You are not logged in.

#1 2014-09-15 00:04:48

xkaspian
Member
Registered: 2013-11-09
Posts: 56

Trying to make my openbox slimer

Hello,

I'm using spacefm and thunar as filemanagers. I'm trying to get accustomized with spacefm.

Troubles under Spacefm :
- How could I make Spacefm understand to start with my Home folder at boot ??
- If I like to eject/unmount an external drive, i get the message that he has troubles to unmount, but he does it.
  I have udev, udiskie, gvfs installed.

Offline

#2 2014-09-15 00:59:31

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,920

Re: Trying to make my openbox slimer

Hi,

You have to understand that adding more toolkits (gtk3 etc...), system
tray applets and alike adds too the ram usage. You can of course check
what is running in 'htop' or running ps -aux in a terminal. Cannot
comment on Manjaro (version/setup/applications). Am really surprised
at how Opera performs over firefox or chrome.

As discussed on forums you may have more luck running broadcom-wl-dkms
(you will of course need base-devel)

If you ran a smaller window manager, like i3 you may reduce ram usage.

Thanks for the feedback and hope you continue to enjoy ArchBang ;-)

Mr Green

Tried to reply to your email to me but it kept failing


Comments, suggestions please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#3 2014-09-15 01:04:30

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,920

Re: Trying to make my openbox slimer

You need to read up on arch wiki

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Spacefm

Forget if you need udevil or udisks for automounting....

You might need to edit ~/.config/obmenu-generator/schema.pl for spacefm to open your /home folder....


Comments, suggestions please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#4 2014-09-15 03:06:24

xkaspian
Member
Registered: 2013-11-09
Posts: 56

Re: Trying to make my openbox slimer

Thx Mr Green for your kindly help.

I really enjoy Archbang and I recommend it for many people.

Maybe I have to try  i3 , but I'm already used for openbox  smile)   Snappy and minimalistic.

I'm thinking to remove Libreoffice and to change it with  abiword and gnumeric on the laptops as I'm not writing so much on the laptops and save the docs in odt, txt or doc formats.

On the desktop, I keep Libreoffice.

Offline

#5 2014-09-15 04:10:11

kaqqao
Member
Registered: 2013-10-12
Posts: 79

Re: Trying to make my openbox slimer

Regarding the error with unmounting, here's a thread about it. Sadly, there doesn't seem to be a nice solution but there are possible workarounds.
The strange part is that udevil seems to do something stupid for no explainable reason and the update that broke this was released *after* the project was abandoned... so I'm super-confused as to wtf happened there.

Offline

#6 2014-09-15 04:52:14

xkaspian
Member
Registered: 2013-11-09
Posts: 56

Re: Trying to make my openbox slimer

Thx kaqqao.

I'm also using  Thunar smile)  I want to try Spacefm. It is a good project but just abandoned. Nobodys know who will ressurect the project.

I will stick with Thunar.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB