You are not logged in.

#1 2015-12-02 06:47:37

igorka
Member
From: italy
Registered: 2012-05-21
Posts: 88

[SOLVED]no bootloader install in new iso

Hi Mistergreen,
The new iso works fine live but i could not install it because of errors with the bootloader install:

==> ERROR: Can't create chroot on non-directory /bin/bash

I'm not specialist of cfdisk but i noticed that it also don't asks for a mount point.
I tried it more times on vm and on a little 'acer aspire one'...
I hope i'm the only one with this problem, than it would mean that 'I am the
broblem'. wink

Last edited by igorka (2015-12-03 14:25:53)

Offline

#2 2015-12-02 09:05:23

oliver
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-04
Posts: 2,209

Re: [SOLVED]no bootloader install in new iso

Total guess but that looks like a variable is not being expanded.

For example the command is typically "chroot /mnt/point /bin/bash" but if /mnt/point is not expanded the command would be "chroot /bin/bash" and give the error

Might be something else entirely though :-)

Offline

#3 2015-12-02 10:29:32

igorka
Member
From: italy
Registered: 2012-05-21
Posts: 88

Re: [SOLVED]no bootloader install in new iso

I think i didn't make big mistakes also because i tried several times.
May be something with the installer?

Offline

#4 2015-12-02 11:05:34

oliver
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-04
Posts: 2,209

Re: [SOLVED]no bootloader install in new iso

yeah - it's outside of your control

Offline

#5 2015-12-03 00:30:11

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,920

Re: [SOLVED]no bootloader install in new iso

Would be interested to know which bootloader is causing the issue.


Comments, suggestions please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#6 2015-12-03 01:40:39

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,920

Re: [SOLVED]no bootloader install in new iso

Just checked and yes we do have an error in installer, for now manually install bootloader...... working on problem


Comments, suggestions please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#7 2015-12-03 01:44:48

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,920

Re: [SOLVED]no bootloader install in new iso

Ok easy fix,

In /usr/bin/sharedfuncs edit

 arch_chroot() { #{{{
    arch-chroot $MOUNTPOINT /bin/bash -c "${1}" # change $MOUNTPOINT too $MNT
  }

Will rebuild and upload isos again soon....


Comments, suggestions please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#8 2015-12-03 14:20:37

igorka
Member
From: italy
Registered: 2012-05-21
Posts: 88

Re: [SOLVED]no bootloader install in new iso

Thanks!

Offline

#9 2015-12-03 14:57:25

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,920

Re: [SOLVED]no bootloader install in new iso

Changed a variable in abinstall did not think of looking anywhere else. Should work fine now, more likely better...

Not sure why it did not get picked up in beta version.

Glad someone is testing other than just me. wink


Comments, suggestions please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#10 2015-12-04 03:13:01

igorka
Member
From: italy
Registered: 2012-05-21
Posts: 88

Re: [SOLVED]no bootloader install in new iso

I'm going download it and try with vm when i find some time

Offline

#11 2015-12-05 07:36:04

igorka
Member
From: italy
Registered: 2012-05-21
Posts: 88

Re: [SOLVED]no bootloader install in new iso

Works fine on vm.
I'm happy to notice that the number of italians repos is growing!

Last edited by igorka (2015-12-05 07:37:49)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB