You are not logged in.

#1 2015-08-25 08:21:57

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,694

Thoughts on using Alpine as a new base os for ArchBang

Am going too look at Alpine linux. It will of course take me a little while too get any sort of iso working (all new to me). Arch is getting less and less friendly towards spin offs and users who wish too switch from systemd feel it is time too switch....


Comments, suggestions, donations please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#2 2015-08-25 11:39:46

xtremyst
Member
Registered: 2011-11-21
Posts: 331

Re: Thoughts on using Alpine as a new base os for ArchBang

I thing that's the first time I've heard of this distro so I had to look it up. According to their site Alpine focuses on security and at the same time providing the user with a small and leightweight OS.
That's pretty much what I'd like to see on a distro. Sounds interesting Mr Green. I'll download the ISO and play with it a little just to have a better taste of it.

Offline

#3 2015-08-25 12:35:55

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,694

Re: Thoughts on using Alpine as a new base os for ArchBang

Setup is quite simple only under Virtualbox I cannot get Openbox working, keyboard locks up soon after loading xserver. Will have too install for real to test properly. Might be better for me too test via a usb device, do not want to wipe my laptop drive at this stage....


Comments, suggestions, donations please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#4 2015-08-25 14:14:51

pablokal
Administrator
From: Nijmegen, Holland
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 3,596
Website

Re: Thoughts on using Alpine as a new base os for ArchBang

Why do you choose Alpine?
I see that it uses OpenRC. Is it a rolling release?
APK package manager seems to give very little output.
what packages are available http://pkgs.alpinelinux.org/packages
I couldn't find smplayer spacefm, tint2, viewnior, gthumb, leafpad, calibre.
I could find openbox, geany, dmenu, gparted, audacious, thunar, conky.
Review Distrowatch: http://distrowatch.com/weekly.php?issue=20150706#alpine


Getting your questions answered here at ArchBang Forums
Please! Always give hardware info, if there is a chance that 's relevant: #lspci -vnn
On Arch(bang) and Openbox: http://stillstup.blogspot.com/

Online

#5 2015-08-25 17:17:57

oliver
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-04
Posts: 2,209

Re: Thoughts on using Alpine as a new base os for ArchBang

pablokal wrote:

I couldn't find smplayer spacefm, tint2, viewnior, gthumb, leafpad, calibre.

With the exception of smplayer and calibre, the rest are in the 'testing' repo.  Not sure what that means in terms of details.

According to wikipedia it is rolling but I don't see anything to corroborate that (I may just be missing it though)

Offline

#6 2015-08-25 23:45:51

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,694

Re: Thoughts on using Alpine as a new base os for ArchBang

Think it has some nice features, no systemd, musl, easy set up and fast package manager. We could always switch openrc too something else at a later stage. The testing or edge repo is something I am looking at.

Install is very easy and adding a desktop is very easy. give me a chance to test and get something running.....


Comments, suggestions, donations please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#7 2015-08-26 02:01:22

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,694

Re: Thoughts on using Alpine as a new base os for ArchBang

Update have installed alpine to a usb drive. very easy process via setup-alpine...

Once rebooted added a user

# adduser <username>

Next grab desktop

# setup-gparted-desktop

This will bring in a very basic openbox desktop...

note you do need to add video driver to get Xorg running correctly use:

# apk search xf86-video

In my case I needed to add nouveau driver

Create a .xinitrc file in your users home directory

echo "exec openbox-session > /hone/<username>/.xinitrc"

At this point you do need to load a terminal of choice.... easy as

# apk add lxterminal # for example

I went ahead and copied over openbox files to new user gives me a more usable menu. The following should help

# mkdir /home<username>/.config
# cp -a /etc/xdg/openbox /home/<username>/.config
# chown -R <username>:<username> /home/<username>/.config

Edit ~/.config/openbox/menu.xml to allow access to terminal of choice

Need a browser

# apk add firefox

Rest of setup can be found in alpine wiki....

Still learning so please bear with me, need to setup wireless networking....

One more thing

# apk add lxdm
# rc-update add lxdm default # start lxdm from next boot

Hope that helps


Comments, suggestions, donations please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#8 2015-08-26 05:34:36

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,694

Re: Thoughts on using Alpine as a new base os for ArchBang

Managed to get wireless working via chroot from a VM, mounted USB drive then installed packages required and did config and settings. Runit is loaded now need boot scripts....

Spacefm is available but I cannot load it some library errors.

Will be happier once i3 is running...


Comments, suggestions, donations please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#9 2015-08-26 06:57:21

xtremyst
Member
Registered: 2011-11-21
Posts: 331

Re: Thoughts on using Alpine as a new base os for ArchBang

I installed Alpine but couldn't get xorg to work under virtualbox. From this very brief test I keep the simplicity and snappiness of Alpine. I mean it's really fast!
It looks like Alpine gives a nice and clean installation. I'm not sure if the user should use some of the scripts Alpine gives (like setup-xorg-base or alpine-desktop for example)
or install every package separately to save any unneeded dependencies. In any case it looks like a nice, simple, fast and leightweight distro.

Last edited by xtremyst (2015-08-26 06:58:17)

Offline

#10 2015-08-26 11:07:37

pablokal
Administrator
From: Nijmegen, Holland
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 3,596
Website

Re: Thoughts on using Alpine as a new base os for ArchBang

Thanks for your answers to my questions. Especially post 7 of Mr Green. Curious where this will bring us.


Getting your questions answered here at ArchBang Forums
Please! Always give hardware info, if there is a chance that 's relevant: #lspci -vnn
On Arch(bang) and Openbox: http://stillstup.blogspot.com/

Online

#11 2015-08-26 14:45:04

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,694

Re: Thoughts on using Alpine as a new base os for ArchBang

Not sure if it is a good idea but to bring in all the packages I needed I had to switch repos. Edit a file in /etc/apk and uncomment 'edge', do an update and then all the good stuff will be available.

Hoing that once desktop is set up can start messing with init wink


Comments, suggestions, donations please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#12 2015-08-26 15:13:18

replabrobin
Member
Registered: 2011-11-06
Posts: 81

Re: Thoughts on using Alpine as a new base os for ArchBang

I tried an install and various recipes for alpine + virtualbox, but don't get anywhere. I mounted the vbox-guest-iso from inside arch, but wasn't able to execute because of 'unable to find lib ' errors. I'm guessing that musl vs libc is the issue with vbox; pity sad

Offline

#13 2015-08-26 16:37:24

oliver
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-04
Posts: 2,209

Re: Thoughts on using Alpine as a new base os for ArchBang

replabrobin wrote:

I tried an install and various recipes for alpine + virtualbox, but don't get anywhere. I mounted the vbox-guest-iso from inside arch, but wasn't able to execute because of 'unable to find lib ' errors. I'm guessing that musl vs libc is the issue with vbox; pity sad

I think you must be right.  The void musl repo also lacks virtualbox packages (and, as an aside, Chromium which might be a deal-breaker for some users)

Offline

#14 2015-08-27 08:14:34

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,694

Re: Thoughts on using Alpine as a new base os for ArchBang

Forget Virtualbox load live ISO and install too a USB very easy, chromium is malware ridden... So not a problem. Loving Alpine more kiss than arch,...

2015_08_27_143827_1920x1080_scrot.jpg

This might help

alpine:/etc$ cd apk/
alpine:/etc/apk$ pwd
/etc/apk
alpine:/etc/apk$ more repositories 
#/media/cdrom/apks
#http://liskamm.alpinelinux.uk/v3.2/main
http://liskamm.alpinelinux.uk/edge/main
http://liskamm.alpinelinux.uk/edge/testing

Comments, suggestions, donations please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#15 2015-08-30 00:59:07

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,694

Re: Thoughts on using Alpine as a new base os for ArchBang

Why not run pacman/Arch under Alpine

http://wiki.alpinelinux.org/wiki/Instal … ine_chroot


Comments, suggestions, donations please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#16 2015-08-30 10:17:08

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,694

Re: Thoughts on using Alpine as a new base os for ArchBang

My next goal is too get runit working only I am finding it difficult. Odd thing is busybox ships with runit so am surprised Alpine did not run with it (reduce footprint even more).

This is from system

rwxrwxrwx    1 root     root            12 Aug 28 13:45 /sbin/init -> /bin/busybox
lrwxrwxrwx    1 root     root            12 Aug 30 08:22 /sbin/rc -> /sbin/openrc

/etc/inittab has this....

# Start "rc init" on boot
::sysinit:/sbin/rc sysinit

kernel calls init, then run busybox which loads inittab....then Openrc


Comments, suggestions, donations please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#17 2015-08-31 09:01:24

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,694

Re: Thoughts on using Alpine as a new base os for ArchBang

Busybox under Alpine does not ship with runit configured, however it is still possible to use runit via openrc. If required then I could start working on iso this would depend on how team feels about using Alpine as a base. Not all packages are available notalby obmenu-generator (though it could be built).

A lighter version of ArchBang would be my goal, Alpine is not really designed for the desktop in mind however I am running i3, firefox and X while posting this....

Just found the fastest terminal on the planet.... called 'st'


Comments, suggestions, donations please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#18 2015-09-06 08:53:33

starch
Member
Registered: 2015-08-05
Posts: 2

Re: Thoughts on using Alpine as a new base os for ArchBang

nice thinking mr green.

Offline

#19 2015-09-21 16:28:52

Marezz
Member
Registered: 2011-10-31
Posts: 6

Re: Thoughts on using Alpine as a new base os for ArchBang

Hello, could you please think about using Funtoo as a base? It is using OpenRC, its very minimal and highly customizable smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB