You are not logged in.

#1 2016-07-17 11:16:42

VVedran
Member
From: Golovik
Registered: 2014-10-04
Posts: 18

[Solved]Change default browser

Hello people, I downloaded latest archbang iso and installed all perfectly, but I would like to change my default internet browser, I already read all on arch wiki pages how to change with
mimeapps files but I don't have any so what is the other way I can do this?
Thanks in advanced!!

Last edited by VVedran (2016-08-26 05:45:01)

Offline

#2 2016-07-18 00:18:44

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,920

Re: [Solved]Change default browser

Install browser of choice, then edit menu.xml & rc.xml (in ~/.config/openbox). Basically change 'firefox' for new browser name. As openbox menu is dynamic new browser will show up automatically in Applications menu.

Hope that helps


Comments, suggestions please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#3 2016-07-18 13:27:32

VVedran
Member
From: Golovik
Registered: 2014-10-04
Posts: 18

Re: [Solved]Change default browser

nope, I know how to do that, maybe I posted wrong question but I meant when you open link in skype or viber I would like to open link in browser of choice, if you understand me?

Offline

#4 2016-07-18 23:05:30

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,920

Re: [Solved]Change default browser

Try changing browser setting in .bashrc


Comments, suggestions please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#5 2016-07-20 09:49:23

VVedran
Member
From: Golovik
Registered: 2014-10-04
Posts: 18

Re: [Solved]Change default browser

well, I wrote opera instead of firefox and nothing hapend, always problem with this when I new install arch or archbang, last time I edited mimeapps and it worked, how come there is not mimeapps with archbang install?

Offline

#6 2016-07-23 00:36:05

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,920

Re: [Solved]Change default browser

We ship with a basic desktop setup simply to allow a user to test or install arch. From that base you are free to add what you wish.


Comments, suggestions please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#7 2016-09-11 15:46:22

kaqqao
Member
Registered: 2013-10-12
Posts: 79

Re: [Solved]Change default browser

I've always done this as ArchWiki describes, by using xdg-open. It worked for graphical applications, but there's a different setting for terminal.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB