You are not logged in.

#1 2015-06-05 06:13:05

kaqqao
Member
Registered: 2013-10-12
Posts: 79

My /run/media went missing

For some reason, after (perhaps a non-recent) update, I lost my /run/media/ directory which made udevil freak out. After re-creating it, it's back to normal. I now notice there's also /run/mount. Am I supposed to use that now? Any clue why /run/media would just up and leave?

Thanks!

Offline

#2 2015-06-05 06:35:11

oliver
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-04
Posts: 2,209

Re: My /run/media went missing

Total guess, but did you remove udisks2?  No idea about /run/mount - in these cases I just blame systemd :-)

Offline

#3 2015-06-05 08:21:32

kaqqao
Member
Registered: 2013-10-12
Posts: 79

Re: My /run/media went missing

pacman -Q udisks2

says I have 2.1.5-1 installed... Btw, /run/media disappears again on every reboot sad

Offline

#4 2015-06-05 08:35:57

kaqqao
Member
Registered: 2013-10-12
Posts: 79

Re: My /run/media went missing

Argh... It seems I have a lot more issues with mounting stuff than just a directory gone missing sad Although, it sufficiently explains the udevil issues.
It seems SpaceFM chaged how it works, because I can no longer mount pretty much anything with it. I opened an issue here.

Last edited by kaqqao (2015-06-05 08:36:45)

Offline

#5 2015-06-06 21:00:50

ncmprhnsbl
Member
From: australia
Registered: 2012-12-11
Posts: 114
Website

Re: My /run/media went missing

from here http://ignorantguru.github.io/udevil/news.html

udisks2 compatibility: replace use of /run/media/$USER with /media/$USER. udevil will now create /media/$USER on demand. /run/media/$USER may still be used as a media dir, but will not be created automatically.

have a look at /etc/udevil/udevil.conf   ..and the pacnew.   in allowed media directories...
i just went with using /media/       (/media/USER is getting created but isnt used? nqr?)>>>>OK if i put  /media/USER first in the list it is used...

# allowed_media_dirs specifies the media directories in which user mount points
# may be located.  The first directory which exists and does not contain a
# wildcard will be used as the default media directory (normally /media or
# /media/$USER).
# The $USER variable, if included, will be replaced with the username of the
# user running udevil.  Wildcards may also be used in any directory EXCEPT the
# default.  Wildcards will not match a /, except a /** suffix for recursion.
# allowed_media_dirs_FSTYPE, if present, is used to override allowed_media_dirs
# when mounting or unmounting a specific fstype (eg ext2, nfs).  For example,
# to cause /media/network to be used as the default media directory for
# nfs and ftpfs mounts, use these two lines:
# allowed_media_dirs_nfs   = /media/network, /media, /media/$USER
# allowed_media_dirs_ftpfs = /media/network, /media, /media/$USER
# NOTE: If you want only the user who mounted a device to have access to it
# and be allowed to unmount it, specify /media/$USER as the first
# allowed media directory (only /media/$USER is created on demand).
# IMPORTANT:  If an allowed file is mounted to a media directory, the user may
# be permitted to unmount its associated loop device even though internal.
# INCLUDING /MNT HERE IS NOT RECOMMENDED.  ALL ALLOWED MEDIA DIRECTORIES
# SHOULD BE OWNED AND WRITABLE ONLY BY ROOT.
allowed_media_dirs =/media/$USER,  /media,  /run/media/$USER

Offline

#6 2015-06-07 13:34:02

kaqqao
Member
Registered: 2013-10-12
Posts: 79

Re: My /run/media went missing

Yup, that was it. Really weird how the new default isn't allowed out-of-the-box hmm
Thanks a lot for the tips!

Offline

#7 2015-06-07 17:11:09

ncmprhnsbl
Member
From: australia
Registered: 2012-12-11
Posts: 114
Website

Re: My /run/media went missing

IG :

As for /run/media, that is no longer used by udisks2 (it violated FHS so they changed it to /media/$USER)

funny thing is udisks2 in arch is still mounting in /run/media/$USER

Name           : udisks2
Version        : 2.1.5-1
Build Date     : Fri Mar 6 22:59:20 2015
Install Date   : Wed Mar 11 09:15:12 2015

i would expect to see a message in pacman at least....
it seems packaging spacefm and udevil in arch doesnt include reading the release notes...
then  we might see gtk2 and 3 packages in the repo, as the  developer intended....

Offline

#8 2015-06-08 06:35:00

pablokal
Administrator
From: Nijmegen, Holland
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 3,634
Website

Re: My /run/media went missing

Well done, ncmprhnsbl! Thanks!


Getting your questions answered here at ArchBang Forums
Please! Always give hardware info, if there is a chance that 's relevant: #lspci -vnn
On Arch(bang) and Openbox: http://stillstup.blogspot.com/

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB