You are not logged in.

#1 2013-04-23 20:00:18

tommydust
Member
Registered: 2013-04-22
Posts: 9

GTK3 Menus.

I updated and that's when the issue started. I figured I must have deleted something important in the /.config/gtk3/ area. So I reinstalled just to see the same issue on a fresh install.

fy2txv.png

Anyone else had this issue and have a fix?


gnu+linux nerd

Offline

#2 2013-04-23 21:06:23

tommydust
Member
Registered: 2013-04-22
Posts: 9

Re: GTK3 Menus.

Well... I decided to follow another post in this forum copying the gtk-3.0 folder over but now I got this issue.

mikrdd.png

anyone by chance know what the menu buttons are defined as in a gtk3 gtk.css?


gnu+linux nerd

Offline

#3 2013-04-23 21:33:21

tommydust
Member
Registered: 2013-04-22
Posts: 9

Re: GTK3 Menus.

I seriously think there's something other than my gtk theme causing issues with the file menu. I guess, judging by the ratio of views to replies, I'm on my own here.


gnu+linux nerd

Offline

#4 2013-04-23 21:43:08

mike4ca
Happy (Arch|Manjaro)[B,b]ang User
From: Iowa, USA
Registered: 2011-10-17
Posts: 435

Re: GTK3 Menus.

Not everyone is able to help and some of the best help is spread out over the world.  So sometimes you need to wait a day.  What GTK3 them are you using?  There are issues with a lot of GTK3 themes and the latest GTK 3.8.


Free Software Foundation member 10865

Offline

#5 2013-04-23 22:09:22

tommydust
Member
Registered: 2013-04-22
Posts: 9

Re: GTK3 Menus.

Sorry I guess the impatience comes from the wait to even be able to post. I'm using Owl Suite v2. Which was made for archbang one of the top openbox themes on deviant art. The gtk2 themes work fine but for some reason openbox gtk3 themes are always an issue. I've (thankfully) got it down to just 2 issues in the theme. The file menu bar and the selected bg color for folders. they both show up blank white.
here's my modified gtk.css:
http://pastebin.com/iTtKJ3Gt


gnu+linux nerd

Offline

#6 2013-04-23 23:06:08

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,920

Re: GTK3 Menus.

It will take time for theme creators to catch up with 3.8, you could try spacefm-gtk2 from aur but other applications are affected too.


Comments, suggestions please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#7 2013-04-23 23:12:13

tommydust
Member
Registered: 2013-04-22
Posts: 9

Re: GTK3 Menus.

I wish everything could be gtk2 honestly. I've made my own themes before but for gtk3 I usually just steal someone else's that's similar and change a few colors. Could never understand how gtk3 was an upgrade from gtk2. I guess the waiting game it is than. Thanks for the reply.


gnu+linux nerd

Offline

#8 2013-04-23 23:37:55

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,920

Re: GTK3 Menus.

This theme is up to date and works ok, makes our icon set look a little pale but I am sure a different set would fix that

http://gnome-look.org/content/show.php/ … ent=140562

And install openbox theme match

https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/zuki … e-openbox/


Comments, suggestions please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#9 2013-04-24 00:22:25

tommydust
Member
Registered: 2013-04-22
Posts: 9

Re: GTK3 Menus.

i use faenza. thanks for the links. i'll check it out. I'm quite content with my custom openbox theme and i'm not sure the light grey would go with any of my wallpapers though.


gnu+linux nerd

Offline

#10 2013-04-24 01:39:54

Pagoda
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2011-02-14
Posts: 19

Re: GTK3 Menus.

Mr Green wrote:

It will take time for theme creators to catch up with 3.8, you could try spacefm-gtk2 from aur but other applications are affected too.

Having used Manjaro for the last few weeks I don't experience this issue, the only difference using Thunar and not SpaceFM.
Themes appear totally fine everywhere for someone that's not used openbox for years...
I did try dragging in my tweaked and working themes into Archbang from my Manjaro install (Greenbird & Carbon) only to find the same issues persist.
Seemingly points to the problem being Archbang related...

I am tempted to ditch Manjaro and install Archbang to investigate further.
Question: Is it only the latest test iso here affected?

Offline

#11 2013-04-24 05:19:08

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,920

Re: GTK3 Menus.

Think latest testing iso is not affected, but installing and updating you will find gtk 3.8 theme issue. If orion gets updated soon then I will upload test isos but need to get a working tint2 config sorted as well....


Comments, suggestions please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#12 2013-04-24 05:28:10

Pagoda
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2011-02-14
Posts: 19

Re: GTK3 Menus.

@Mr Green,

I stand corrected.
Current gtk version in Manjaro is 3.6.4-2.
So would it be possible then to hold a working gtk version until these 3.8 issues are resolved?
I don't wish to seem impatient for a new release, just offering a compromise is all smile

Offline

#13 2013-04-24 05:46:00

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,920

Re: GTK3 Menus.

The way I build isos is that packages are installed as up to date as possible. As an example I could build an iso in the morning by late afternoon certain packages may have been updated. That is the beauty of a rolling release. Holding is an option but would cause more problem down the line. Maybe Manjaro will update might be worth asking on Manjaro Forums....meantime I am waiting to see if Orion gets updated.


Comments, suggestions please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB