You are not logged in.

#1 2014-07-18 12:31:11

dragonauta
Member
Registered: 2012-05-15
Posts: 313
Website

Full house... experiences on virtualization...

Hi all, I wanted to share some (own experience) experiments I had made 6 months ago since.

I had a Core2Duo E8400 + 4 GB Ram that died (mobo fried and no spare available).
It was my business "server" and workstation.
So I had to spent some bucks on new equipment.

I'm doing IT consulting.
Here at my town, noone else is doing this job so I started my own shop (well I don't have a "shop", but my house)

So, needed to build a virtualization server, to test/use and "sell"
I went for an Intel i7-4770 + 16GB Ram on a Z87 chipset motherboard and installed ProxMox.

For those who doesn't know, Proxmox is a Debian + OpenVZ + QEMU all wrapped on a really nice web gui front-end.
So, installed Proxmox on the i7 and started to learn and get all the juice.

I used containers to get working these servers:
- Wordpress development/research server (for some customers that have WP websites)
- Samba+Torrent+DLNA server
- Nagios Server (to remotely check customers servers status through VPN)
- Dokuwiki (for internal KB)
- Xubuntu Desktop for Radio automatization software testing
- Xubuntu Desktop for a ERP software testing
- a Guacamole Server (it's a VNC/RDP/SSH proxy and a Web Client to access those protocols)
- a Cloner container: I have M$ Windows Installation Image to rapid deployment. Just SystemRescueCD, dd and nc...
And got some QEMU machines:
- a W7 for research/customer assistance
- an Elastix server (Asterisk VoIP)

All those services running as separated virtual machines.
But I still have no workstation. Proxmox doesn't install X nor desktop. It's a bare metal console Debian

So Yesterday I made these changes:
- Installed/configured ArchBang on a QEMU VM.
- Installed/configured x11vnc on AB
- Went to Proxmox (debian) and installed xorg and tightvncviewer
- When login at proxmox I see bash prompt, so I simply run

xinit /usr/bin/xtightvncviewer -fullscreen archbang-ip-address:5900 $* -- :0

And got AB on a vnc session on TTY7 (Ctrl+Alt+F7)!!

If switch to another TTY and run

xinit /usr/bin/xtightvncviewer -fullscreen windows7-ip-address:5900 $* -- :1

I get a W7 vnc session on TTY8 (Ctrl+Alt+F8)!!

Performance is AWESOME!.
11 virtual machines and neither AB nor W7 interfere with others VM as I really have fine-tunning them.
Ofcourse I can't play audio, but playing video is good enough.

BTW I need just basic apps for my daily work:
- a browser for e-mail, calendar, notes, docs and sheets (all this thanks to Google)
- filezilla
- sometimes gimp & inkscape
Everything else I use my android phone (google hangouts, calls, skype...)

Running AB through VNC made my life easier.
Also, as I have "guacamole", I can access all my VM through internet just with a browser!! wink


me
"Politicians and diapers need to be changed often ... and for the same reasons."

Offline

#2 2014-07-18 17:23:21

scjet
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2010-12-01
Posts: 1,468

Re: Full house... experiences on virtualization...

hey Drago, It's refreshing to hear good news around here for a change. wink
That is one heck of an all-round Deployment solution, for sure -good stuff.

I've been trying to convince a friend of mine, for his next upgrade, to just get an i7-4770 + 16/32 Gigs ram, or similar, instead of spending a ridiculous amount of money for dual-CPU Xeons, server motherboard, ...
But he thinks he needs all that to render his Videography work.  He spent thousands of dollars on adobe premiere pro,..., and yet he prefers to use the "kdenlive" that I showed him. -go figure ?
  I've been fixing his Workstation woes for a decade now, but you'd think he'd listen to my (hardware) advice, just once?  -LoL.
---

Anyway, that's is a very nice (maximum use of) Virtualization you got there,..., and Voip too.

Last edited by scjet (2014-07-18 18:36:34)

Offline

#3 2014-07-18 18:23:32

dragonauta
Member
Registered: 2012-05-15
Posts: 313
Website

Re: Full house... experiences on virtualization...

For my experience (and that would be 24 years since I touched a PC for the very first time and 14 as IT employee)
Server's hardware (Xeon, mobo, ECC RAM, RAID boards, etc) work best when you need stability: companies with mainframes and large databases, critical applications, etc.
Otherwise is a waste of money.

Buy best PC you can (I would lean for gamer stuff)
Like mobos MSI Z87-G45 or ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z.
So you can get all the juice and your hardware won't notice you're there -lol

Build a storage with an old pc and some disks and make homework: backup everything important.
you'll be just fine.

With this tool (Proxmox) and two or more PC, I can build a cluster, move vm around nodes, make them HA (high availavility)
I'm experimenting...
I'm really impressed how well behaves AB on this setup (as VM accessed by VNC)

Last edited by dragonauta (2014-07-18 20:34:53)


me
"Politicians and diapers need to be changed often ... and for the same reasons."

Offline

#4 2014-07-18 20:09:17

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,920

Re: Full house... experiences on virtualization...

If I can add anything that would help to iso then let me know.


Comments, suggestions please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#5 2014-07-20 19:39:01

dragonauta
Member
Registered: 2012-05-15
Posts: 313
Website

Re: Full house... experiences on virtualization...

Mr Green wrote:

If I can add anything that would help to iso then let me know.

Not really.   As I'm using AB  as virtualized desktop everything is there: drivers and such.

I want to learn about iso build.  I always wanted a livecd with just a browser, a vnc client and a rdp client.
Arch has a small footprint.  Ideal for turning old pc into thin clients.
But that is some homework.  I need to sit down and read wiki.

Last edited by dragonauta (2014-07-20 20:02:02)


me
"Politicians and diapers need to be changed often ... and for the same reasons."

Offline

#6 2014-07-21 06:50:16

oliver
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-04
Posts: 2,209

Re: Full house... experiences on virtualization...

dragonauta wrote:
Mr Green wrote:

If I can add anything that would help to iso then let me know.

Not really.   As I'm using AB  as virtualized desktop everything is there: drivers and such.

I want to learn about iso build.  I always wanted a livecd with just a browser, a vnc client and a rdp client.
Arch has a small footprint.  Ideal for turning old pc into thin clients.
But that is some homework.  I need to sit down and read wiki.

git clone https://github.com/mrgreen3/archbang-light

edit packages and aur_packages files
edit pacman.conf (look at repo list)
as root run ./build.sh -v (do look at it first because there are some customizations in there)
come back to a nice shiny iso

Offline

#7 2014-07-21 08:58:53

dragonauta
Member
Registered: 2012-05-15
Posts: 313
Website

Re: Full house... experiences on virtualization...

git clone https://github.com/mrgreen3/archbang-light

edit packages and aur_packages files
edit pacman.conf (look at repo list)
as root run ./build.sh -v (do look at it first because there are some customizations in there)
come back to a nice shiny iso

Wooow! awesome! big_smile
Thanks Oliver!!


On a side note, related to virtualization...
I mentioned that I have no sound on virtualized ArchBang because there's no sound card, BUT...

I bought a bluetooth headset (for my android phone when I'm driving)
Also I had a bluetooth adapter (those USB-pendrive-like devices)

I connected bluetooth adapter to host (proxmox) and made a USB passthrough to Virtual Machine.
Went to ArchBang (vm) and installed pulseaudio and blueman (from AUR)
Configured blueman and saw the adapter and when turned it on, I saw the headset.
Paired and .... yeeeaah!
I have sound on my virtualized ArchBang!!!

Ok, this work only if I'm near the host (30ft)... but I can play some videos, listen online radios, and have Google's hangouts.

Last edited by dragonauta (2014-07-21 08:59:42)


me
"Politicians and diapers need to be changed often ... and for the same reasons."

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB