You are not logged in.

#1 2013-07-30 09:50:25

oliver
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-04
Posts: 2,209

Feedback on the new i3 part of the new AB iso

I'm liking the blue of the i3 config.  Some people might find it confusing that dwb is full-screen but once you get orientated it's all good.

Offline

#2 2013-07-30 12:00:23

Codo
Member
From: São Paulo, Brasil
Registered: 2011-02-08
Posts: 25

Re: Feedback on the new i3 part of the new AB iso

Guys
For me don't work...

Offline

#3 2013-07-30 12:19:38

oliver
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-04
Posts: 2,209

Re: Feedback on the new i3 part of the new AB iso

what is not working?

Offline

#4 2013-07-30 12:30:12

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,920

Re: Feedback on the new i3 part of the new AB iso

@oliver dwb starts fullscreen?

2013_07_30_142517_1920x1080_scrot.jpg


Comments, suggestions please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#5 2013-07-30 12:57:13

oliver
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-04
Posts: 2,209

Re: Feedback on the new i3 part of the new AB iso

I must admit, I just threw it in virtualbox and booted up, but dwb was definitely full-screen.  I killed it, started lxterminal and then launched dwb manually and it was full-screen again.

I'll play around some more when I have time

Offline

#6 2013-07-30 13:06:55

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,920

Re: Feedback on the new i3 part of the new AB iso

Just seemed odd, we could push it to another workspace if we really want to....or mess with config ....chill!


Comments, suggestions please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#7 2013-07-30 14:48:08

Codo
Member
From: São Paulo, Brasil
Registered: 2011-02-08
Posts: 25

Re: Feedback on the new i3 part of the new AB iso

oliver wrote:

what is not working?

Sorry, I be so generic, but when I installed the system on the computer it just hangs login. I am now using the live cd
the message is: Failing to execute login command.

Offline

#8 2013-07-30 17:46:56

oliver
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-04
Posts: 2,209

Re: Feedback on the new i3 part of the new AB iso

does it do the same for both i3 and openbox (on the live CD)?

Offline

#9 2013-07-30 23:07:19

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,920

Re: Feedback on the new i3 part of the new AB iso

Just tried install with new iso and works fine (Virtualbox)


Comments, suggestions please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#10 2013-07-31 06:32:32

Codo
Member
From: São Paulo, Brasil
Registered: 2011-02-08
Posts: 25

Re: Feedback on the new i3 part of the new AB iso

oliver wrote:

does it do the same for both i3 and openbox (on the live CD)?

Yes, that's right: for both. I also do not know how to use those buttons "super + t" and etc ...

thanks

Offline

#11 2013-07-31 07:03:13

Codo
Member
From: São Paulo, Brasil
Registered: 2011-02-08
Posts: 25

Re: Feedback on the new i3 part of the new AB iso

Codo wrote:
oliver wrote:

does it do the same for both i3 and openbox (on the live CD)?

Yes, that's right: for both. I also do not know how to use those buttons "super + t" and etc ...

thanks

Reinstalled the system with openbox and everything is working fine! Great job, congratulations to all.

Offline

#12 2013-08-02 01:03:11

ncmprhnsbl
Member
From: australia
Registered: 2012-12-11
Posts: 114
Website

Re: Feedback on the new i3 part of the new AB iso

looks good,  i like i3,  though i like nearly all WM/DEs, you can only use one at a time...
dwb starts full-screen here too, (VB live) and medit...but not a huge problem with the keybinds in front of you..
having medit set to open text files might be nice..
but is this an announcement thread or a feedback?

Offline

#13 2013-08-02 06:29:30

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,920

Re: Feedback on the new i3 part of the new AB iso

I run it in VB and its not fullscreen here, yes medit is an option but you also get tabs in dwb with i3 docs and archbang site.... trying to sort out an i3 subforum but everyone is busy at the moment. Had set i3 so that lxterminal was tiled and everything else was floating. At a push I could put dwb on a different workspace.


Comments, suggestions please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#14 2013-08-02 16:43:07

ncmprhnsbl
Member
From: australia
Registered: 2012-12-11
Posts: 114
Website

Re: Feedback on the new i3 part of the new AB iso

i think maybe VB is booting to a small screen(i'll investigate further),  with floating windows turning into fullscreen...
what i meant about medit was: in spacefm, clicking on a text file, you have to choose what to open  it with....

edit.. yep xorg autodetect gives 640x480(smaller than dwb window) where vesa gives 1024x768, which makes dwb a floater, as its supposed to be..

Last edited by ncmprhnsbl (2013-08-02 17:13:15)

Offline

#15 2013-08-02 23:08:45

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,920

Re: Feedback on the new i3 part of the new AB iso

Sounds like I need to check syslinux boot line options, spacefm not sure if I ship with a config hence why you need to select how to open a file.

thanks for the feedback wink

we do ship with a config for spacefm, trying to find the option for opening files


Comments, suggestions please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#16 2013-09-15 16:31:55

Hutchism
Member
Registered: 2013-06-03
Posts: 5

Re: Feedback on the new i3 part of the new AB iso

Had a whisky tasting night at a friends house last night and managed to rm * my  /etc directory, so rather than mess about I decided to use the freshest flavour of archbang, so will have a whirl with this new fangled i3.

One thing I couldn't help notice was that Slim isn't configured to start it? Any particular reason for this, or is it just because this archbang build of i3 is in it's infancy?

For me the million dollar stupid question is how are you guys starting i3? Are you exiting openbox and starting with xinit? or configuring Slim? What's the 'correct' way with regards to this iso's setup?

Sorry for the above question if it seems a little too obvious or noobish

Last edited by Hutchism (2013-09-15 16:47:35)

Offline

#17 2013-09-15 17:39:04

moravec
Member
From: near volcano, pacific NW, USA
Registered: 2010-10-07
Posts: 114
Website

Re: Feedback on the new i3 part of the new AB iso

@Hutchism
The way I do it is to modify my slim.conf and .xinitrc files.

in /etc/slim.conf find the line...

sessions            xfce4,icewm-session,wmaker,blackbox

and modify it to include i3 and openbox.  You could just add it on to the others or modify the whole line and have something like this...
sessions            openbox,i3

My .xinitrc file looks as follows, I was lazy and just copy and pasted from the archlinux wiki

#!/bin/bash

export DE=openbox

# Dbus fix
if [ -z "$DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS" ]; then
    eval "$(dbus-launch --sh-syntax --exit-with-session)"
fi

/usr/bin/xdg-user-dirs-update

#if grep -q " wm=i3 " /proc/cmdline; then
#  export DE=i3
#  exec /usr/bin/i3 > ~/.i3_startup.log 2>&1
#else
#  /usr/bin/openbox-session > ~/.openbox_startup.log 2>&1
#fi
case $1 in
i3)
	exec i3
	;;
xfce4)
	exec startxfce4
	;;
wmaker)
	exec wmaker
	;;
blackbox)
	exec blackbox
	;;
openbox|*)
	exec openbox-session > ~/.openbox_startup.log 2>&1
	;;
esac

I have mde openbox my default, however you can make it i3 if you want by having |* after i3 instead of openbox.  I should probably go with a simipler IF/Then statement since I will probably not use any of the other window managers.

Hope this helps.

Last edited by moravec (2013-09-15 17:42:57)


ex Distro Junkie, Archbang addict

Offline

#18 2013-09-16 01:19:37

Hutchism
Member
Registered: 2013-06-03
Posts: 5

Re: Feedback on the new i3 part of the new AB iso

Thanks moravec. Had already got it going using slim. Thought I was missing something as I thought I'd read somewhere on here that you just need to select it from the boot menu. Sometimes easy to forget that Archbang most often requires some fiddling to get things working, but I guess that's why I like it.

Is it possible we might have Slim set up in future releases and while were at it, change the default Slim theme to something with a little more ArchBang? smile

Realise were disapearing off piste with all this Slim chat, so I'll leave it there. Had a little go with i3 last night. Made little sense to me in the 5 minutes that I tried it, but I can say it does work and behaves completely differently to OpenBox. Will go away and RTFM.

Offline

#19 2013-10-21 11:21:26

tabularaza
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2013-10-19
Posts: 11

Re: Feedback on the new i3 part of the new AB iso

I really like that i3 is available out of the box.
The first thing I did after installing AB in VirtualBox was editing the .xinitrc to launch i3 instead of OpenBox.

But there is one thing I don't get:
Why is floating enabled by default?

In my opinion the tiling is the main feature of i3 and gives a nice contrast to OpenBox.

Of course there is no proplem in editing the config to enable tiling.
This was just a thing I noticed after starting i3 the first time.

I'd like to know what you guys think about it. Do you prefer tiling or floating?


s ... damn capslock ^^

Offline

#20 2013-10-21 11:33:18

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,920

Re: Feedback on the new i3 part of the new AB iso

Floating was always going to be a trade off. Some applications work better floating (galculater for example) simply '#' out the line in config and you are good to go.

Simply of easing people into using i3, future releases I may make certain applications floating rather than all.

Still very early days for i3 version

Thanks for your feedback wink


Comments, suggestions please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#21 2013-10-21 12:23:43

tabularaza
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2013-10-19
Posts: 11

Re: Feedback on the new i3 part of the new AB iso

Mr Green wrote:

Floating was always going to be a trade off. Some applications work better floating (galculater for example) simply '#' out the line in config and you are good to go.

Simply of easing people into using i3, future releases I may make certain applications floating rather than all.

Still very early days for i3 version

Thanks for your feedback wink

Yes that's exactly what I did, commenting it out.
I see the point you are making with the floating.

Everytime I have a look at the config I see some great things which i didn't think about before.
Basically I merged  the configs.

I'm still working on mine.
If you like I will post mine config when I think it reached a cartain stage.
Inspiration is always a good thing.


s ... damn capslock ^^

Offline

#22 2013-10-21 12:59:49

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,920

Re: Feedback on the new i3 part of the new AB iso

A users desktop is a very personal thing but would like to see your config at some point. Do prefer my terminals tiling wink ...


Comments, suggestions please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#23 2013-11-03 04:22:29

outwork
Member
Registered: 2012-10-21
Posts: 3

Re: Feedback on the new i3 part of the new AB iso

I3 is so sexy, i love it. Someday Archbang will ship with i3 by default?

Offline

#24 2013-11-03 07:07:15

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,920

Re: Feedback on the new i3 part of the new AB iso

Well have removed i3 for time being to focus on Openbox. If time allows I will release i3 only isos early next year.


Comments, suggestions please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#25 2013-11-04 15:20:49

CarlD
Member
From: London
Registered: 2013-01-22
Posts: 80

Re: Feedback on the new i3 part of the new AB iso

Mr Green wrote:

Well have removed i3 for time being to focus on Openbox. If time allows I will release i3 only isos early next year.


This is a real shame, Mr. Green!

Offline

#26 2013-11-05 03:07:22

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,920

Re: Feedback on the new i3 part of the new AB iso

ArchBang was always meant to be Openbox, maybe Armchair will surface again in the near future...


Comments, suggestions please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#27 2014-01-01 13:44:45

moravec
Member
From: near volcano, pacific NW, USA
Registered: 2010-10-07
Posts: 114
Website

Re: Feedback on the new i3 part of the new AB iso

I don't know if this has been mentioned somewhere else but it seems that the configuration needed to switch between window managers in slim (ie openbox/i3) has changed since my previous post.  I had to add a line in /etc/slim.conf ...

sessiondir            /usr/share/xsessions/

and replace my case statements in .xinitrc with...

exec $1

to get it to work.
This is all documented in the arch wiki.


ex Distro Junkie, Archbang addict

Offline

#28 2014-04-27 13:15:51

gychang
Member
Registered: 2011-12-14
Posts: 14

Re: Feedback on the new i3 part of the new AB iso

moravec wrote:

@Hutchism
The way I do it is to modify my slim.conf and .xinitrc files.

in /etc/slim.conf find the line...

sessions            xfce4,icewm-session,wmaker,blackbox

and modify it to include i3 and openbox.  You could just add it on to the others or modify the whole line and have something like this...
sessions            openbox,i3

My .xinitrc file looks as follows, I was lazy and just copy and pasted from the archlinux wiki

#!/bin/bash

export DE=openbox

# Dbus fix
if [ -z "$DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS" ]; then
    eval "$(dbus-launch --sh-syntax --exit-with-session)"
fi

/usr/bin/xdg-user-dirs-update

#if grep -q " wm=i3 " /proc/cmdline; then
#  export DE=i3
#  exec /usr/bin/i3 > ~/.i3_startup.log 2>&1
#else
#  /usr/bin/openbox-session > ~/.openbox_startup.log 2>&1
#fi
case $1 in
i3)
	exec i3
	;;
xfce4)
	exec startxfce4
	;;
wmaker)
	exec wmaker
	;;
blackbox)
	exec blackbox
	;;
openbox|*)
	exec openbox-session > ~/.openbox_startup.log 2>&1
	;;
esac

I have mde openbox my default, however you can make it i3 if you want by having |* after i3 instead of openbox.  I should probably go with a simipler IF/Then statement since I will probably not use any of the other window managers.

Hope this helps.

Is there way to have a choice of each? in my case openbox or i3...  what else do I need to do?

Offline

#29 2014-04-27 18:12:18

moravec
Member
From: near volcano, pacific NW, USA
Registered: 2010-10-07
Posts: 114
Website

Re: Feedback on the new i3 part of the new AB iso

@gychang

Yes you can have a choice, I believe newer versions of archbang do not come with i3 so you will have to install it then modify your .xinitrc and slim.conf files as mentioned previously in this thread.  At the slim screen hit f1 to choose the window manager you want.


ex Distro Junkie, Archbang addict

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB