You are not logged in.

#1 2010-10-11 00:08:25

ancleessen4
Member
From: luxembourg
Registered: 2010-10-08
Posts: 199

Upgrade to testing-oops!

I decided to upgrade to testing repo in order to use gnome-terminal 2.30 with 'definable size window' feature.
However, now I have some aspects of the system not working...
Namely,those that I have found;
xdgmenu,archey,oblogout.
Running these from the terminal I get 'print' errors (syntax?).
Unfortunately, I am not at my home machine at the moment to give a terminal output.
(I will try and supply this later)

Any ideas what might be causing this?

EDIT-and here is the terminal output;

  File "/usr/bin/archbey", line 118
    print 'Taking shot in',
                         ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax
┌─[neil]──[archbang]:~$
└──>>python ~/.config/openbox/scripts/xdg-menu
  File "/home/neil/.config/openbox/scripts/xdg-menu", line 27
    print '<menu id="%s" label="%s">' \
                                    ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax
┌─[neil]──[archbang]:~$
└──>>sudo oblogout
  File "/usr/bin/oblogout", line 55
    except getopt.error, msg:
                       ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax
┌─[neil]──[archbang]:~$
└──>>

and another problem with radiotray;

  File "/usr/bin/archbey", line 118
    print 'Taking shot in',
                         ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax
┌─[neil]──[archbang]:~$
└──>>radiotray
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/radiotray", line 7, in <module>
    from radiotray import radiotray
ImportError: No module named radiotray

During handling of the above exception, another exception occurred:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/radiotray", line 12, in <module>
    os.chdir(workdir)
OSError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: '/usr/bin/src'
┌─[neil]──[archbang]:~$
└──>>

This is not hugely important as I am about to install a new CPU and will probably re-install ArchBang anyway (test machine)-but all ideas on a solution would be appreciated.

Last edited by ancleessen4 (2010-10-11 11:46:12)

Offline

#2 2010-10-16 07:54:15

ancleessen4
Member
From: luxembourg
Registered: 2010-10-08
Posts: 199

Re: Upgrade to testing-oops!

OK-up and running again with new processor installed.
I think I will stay away from testing roll

Offline

#3 2010-10-19 05:54:33

benkong2
Member
Registered: 2010-10-19
Posts: 1

Re: Upgrade to testing-oops!

I have this same problem on a new install. I did not upgrade to testing. Any ideas on a fix?

Offline

#4 2010-10-19 10:33:53

willxtreme
The Cook
From: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada
Registered: 2010-10-06
Posts: 274
Website

Re: Upgrade to testing-oops!

Indeed, xdg-menu, oblogout and archbey are affected

For xdg-menu

Replace python by python2 in the associated command in OB's menu

And for archbey, edit /usr/bin/archbey and put python2 instead on the first line

Last edited by willxtreme (2010-11-23 11:25:04)

Offline

#5 2010-10-23 08:05:51

ancleessen4
Member
From: luxembourg
Registered: 2010-10-08
Posts: 199

Re: Upgrade to testing-oops!

gnome-terminal 2.32.0 now in core/extra with resize feature big_smile

radiotray,oblogout,archey,xdg-menu fixed thanks to forum inputs.

EDIT: Sorry spoke too soon...

xdg-menu in Spanish-I have not worked out the fix from the limited info sad

oblogout-no reboot or shutdown available (yes-I have added myself to sudoers file) sad

Last edited by ancleessen4 (2010-10-23 12:22:06)

Offline

#6 2010-10-23 13:58:16

nomalab
Member
Registered: 2010-10-23
Posts: 1

Re: Upgrade to testing-oops!

ancleessen4 wrote:

Any ideas what might be causing this?

News: Python is now Python 3
http://www.archlinux.org/news/python-is-now-python-3/

"Since /usr/bin/python will now point to the 3.x binary, any program requiring 2.x needs to point to /usr/bin/python2 instead. All our packages have been updated accordingly, but any remaining issues found can be reported to the bug tracker (not the forums or mailing lists)."

Quick and dirty fix for /usr/bin/archbey (and other scripts that suffer from this same problem): Change the shebang line at the beginning to read:

#!/usr/bin/python2

Edit: OR rather comment out last line of .bashrc, where archbey is being called (it provides the system stats shown when you fire up the terminal):

#archbey -c red

Last edited by nomalab (2010-10-23 15:44:42)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB