You are not logged in.

#1 2012-02-06 02:12:50

Dgameman1
Member
Registered: 2011-10-22
Posts: 87

New ARCHBANG .iso?

Is there a new .iso available with pacman already updated and such?
Please and thank you big_smile

Offline

#2 2012-02-06 07:03:37

pablokal
Administrator
From: Nijmegen, Holland
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 2,944
Website

Re: New ARCHBANG .iso?

No, it would be good to have one, I agree, but it isn't there and there are only plans to provide a new AB in June.


Getting your questions answered here at ArchBang Forums
Please! Always give hardware info, if there is a chance that 's relevant: #lspci -vnn
On Arch(bang) and Openbox: http://stillstup.blogspot.com/

Offline

#3 2012-02-07 05:07:15

ArchVortex
Retired AB Overlord
From: Batu, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
Registered: 2011-04-01
Posts: 1,450

Re: New ARCHBANG .iso?

Like pablokal said, not until June unless Will and sHyLoCk put out a new release before then.

The problem is with all the changes to Arch in the last little while, changes also have to be made to the ArchBang installer to compensate for the changes. I have found this difficult personally as I had planned to use the AB installer for my own personal project and have had to find a different installer due to difficulties with installation of the .iso. Making an archiso loaded with programs is easy. Making a LiveCD that works properly for testing and installing is a different story. smile


GUI's?? We don't need no stinkin' GUI's!!!

Offline

#4 2012-02-07 05:17:21

Mr Green
Iso Developer
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 4,751

Re: New ARCHBANG .iso?

If you really must have a more up to date version of Archbang then try Bridge-Linux

He has succeeded where others have failed ...


Follow me on twitter @mrgreen_linux

Offline

#5 2012-02-07 05:33:08

once
Member
Registered: 2011-03-13
Posts: 80

Re: New ARCHBANG .iso?

Dgameman1 wrote:

Is there a new .iso available with pacman already updated and such?
Please and thank you big_smile

+1

Offline

#6 2012-02-08 06:53:33

distrohopperarched
Member
Registered: 2012-01-30
Posts: 104

Re: New ARCHBANG .iso?

once wrote:
Dgameman1 wrote:

Is there a new .iso available with pacman already updated and such?
Please and thank you big_smile

+1

+1

Would make life easier for newcomers and might help some here to stick to AB. If AB is really going through a lot more than usually, and such an iso would save people the trouble, waiting till June is just plain wrong. IMHO.

Offline

#7 2012-02-08 10:23:40

Mr Green
Iso Developer
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 4,751

Re: New ARCHBANG .iso?

You can grab source files from download page, it will need tweaking but you will end up with an up to date iso


Follow me on twitter @mrgreen_linux

Offline

#8 2012-02-08 10:39:40

oliver
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-04
Posts: 1,769

Re: New ARCHBANG .iso?

distrohopperarched wrote:

waiting till June is just plain wrong. IMHO.

Thats one of the reasons I avoid release-based distros... release it when it's ready or when major changes require it, not to hit some arbitrary date


:wq!

Offline

#9 2012-02-08 11:09:11

xhc
Member
From: Slovakia
Registered: 2012-01-29
Posts: 30

Re: New ARCHBANG .iso?

make release everytime when it is needed, or every 2 - 3 months.... and I think pacman 4, kmod, filesystem.. are a really good reason to make new snapshot of iso instanter.....  because users of archbang it awaiting..users of archlinux not so much....

Last edited by xhc (2012-02-08 11:14:34)


#Awesome window manager  |  http://my-archlinux.blogspot.com

Offline

#10 2012-02-08 13:19:38

mastis
Member
From: Finland
Registered: 2011-10-02
Posts: 131

Re: New ARCHBANG .iso?

xhc wrote:

make release everytime when it is needed, or every 2 - 3 months.... and I think pacman 4, kmod, filesystem.. are a really good reason to make new snapshot of iso instanter.....  because users of archbang it awaiting..users of archlinux not so much....

I totally agree this. Today is installed archbang to my friends pc and i had to tweak pacman4, cairo, kmod...so much work. Also installing updates took longer than installing whole system. :> We really need a new snapshot.

Offline

#11 2012-02-08 20:07:50

ArchVortex
Retired AB Overlord
From: Batu, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
Registered: 2011-04-01
Posts: 1,450

Re: New ARCHBANG .iso?

In total agreement with all of you. I keep a special folder with all of the most updated packages specifically for doing installs that I dump into /var/cache/pacman/pkg when doing a fresh install so I don't have to waste a lot of time downloading during the first upgrade. And like others have already mentioned then there's pacman4 , pacman.conf.pacnew and downloading keys, removing locale.sh, forcing filesystem, changing to kmod, and cairo. Updating a fresh install now requires a lot of time.

Before, Arch was slow to change and releases every 6 months required only 1 or 2 changes and updating the system. Now, there seems to changes every two weeks to the Arch system and more updated releases (maybe three months apart) are needed. The release doesn't need to be a whole new release (new wallpaper, package changes, and so on), it can just be an updated release. I think if ArchBang kept the 2 major releases/year scheme for June /December in place with updates in March and September, it would be sufficient. ATM, it's time consuming and a pain to do a fresh installation.


GUI's?? We don't need no stinkin' GUI's!!!

Offline

#12 2012-02-09 02:31:51

Mr Green
Iso Developer
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 4,751

Re: New ARCHBANG .iso?

Would updating source package help? At least that way someone could build a more up to date version.

Arch slow, kernels are released and go out of date on the same day!


Follow me on twitter @mrgreen_linux

Offline

#13 2012-02-09 06:49:20

pablokal
Administrator
From: Nijmegen, Holland
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 2,944
Website

Re: New ARCHBANG .iso?

Updating a fresh install now requires a lot of time...I think if ArchBang kept the 2 major releases/year scheme for June /December in place with updates in March and September, it would be sufficient. ATM, it's time consuming and a pain to do a fresh installation.

Well, we all seem to agree... public demand is clear.. now it is in the hands of the devs to act.


Getting your questions answered here at ArchBang Forums
Please! Always give hardware info, if there is a chance that 's relevant: #lspci -vnn
On Arch(bang) and Openbox: http://stillstup.blogspot.com/

Offline

#14 2012-02-09 06:52:02

Mr Green
Iso Developer
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 4,751

Re: New ARCHBANG .iso?

Can I be a Developer advisor?


Follow me on twitter @mrgreen_linux

Offline

#15 2012-02-09 08:53:57

ArchVortex
Retired AB Overlord
From: Batu, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
Registered: 2011-04-01
Posts: 1,450

Re: New ARCHBANG .iso?

It's not so much the source package packages as the abinstaller.sh that needs fine tuning for the changes I think. I'm not a script guy. I think sHyLoCk would have to be the one to do it as Will is busy at school and sHy is the specialist.


GUI's?? We don't need no stinkin' GUI's!!!

Offline

#16 2012-02-09 10:15:22

Mr Green
Iso Developer
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 4,751

Re: New ARCHBANG .iso?

Has Bridge Linux sorted abinstaller?


Follow me on twitter @mrgreen_linux

Offline

#17 2012-02-09 10:24:29

oliver
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-04
Posts: 1,769

Re: New ARCHBANG .iso?

Mr Green wrote:

Has Bridge Linux sorted abinstaller?

That would be funny... AB borrowing from Bridge borrowing from AB


:wq!

Offline

#18 2012-02-09 10:30:44

Mr Green
Iso Developer
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 4,751

Re: New ARCHBANG .iso?

Share and share alike smile


Follow me on twitter @mrgreen_linux

Offline

#19 2012-02-11 01:24:39

Dgameman1
Member
Registered: 2011-10-22
Posts: 87

Re: New ARCHBANG .iso?

I'm glad my thread got so much notice. So, will this ever be happening or are we gonna have to wait till June?

Offline

#20 2012-02-11 02:09:34

ArchVortex
Retired AB Overlord
From: Batu, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
Registered: 2011-04-01
Posts: 1,450

Re: New ARCHBANG .iso?

I'm cooking at the moment to make an "unofficial" updated ArchBang.


GUI's?? We don't need no stinkin' GUI's!!!

Offline

#21 2012-02-11 02:12:10

Dgameman1
Member
Registered: 2011-10-22
Posts: 87

Re: New ARCHBANG .iso?

ArchVortex wrote:

I'm cooking at the moment to make an "unofficial" updated ArchBang.

You're the best! <3

Offline

#22 2012-02-11 04:11:43

ArchVortex
Retired AB Overlord
From: Batu, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
Registered: 2011-04-01
Posts: 1,450

Re: New ARCHBANG .iso?

Not the best yet sad Having problems with filesystem


GUI's?? We don't need no stinkin' GUI's!!!

Offline

#23 2012-02-11 07:08:10

mastis
Member
From: Finland
Registered: 2011-10-02
Posts: 131

Re: New ARCHBANG .iso?

If u make torrent from updated ArchBang, i can add it to my seedbox and help to seed.

Offline

#24 2012-02-11 12:10:49

ArchVortex
Retired AB Overlord
From: Batu, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
Registered: 2011-04-01
Posts: 1,450

Re: New ARCHBANG .iso?

It's working fine but I want to do some tweaking for pacman 4. I'll let our team test it first before releasing it. It will be an unofficial updated release.


GUI's?? We don't need no stinkin' GUI's!!!

Offline

#25 2012-02-12 07:42:28

scjet
Moderator
From: Windsor, Canada
Registered: 2010-12-01
Posts: 1,162

Re: New ARCHBANG .iso?

In other words, we need a "NetInstall" image of ArchBang!
now that would be really cool

Last edited by scjet (2012-02-12 08:44:55)


The "BSD" things in life are "Free", and "Open", and so is ArchBang!

Offline

#26 2012-02-12 09:01:13

ArchVortex
Retired AB Overlord
From: Batu, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
Registered: 2011-04-01
Posts: 1,450

Re: New ARCHBANG .iso?

I've finished the updated core install and can make a netinstall version to test.


GUI's?? We don't need no stinkin' GUI's!!!

Offline

#27 2012-02-12 09:16:56

ArchVortex
Retired AB Overlord
From: Batu, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
Registered: 2011-04-01
Posts: 1,450

Re: New ARCHBANG .iso?

Uh..okay sad Not like building an archiso where you can ./build.sh -v build single netinstall

[root@ArchVortex archiso]# ./build.sh -v build single netinstall
Invalid build type 'netinstall'
usage ./build.sh [options] command <command options>

 General options:
    -N <iso_name>      Set an iso filename (prefix)
                        Default: archbang
    -V <iso_version>   Set an iso version (in filename)
                        Default: 2012.02.12
    -L <iso_label>     Set an iso label (disk label)
                        Default: ARCHBANG
    -D <install_dir>   Set an install_dir (directory inside iso)
                        Default: arch
    -w <work_dir>      Set the working directory
                        Default: work/i686
    -o <out_dir>       Set the output directory
                        Default: out
    -v                 Enable verbose output
    -h                 This help message

 Commands:
   build <mode> <type>
      Build selected .iso by <mode> and <type>
   purge <mode>
      Clean working directory except iso/ directory of build <mode>
   clean <mode>
      Clean working directory and .iso file in output directory of build <mode>

 Command options:
         <mode> Valid value 'single'
         <type> Valid value 'core'

Don't feel like messing around with .build.sh. Leave that for another day. Back to work on Fluxar smile


GUI's?? We don't need no stinkin' GUI's!!!

Offline

#28 2012-02-25 00:30:25

Ninja-1
Member
Registered: 2012-02-01
Posts: 46
Website

Re: New ARCHBANG .iso?

I'm a little late here, but I'd like to chime in since I've messed with the AB source. The AB source files contain a modified build.sh file, it doesn't have an option for netinstall. The only tweak required for pacman4 is the updated pacman.conf with package signing disabled, feel free to use the one from Bridge, it's configured for pacman4. Pastebin link: http://pastebin.com/LE8dNhAJ

Bridge's installer is a bit different, I commented out a few Openbox specific files from the copy process, just run it through Meld and see. BTW, I'm currently writing a GUI install program (I know, I know. The text installer is like a rite of passage...) in Python and using blocks of bash code from the abinstaller, so I'm not sure how much longer I'll be using the abinstaller.

Offline

#29 2012-02-25 20:35:09

ArchVortex
Retired AB Overlord
From: Batu, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
Registered: 2011-04-01
Posts: 1,450

Re: New ARCHBANG .iso?

Thanks ninja-1 but I've got a working Fluxar LiveCD now and I'm not going to release it. It seems like Arch is now becoming the new Ubuntu, as far as distros being made from it. There are so many new Arch based distros now, with at least four more in the works that I know of and who knows how many else will be created in 2012.

While at first, ArchBang, CTKArch, Bridge and others seemed like a good idea to me for an experienced Arch user to get a quick Arch install, I'm not so sure it's a good idea anymore. Too many noobs are trying to use these distros as a lazy man's install or way to Arch and I personally don't like this. Perhaps I'm becoming an Arch purist or I'm just tired of people asking the same simple questions over and over which they would have known if they had done an Arch install or read the Beginner's Guide or even bothered to search the Wiki.


GUI's?? We don't need no stinkin' GUI's!!!

Offline

#30 2012-02-26 16:47:08

Ninja-1
Member
Registered: 2012-02-01
Posts: 46
Website

Re: New ARCHBANG .iso?

I understand what you mean, I deal with Ubuntu noobs on Facebook all the time and now generally just link to a forum thread or wiki as an answer.

I'm amazed at the amount of distros being made from Arch. At the time I wanted to switch from Ubuntu to Arch, there weren't any good derivatives other than AB.

Offline

#31 2012-02-26 20:43:30

ArchVortex
Retired AB Overlord
From: Batu, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
Registered: 2011-04-01
Posts: 1,450

Re: New ARCHBANG .iso?

Take a look at LiquidLemur's installer for their Arch distro. That might give you some ideas for writing your installer.


GUI's?? We don't need no stinkin' GUI's!!!

Offline

#32 2012-02-27 00:32:32

Ninja-1
Member
Registered: 2012-02-01
Posts: 46
Website

Re: New ARCHBANG .iso?

Thanks. I've seen it, but the thing didn't want to run when I ported it. Errors with Ruby's wxgui plugin they use.

For the record, I find Manjaro Linux's installer much nicer. At my level of programming knowledge it will be something just to get my installer finished and working properly, lol. Cool thing is, I'm learning more coding in the process, which I've wanted to do for a while, but the book bored me. I'm learning Python the same way that I learned Linux now: through trial, error, and much Googling, haha.

Offline

#33 2012-02-28 22:25:04

mike4ca
Happy (Arch|Manjaro)[B,b]ang User
From: Iowa, USA
Registered: 2011-10-17
Posts: 435

Re: New ARCHBANG .iso?

ArchVortex wrote:

Thanks ninja-1 but I've got a working Fluxar LiveCD now and I'm not going to release it. It seems like Arch is now becoming the new Ubuntu, as far as distros being made from it. There are so many new Arch based distros now, with at least four more in the works that I know of and who knows how many else will be created in 2012.

Stan, I understand you not wanting to release the Fluxar LiveCD, but I would hate to see that info go to waste.  There is a Fluxbox section in the Arch wiki, maybe you could expand that?  Also, you could post your own Fluxar "in 21 easy steps" on your website.  Or even write it up more formally and maybe it will get published (online or otherwise).  I think you could share your creation and still make them go through the learning process.


Free Software Foundation member 10865

Offline

#34 2012-03-22 01:23:07

scjet
Moderator
From: Windsor, Canada
Registered: 2010-12-01
Posts: 1,162

Re: New ARCHBANG .iso?

Yep, I 2nd that motion, for that Fluxar LiveCD, it's all good anyway.
smile

Last edited by scjet (2012-03-22 01:35:06)


The "BSD" things in life are "Free", and "Open", and so is ArchBang!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB