevel = Optional
#RemoteFileSigLevel = Required

# NOTE: You must run `pacman-key --init` before first using pacman; the local
# keyring can then be populated with the keys of all official Cromnix
# packagers with `pacman-key --populate archlinux cromnix`.

#
# REPOSITORIES
#   - can be defined here or included from another file
#   - pacman will search repositories in the order defined here
#   - local/custom mirrors can be added here or in separate files
#   - repositories listed first will take precedence when packages
#     have identical names, regardless of version number
#   - URLs will have $repo replaced by the name of the current repo
#   - URLs will have $arch replaced by the name of the architecture
#
# Repository entries are of the format:
#       [repo-name]
#       Server = ServerName
#       Include = IncludePath
#
# The header [repo-name] is crucial - it must be present and
# uncommented to enable the repo.
#

# The testing repositories are disabled by default. To enable, uncomment the
# repo name header and Include lines. You can add preferred servers immediately
# after the header, and they will be used before the default mirrors.

#[system-testing]
#Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

[system]
Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

[world]
Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

#[world-testing]
#Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

[galaxy]
Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

# If you want to run 32 bit applications on your x86_64 system,
# enable the multilib repositories as required here.

#[multilib-testing]
#Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist-arch

#[multilib]
#Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist-arch

# An example of a custom package repository.  See the pacman manpage for
# tips on creating your own repositories.
#[custom]
#SigLevel = Optional TrustAll
#Server = file:///home/custompkgs

#[core]
#Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist-arch

[extra]
Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist-arch

[community]
Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist-arch

I do hope you can find here whats keeping me from getting Nvidia working ... its kinda hard to believe i am the only one using such a card :-)

I guess i will  have to mount my remote drives in my fstab, back like it was in the "old" times again :-)


thanks for your valuable advice MrGreen !

Last edited by BigF (2017-08-25 01:19:26)

Offline

#4 2017-09-04 01:02:18

BigF
Member
Registered: 2012-02-17
Posts: 55

Re: Some issues on the latest verions of Artix

No one who can give me a usefull hint on how to install the NVidia drivers ?
Or maybe is this version only ment to be used in a VM  ? 
This senior is getting really depressed about this ....

Thanks for all the advice in advanced !

Offline

#5 2017-09-04 10:07:11

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,920

Re: Some issues on the latest verions of Artix

Can only suggest reading arch wiki guide on Nvidia...

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/NV … stallation


Comments, suggestions please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#6 2017-09-04 13:53:21

jspaces
Member
Registered: 2017-09-04
Posts: 2

Re: Some issues on the latest verions of Artix

@BigF
The correct url for openvpn-openrc ->

https://raw.githubusercontent.com/gentoo/gentoo/master/net-vpn/openvpn/files/openvpn-2.1.conf"
https://raw.githubusercontent.com/gentoo/gentoo/master/net-vpn/openvpn/files/openvpn-2.1.init"

Notice the change from net-misc to net-vpn.

For your Nvidia driver issue, it may be that you require to give X access to root.
Try creating the file /etc/X11/Xwrapper.conf:

# vim /etc/X11/Xwrapper.conf

If you do not use vim substitute your choice of editor.
Paste these 2 lines into the file and save.

#Xorg.wrap configuation file
needs_root_rights = yes

Now restart your display manager. I am assuming that you have displaymanager-openrc installed and configured.

/etc/init.d/xdm restart

Or if you have the displaymanager-openrc enabled:

rc-service xdm restart

Your DE or windows manager screen should appear normally.
The result of not having root access will produce a blank screen which sounds like the issue you are having. Hopefully this will get you going. smile
The only openrc package that I know of for Nvidia is nvidia-utils-openrc which I believe is optional.

PS I just joined this forum to post this for you.

Last edited by jspaces (2017-09-04 14:27:22)

Offline

#7 2017-09-05 01:18:54

BigF
Member
Registered: 2012-02-17
Posts: 55

Re: Some issues on the latest verions of Artix

Many thanks for your reactions MrGreen and Jspaces !

I used that Nvidia guide on the page you suggested since i started having troubles MrGreen ( i will get eye surgery soon, but i dont find any link on that page to openrc or artix), the result stays the same i am affraid ... thats why i used the 304 and 340 lts versions first, cos i understood the 304 version is for the oldest cards (tough i am sure i used the 340 driver previously) .... It still gives me the same depressing result :-(

And i am so sorry Jspades, but the line you suggest in Xwrapper.conf is already there. Or it was there from installtime, or i added it myself during my searches for sollutions.


Now, before you guys start to think the card is defective, i can assure you that it works perfectly when i switch it to an other desktop :-)


So i guess i will be condammed to use the driver i get from the installation for now ?



My gratitute to both of you for your attention to my pleed ! :-)

Offline

#8 2017-09-05 08:41:23

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,920

Re: Some issues on the latest verions of Artix

@BigF I have used nouveau drivers for many many years without any real problems. I do not play games of need fancy graphics on my old laptop so have managed ok so far. Think Nvidia drivers are not really linked to OpenRC as such (most are modules).


Comments, suggestions please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB