You are not logged in.

#1 2012-08-26 19:54:54

packetloss
Member
Registered: 2012-08-26
Posts: 22

How to use multiple kernels or install VirtualBox using 3.3.4-1

Hi guys, first post and brand new to ArchBang. I've only been using it for two days now, in fact, I'm still getting the install where I want it, which is why I need help. I'm not new to Linux. I have been using linux for as long as I've been computing. But the last 7-8 years have been with Ubuntu, which has made me extremely lazy and I can't remember how to do anything anymore. I decided to go back to a simpler leaner OS and I am absolutely in love with ArchBang.  Now it's time that I install VirtualBox since I will have need to run Linux CNC but do not want that as my primary OS. When I try to use pacman to install VirtualBox I get the following error-

[packetloss@archbang ~]$ sudo pacman -S virtualbox
resolving dependencies...
looking for inter-conflicts...
error: failed to prepare transaction (could not satisfy dependencies)
:: virtualbox-archlinux-modules: requires linux<3.4

I'm a bit reluctant to flat out upgrade my kernel since things are working well right now and I'd like to keep moving forward with this install, not make a stupid mistake and have to start over. What I'd like to do is have the option in Grub to load the newer kernel or load the one that is known to work. That way if the newer kernel breaks things, I still have my working install.

Getting VirtualBox to run on the kernel I currently have(3.3.4-1-ARCH) is also an acceptable solution. Can you guys help me with either one?

Offline

#2 2012-08-26 20:35:18

mike4ca
Happy (Arch|Manjaro)[B,b]ang User
From: Iowa, USA
Registered: 2011-10-17
Posts: 435

Re: How to use multiple kernels or install VirtualBox using 3.3.4-1

It is curious that you can't install virtualbox.  The kernel you list is less than 3.4 (unless you have a typo)!  The Arch wiki has a good article for VB.  Here is what to do to install for custom kernels: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Vi … tom_kernel.  There is also the option of installing the long term support (LTS) kernel.  We have a wiki article with some tips: http://wiki.archbang.org/index.php?titl … ort_Kernel.  You can install the LTS kernel and install and use VB with that kernel.


Free Software Foundation member 10865

Offline

#3 2012-08-26 20:50:47

packetloss
Member
Registered: 2012-08-26
Posts: 22

Re: How to use multiple kernels or install VirtualBox using 3.3.4-1

Derp, I thought it wanted 3.4 or greater. Thanks for the fast reply, though, and the links.

So, are you telling me that it shouldn't be doing what it's doing? It should be installing?

Offline

#4 2012-08-26 21:29:37

mike4ca
Happy (Arch|Manjaro)[B,b]ang User
From: Iowa, USA
Registered: 2011-10-17
Posts: 435

Re: How to use multiple kernels or install VirtualBox using 3.3.4-1

Yes, I was a little confused by the "could not satisfy the dependency error" that wanted linux<3.4 and you stating you were running 3.3.4.1.  Sometimes these things work themselves out after a couple days as they continuously update packages.


Free Software Foundation member 10865

Offline

#5 2012-08-27 06:44:11

oliver
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-04
Posts: 2,209

Re: How to use multiple kernels or install VirtualBox using 3.3.4-1

you may want to try the lts (long term support) kernel (pacman -Ss linux-lts)... the regular kernel updates come thick and fast in Arch

Offline

#6 2012-08-27 09:33:33

packetloss
Member
Registered: 2012-08-26
Posts: 22

Re: How to use multiple kernels or install VirtualBox using 3.3.4-1

I always thought the LTS kernel was the one you had to pay for. Me and my stupid assumptions.

Offline

#7 2012-08-27 10:25:56

oliver
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-04
Posts: 2,209

Re: How to use multiple kernels or install VirtualBox using 3.3.4-1

I'll give you a 10% discount... you can send me the money via paypal :-)

Offline

#8 2012-08-27 14:21:14

packetloss
Member
Registered: 2012-08-26
Posts: 22

Re: How to use multiple kernels or install VirtualBox using 3.3.4-1

Just sent you $900, you said 10% discount, right?

Offline

#9 2012-08-27 22:27:49

packetloss
Member
Registered: 2012-08-26
Posts: 22

Re: How to use multiple kernels or install VirtualBox using 3.3.4-1

Installing the LTS kernel didn't seem to go so well. Here's a straight up copy pasta from my terminal.

[packetloss@archbang ~]$ sudo pacman -S linux-lts
resolving dependencies...
looking for inter-conflicts...

Targets (1): linux-lts-3.0.41-1

Total Download Size:    37.72 MiB
Total Installed Size:   54.16 MiB

Proceed with installation? [Y/n] y
:: Retrieving packages from core...
 linux-lts-3.0.41-1-i686   37.7 MiB  2.09M/s 00:18 [----------------------] 100%
(1/1) checking package integrity                   [----------------------] 100%
(1/1) loading package files                        [----------------------] 100%
(1/1) checking for file conflicts                  [----------------------] 100%
(1/1) checking available disk space                [----------------------] 100%
(1/1) installing linux-lts                         [----------------------] 100%
>>> Updating module dependencies. Please wait ...
ERROR: could not open directory /lib/modules/3.0.41-1-lts: No such file or directory
FATAL: could not search modules: No such file or directory
>>> Generating initial ramdisk, using mkinitcpio.  Please wait...
==> Building image from preset: 'default'
  -> -k /boot/vmlinuz-linux-lts -c /etc/mkinitcpio.conf -g /boot/initramfs-linux-lts.img
==> ERROR: invalid kernel specifier: `/boot/vmlinuz-linux-lts'
==> Building image from preset: 'fallback'
  -> -k /boot/vmlinuz-linux-lts -c /etc/mkinitcpio.conf -g /boot/initramfs-linux-lts-fallback.img -S autodetect
==> ERROR: invalid kernel specifier: `/boot/vmlinuz-linux-lts'
Optional dependencies for linux-lts
    crda: to set the correct wireless channels of your country
[packetloss@archbang ~]$ 

Offline

#10 2012-08-27 22:31:23

packetloss
Member
Registered: 2012-08-26
Posts: 22

Re: How to use multiple kernels or install VirtualBox using 3.3.4-1

I can't help but notice, VirtualBox also complained about kernel-modules. It would seem my problem is with my kernel modules.

Offline

#11 2012-08-28 07:00:33

oliver
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-04
Posts: 2,209

Re: How to use multiple kernels or install VirtualBox using 3.3.4-1

there's also a virtualbox lts package for the modules side of it. 

Did you have any glibc issues?  I'm surprised at the lts error message.  I'm using that kernel myself

$ pacman -Q|grep -i lts
linux-lts 3.0.41-1
linux-lts-headers 3.0.41-1
virtualbox-archlinux-modules-lts 4.1.20-2

Offline

#12 2012-08-28 08:17:16

packetloss
Member
Registered: 2012-08-26
Posts: 22

Re: How to use multiple kernels or install VirtualBox using 3.3.4-1

[packetloss@archbang ~]$ sudo pacman -Q|grep -i lts
linux-lts 3.0.41-1
[packetloss@archbang ~]$

Hrmm, wonder why I don't have the headers....

I assume I have no glibc issues, I haven't seen anything like that in any of my error messages. Also, I did build a few Arduino sketches, and I had no errors at all with those.

Forgive me if this question is really lame, but did the kernel install? I have seen error riddled feedback like that before for other things and it turns out that it did install. With this, I'm not so sure. As I said in earlier posts, 8 years of ubuntu has robbed me of some know-how I had at one point in time. Part of what really appeals to me about Arch and ArchBang is I know that I'll get that back, in addition to having a more stable and reliable system.

So, what's my next move? The fact that I'm getting errors that you guys don't understand makes me feel like I should ask. Something I feel to mention, though it may mean nothing, concerns my video drivers. The default selection worked, but something happened right at the end of the install and I had to start over. I really have no reason to suspect the video drivers had anything at all to do with the glitch I had at the end of my install, it was more out of curiousity that when I started again I chose the VESA drivers. Is there a relatively painless way to go back and use the default X config? I wouldn't think to even mention it, but my computer is a Panasonic ToughBook and this is supposed to be a touchscreen. That makes my video potentially trickier than it would be otherwise. Anyway, I just wanted to mention it since it may be something I need to deal with.

What should I do now? Install headers? Why the hell aren't they already there?

Thank you guys for helping me though this.

Offline

#13 2012-08-28 08:26:01

packetloss
Member
Registered: 2012-08-26
Posts: 22

Re: How to use multiple kernels or install VirtualBox using 3.3.4-1

[packetloss@archbang ~]$ sudo pacman -S linux-lts-headers 3.0.41-1
error: target not found: 3.0.41-1
[packetloss@archbang ~]$

When I do a pacman -Ss headers|grep lts (the only way I could phrase it and it would find it) it is there, why can't it find it when I tell it to install?

More and more I'm thinking I'm gonna have to redo this install.

Offline

#14 2012-08-28 08:39:55

oliver
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-04
Posts: 2,209

Re: How to use multiple kernels or install VirtualBox using 3.3.4-1

Your command above is not telling pacman to do what you think it will do.  It's actually asking it to install two packages - one called "linux-lts-headers" and one called "3.0.41-1" (which it obviously can't find)

You just need to drop the versioning and you'll be good (at least pacman will pass the initial checks and move on)

$ sudo pacman -S linux-lts-headers

To tell if you have something installed, use 'pacman -Q <pkg>' (or 'pacman -Q | grep -i lts'.) 

No output = not installed

$ pacman -Q linux-lts
linux-lts 3.0.41-1

$ pacman -Q fakeapp
error: package 'fakeapp' was not found

$ pacman -Q |grep fakeapp
$

If you have installed the LTS kernel, you will need to edit your bootloader config as the kernel will now be called linux-lts

This is for syslinux

LABEL arch
    MENU LABEL Arch Linux
    LINUX ../vmlinuz-linux-lts
    APPEND root=/dev/sda2 ro
    INITRD ../initramfs-linux-lts.img

Another check is to run the uname command

$ uname -r
3.0.41-1-lts

Offline

#15 2012-08-28 12:47:24

packetloss
Member
Registered: 2012-08-26
Posts: 22

Re: How to use multiple kernels or install VirtualBox using 3.3.4-1

I followed the instructions here http://wiki.archbang.org/index.php?titl … ort_Kernel to modify grub, yet I keep getting error 15 file not found. I copied the working entry that grub has been using, but I added lts in the two spots mentioned in the wiki link I posted. The syslinux snippet you posted, that's not for grub, right? I feel pretty lame asking these questions that I used to be so familiar with, but man I just can't remember any of it.

Btw, the new kernel does appear to be installed along with headers (I would have noticed it was trying to install two different things had I looked more carefully at the error message). Thanks for your patience and help, Oliver.

Offline

#16 2012-08-28 13:19:15

oliver
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-04
Posts: 2,209

Re: How to use multiple kernels or install VirtualBox using 3.3.4-1

syslinux is a more simple, but less configurable alternative to GRUB so you only need one of them - and if GRUB is working for you you may as well stick with it. 

Can you post the output from this?

pacman -Q linux-lts

Also, in the GRUB example, we see the following kernel and initrd lines

kernel     /boot/vmlinuz-linux-lts root=/dev/sda6 ro
initrd     /boot/initramfs-linux-lts.img

Take a look at your GRUB config file and see if those files really exist

$ ls -l /boot/vmlinuz-linux-lts
$ ls -l  /boot/initramfs-linux-lts.img

Offline

#17 2012-08-28 13:36:01

packetloss
Member
Registered: 2012-08-26
Posts: 22

Re: How to use multiple kernels or install VirtualBox using 3.3.4-1

The output from the pacman query is linux-lts 3.0.41-1. As for checking that the files exist, they do. They are both in /boot/ I even tried adding /boot/ to the path in grub. I hunted those bastards down first. Here's a snippet from my grub.

kernel /vmlinuz-linux-lts root=/dev/disk/by-uuid/d775bf7f-0d0e-462b-a3cc-a150a534e397 loglevel=3 ro quiet resume=/dev/disk/by-uuid/46103b88-d654-4f98-8d11-fc14af3f2dee   nomodeset
initrd /initramfs-linux-lts.img

Last edited by packetloss (2012-08-28 13:37:34)

Offline

#18 2012-08-28 14:26:34

oliver
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-04
Posts: 2,209

Re: How to use multiple kernels or install VirtualBox using 3.3.4-1

you don't happen to have a USB stick still plugged in do you? :-)

Do you still have the entries for the stock kernel?  The only difference should be the extra "-lts" in the file names

Offline

#19 2012-08-28 15:32:21

packetloss
Member
Registered: 2012-08-26
Posts: 22

Re: How to use multiple kernels or install VirtualBox using 3.3.4-1

Negative on the USB stick.

Here is a link to my entire menu.lst, I swear I can'tfind anything wrong with it.

http://pastebin.slackadelic.com/p/UMTN9082.html

Offline

#20 2012-08-31 17:32:18

packetloss
Member
Registered: 2012-08-26
Posts: 22

Re: How to use multiple kernels or install VirtualBox using 3.3.4-1

How do I reinstall kernel modules? They don't seem to be installed, which is weird because I swear they were.

Sorry for the lame questions but google and the wiki are no help. I tried to reinstall the linux-lts package and it was nothing but errors about modules. It installed before, but it won't now. The reason I'm reinstalling is because I can't seem to find initramfs-linux-lts in /boot/. It was there before, or maybe I'm crazy, I dunno. But if someone could tell me how to reinstall the modules I'd be most appreciative.

Offline

#21 2012-08-31 18:08:12

mike4ca
Happy (Arch|Manjaro)[B,b]ang User
From: Iowa, USA
Registered: 2011-10-17
Posts: 435

Re: How to use multiple kernels or install VirtualBox using 3.3.4-1

My virtualbox module was giving me errors for the last week.  Last night I reinstalled both the virtualbox-modules-lts and then linux-lts.  Then rebooted.  Now mine is working again.


Free Software Foundation member 10865

Offline

#22 2012-08-31 18:11:23

packetloss
Member
Registered: 2012-08-26
Posts: 22

Re: How to use multiple kernels or install VirtualBox using 3.3.4-1

I can't even reinstall linux-lts, I get kernel modules errors. I need to reinstall them I think. I'm actually thinking of doing a total reinstall of the whole OS. Too many weird things that nobody seems to understand.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB