You are not logged in.

#1 2016-03-10 11:00:20

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,920

Work on gtk2 only version has a problem

Been working towards a gtk2 only version of ArchBang, this has meant some packages needed to be removed or changed. Firefox tries to use both toolkits, spacefm is gtk3 (and network manager).

While I am now gtk3 free another issue has arisen.

The pseudo transparency seems to have stopped working, tint2 has a black background as does lxterminal.

My thinking now is if I should go gtk3 and drop gtk2????

Meantime I am testing xcompmgr.


Comments, suggestions please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#2 2016-03-11 11:50:25

pablokal
Administrator
From: Nijmegen, Holland
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 3,634
Website

Re: Work on gtk2 only version has a problem

Transparancy is not a big deal to me. Strange btw because we had transparancy for a long time and it should be  possible with gtk2


Getting your questions answered here at ArchBang Forums
Please! Always give hardware info, if there is a chance that 's relevant: #lspci -vnn
On Arch(bang) and Openbox: http://stillstup.blogspot.com/

Offline

#3 2016-03-11 12:02:47

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,920

Re: Work on gtk2 only version has a problem

It does seem odd that current AB works fine but gtk3 free version does not, have not made any major changes other than tint2 and conkyrc (configs). Guess I need to figure this out.


Comments, suggestions please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#4 2016-03-11 12:33:21

eric
Member
Registered: 2015-07-10
Posts: 240
Website

Re: Work on gtk2 only version has a problem

try compton smile on community repo.


Obarun : free to control your system

Offline

#5 2016-03-12 01:08:24

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,920

Re: Work on gtk2 only version has a problem

Xcompmgr smile

Going to try just changing theme and look first, then start figuring out packages.


Comments, suggestions please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#6 2016-03-12 05:11:29

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,920

Re: Work on gtk2 only version has a problem

Ok so I changed background image and transparency works, the problem is I created background in gimp (had no idea what I was doing). It is a solid colour but I guess that was wrong.

Basically need a wallpaper with #2E3436 colour? any ideas?


Comments, suggestions please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#7 2016-03-13 01:39:26

eric
Member
Registered: 2015-07-10
Posts: 240
Website

Re: Work on gtk2 only version has a problem

what is the appli used for display background?

note : https://lists.archlinux.org/pipermail/a … 40902.html

Last edited by eric (2016-03-13 01:41:40)


Obarun : free to control your system

Offline

#8 2016-03-13 02:04:04

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,920

Re: Work on gtk2 only version has a problem

I use feh to set background (hsetroot is now in aur) [[xorg-xsetroot did not do want I wanted]]

Super weird lxterminal-gtk3 does not have opacity control.

There was me thinking gtk2 was getting old wink


Comments, suggestions please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#9 2016-03-13 02:53:31

eric
Member
Registered: 2015-07-10
Posts: 240
Website

Re: Work on gtk2 only version has a problem

do you have the same issue with nitrogen?


Obarun : free to control your system

Offline

#10 2016-03-13 03:40:53

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,920

Re: Work on gtk2 only version has a problem

Not tried, dropped nitrogen as it loads yet another toolkit. Betas are uploaded... got more work to do


Comments, suggestions please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB