You are not logged in.

#1 2016-11-12 00:15:18

rearden
Member
Registered: 2016-08-24
Posts: 10

[SOLVED] Can't get clock set

Hello,

I am having trouble getting my clock set correctly.  For some reason, it seems like my system doesn't take my set timezone into consideration.  No matter what/how I set my hwclock, Openbox always seems to display what's set in my hwclock, which I believe I have set to UTC. 

Output from hwclock --debug

hwclock from util-linux 2.28.2
Using the /dev interface to the clock.
Last drift adjustment done at 1478843145 seconds after 1969
Last calibration done at 1478843145 seconds after 1969
Hardware clock is on UTC time
Assuming hardware clock is kept in UTC time.
Waiting for clock tick...
...got clock tick
Time read from Hardware Clock: 2016/11/12 05:58:12
Hw clock time : 2016/11/12 05:58:12 = 1478930292 seconds since 1969
Time since last adjustment is 87147 seconds
Calculated Hardware Clock drift is 0.000000 seconds
2016-11-11 21:58:11.342491-8:00

Both my /etc/localtime file and /etc/timezone file are set correctly (symlinked to /usr/share/America/Los_Angeles). 

When I run hwclock --utc, I get the correct time.  However, running date displays UTC time, but labels it as PST.  Any ideas?  Anything obvious that I'm missing here?

Last edited by rearden (2016-11-13 15:28:31)

Offline

#2 2016-11-12 02:45:42

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,920

Re: [SOLVED] Can't get clock set

Take a look at https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Time

Hwclock can be a little confusing, are you dual booting with windows at all?


Comments, suggestions please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#3 2016-11-12 11:50:17

rearden
Member
Registered: 2016-08-24
Posts: 10

Re: [SOLVED] Can't get clock set

I am not dual booting with Windows, however, I do have several other flavors of Linux on this machine.  I have looked at that wiki article several times, however, I'm using one of the OpenRC versions of AB, so I don't have the primary tool it talks about (timedatectl) so most of whats in that article doesn't work.  Unless there is a way to get timedatectl without installing SystemD?

Offline

#4 2016-11-12 12:47:57

pablokal
Administrator
From: Nijmegen, Holland
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 3,633
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Can't get clock set

You could use  https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ne … col_daemon
and set in /home/username/.config/openbox/autostart

(sleep 20s && sudo ntpd -qg) &

I use the delay to be sure nothing interfers with ntpd


Getting your questions answered here at ArchBang Forums
Please! Always give hardware info, if there is a chance that 's relevant: #lspci -vnn
On Arch(bang) and Openbox: http://stillstup.blogspot.com/

Offline

#5 2016-11-12 13:44:57

rearden
Member
Registered: 2016-08-24
Posts: 10

Re: [SOLVED] Can't get clock set

Ok.  I'll give that a shot.

Offline

#6 2016-11-13 15:28:01

rearden
Member
Registered: 2016-08-24
Posts: 10

Re: [SOLVED] Can't get clock set

Cool, thanks for the ntpd advice.  That seems to have fixed it.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB