You are not logged in.

#1 2016-06-06 12:33:25

joji
Member
Registered: 2013-06-05
Posts: 58

menu doesn't show

Just updated / upgraded my system.

When using the right mouse button I get "Invalid output from pipemu /usr/bin/obmenu-generator" and not the expected menu.
Any link with the new version of perl (5, version 24)?

Any hint?

Thank you.

Last edited by joji (2016-06-06 12:43:35)

Offline

#2 2016-06-06 13:31:22

TiPo
Member
Registered: 2015-02-08
Posts: 44

Re: menu doesn't show

Got the same problem, don't know solution yet, was about to post a question here too. Seems obmenu-generator is in AUR wich i don't have configured. So just finding out how to update / reinstall. One of the most recent solutions i found is removing HOME/.config/obmenu-generator and then a reinstall. When i run obmenu-generator i get:
Experimental keys on scalar is now forbidden at /usr/bin/obmenu-generator line 286.

Offline

#3 2016-06-06 19:16:58

eric
Member
Registered: 2015-07-10
Posts: 240
Website

Re: menu doesn't show

Got the same problem, Removing the -i option (icon) do the stuff.
this is the command i use to call obmenu-generator :

obmenu-generator -d -u

note: obviously, the package obmenu-generator was compiled again with yaourt smile

Last edited by eric (2016-06-06 19:17:48)


Obarun : free to control your system

Offline

#4 2016-06-07 00:03:01

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,920

Re: menu doesn't show

We switched too archlinux-xdg-menu some time ago but it is main repo so probably better maintained.


Comments, suggestions please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#5 2016-06-08 03:50:46

eric
Member
Registered: 2015-07-10
Posts: 240
Website

Re: menu doesn't show

After some research the trouble come with the new version of perl. Every perl modules installed by yaourt or cpan need to be rebuild and obsviously package which refer on a new perl modules. After making the change, obmenu-generator works like a charm

Last edited by eric (2016-06-08 03:52:37)


Obarun : free to control your system

Offline

#6 2016-06-08 05:49:59

TiPo
Member
Registered: 2015-02-08
Posts: 44

Re: menu doesn't show

OK, installed yaourt and after that reinstalled obmenu-generator (wich also installed new version of Perl). Version was quite old 0.49 now on 0.67.
Problem solved for me. Thanks eric.

Offline

#7 2016-06-08 13:29:12

joji
Member
Registered: 2013-06-05
Posts: 58

Re: menu doesn't show

Mr Green wrote:

We switched too archlinux-xdg-menu some time ago but it is main repo so probably better maintained.

Thank you all (Mr Green, eric, TiPo) for the kind help and all the hints.

What I did was : install 'archlinux-xdg-menu' as suggested by Mr Green.
Since I was unable to configure the .config/openbox/menu.xml-file I just replaced mine by the one I found in the latest "archbang-openrc-beta-070616-x86_64.iso".
Have the impression all is working as expected.

Wish to thank you one more time.

Offline

#8 2016-06-10 19:09:40

rexo
Member
Registered: 2016-06-10
Posts: 1

Re: menu doesn't show

Experimental keys on scalar is now forbidden at /usr/bin/obmenu-generator line 286.

quick an dirty fix till you update the perl modules as mentioned by eric.

lines 285 - 288

# Remove user's defined values
# remmed out by rexo 06-10-2016
#my @valid_keys = grep exists $CONFIG{$_}, keys $CONFIG;
#@CONFIG{@valid_keys} = @{$CONFIG}{@valid_keys};
 
newbee dumb move maybe. didn't know enough to update perl ...

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB