You are not logged in.

#1 2012-05-02 05:15:32

ArchVortex
Retired
From: Bali
Registered: 2011-04-01
Posts: 1,464

ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

Post bugs or arthropods here wink


You have the capacity to learn from mistakes. You'll learn a lot today.
FP:E5F8 7DBA 8128 9ACB 75F7 7279 BE34 AB66 76D9 16DE
KEY ID:76D916DE
Currently running ArchBang / LinuxBBQ / Funtoo (FunBang?) / FreeBSD / SlackBang Current 14.2

Offline

#2 2012-05-03 17:37:21

monacelli
Member
Registered: 2011-11-15
Posts: 10

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

Archbang installed fine on my end, just had to change a few cosmetic things.  If anybody else wants to get rid of the "No noobs no bozos" startup message you just have to edit /etc/rc.sysinit.  Also gtk-engine-unico should probably be installed by default so GTK3 apps don't look funky.

Last edited by monacelli (2012-05-03 19:27:08)

Offline

#3 2012-05-05 04:51:28

Colonel Panic
Member
Registered: 2011-09-08
Posts: 32

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

I had a freeze up unfortunately when trying to load Firefox from a live session.

I'll try and replicate it soon to see whether or not it was a "one off," I'm posting from Vector 7 Light at the moment.

-CP ..

Last edited by Colonel Panic (2012-05-05 04:52:44)

Offline

#4 2012-05-05 21:40:18

kujo
Member
Registered: 2012-05-05
Posts: 2

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

hi,

Xarchiver has a nasty bug which crash the software when you want to drag and drop so i tried with file roller and got another bug which freeze the mouse.

the problem are more explained by this guy: http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=71176

thank for your help.

edit: more about this

http://sourceforge.net/tracker/index.ph … tid=801864

edit 2: drag and drop work fine with thunar.

Last edited by kujo (2012-05-06 05:41:42)

Offline

#5 2012-05-06 08:03:18

scjet
Member
Registered: 2010-12-01
Posts: 1,461

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

QDark-Theme/comsmetic issue ?:

The new "QDarkStudio4 default GTK" theme does NOT show up, nor is it installable in the "obconf" manager ?
Instead, the default theme comes up as Onyx-black. ?
-The "openbox-3", and/or "xfsm4" folders(and files),...,  are missing in /usr/share/themes/QDarkStudio4 ?
-also, the /usr/share/themes/QDarkStudio4 folder seems to have the wrong permissions (as compared to the others), it should be "root:root drwxr-xr-x  ..."

a final note, I also tried to install the qdark theme via

 packer -S qdarkstudio4-gtk2-theme 

  but it did not make a difference, the results were similar, as above.
I posted our issue to the maintainer of the above package who is, as it turns out, our one and only Mr. Green.
wink
anyway, I'm not an ob/themes expert or creator, but if I'm missing something simple to fix this, plz let me know.
Thx.
Edit: I noticed in my ~/.gtkrc-2.0 file, there is indeed a... gtk-theme-name="QDarkStudio4"  line, however whenever I try to install it as a new Theme it just spews: "QDark4Studio does not appear to be a vaild Openbox theme directory" ?

cheers.

Last edited by scjet (2012-05-06 08:35:48)

Offline

#6 2012-05-06 08:34:09

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,663

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

You have found a major bug in i686 version, I have not got QDarkStudio installed correctly. I run x86_64 day to day so its a royal pain the butt to reboot into i686 and create 32 bit version. Will get it sorted for next release ....

Hopefully it did not spoil your ArchBang iso experience

/me slaps wrist smile

[mrgreen@macmillan QDarkStudio4]$ ls -la
total 16
drwx------   4 mrgreen users 4096 Jan 11  2010 .
drwxr-xr-x 126 root    root  4096 May  1 16:03 ..
drwx------  20 mrgreen users 4096 Apr 21 17:17 gtk-2.0
drwx------   2 mrgreen users 4096 Apr 21 17:17 metacity-1

Best things in life are systemd free...

Offline

#7 2012-05-06 08:40:06

scjet
Member
Registered: 2010-12-01
Posts: 1,461

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

Mr Green wrote:

You have found a major bug in i686 version, I have not got QDarkStudio installed correctly. I run x86_64 day to day so its a royal pain the butt to reboot into i686 and create 32 bit version. Will get it sorted for next release ....

Hopefully it did not spoil your ArchBang iso experience

/me slaps wrist smile


No worries, it's all good man.
but no. I'm not using i686 ?! <- I would NEVER use that old dodo-bird 32-bit hardware-architecture,  YUK.   smile
actually, I'm using  archbang-2012.04.30-x86_64, and it's just a default installation, when I noticed in"obconf" I couldn't find the QDark4Studio theme ?
other than that, it's great.

Last edited by scjet (2012-05-06 09:21:48)

Offline

#8 2012-05-06 08:41:46

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,663

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

Seems a number of users are having more problems with i686 version, mostly with installation. There are a number of posts relating to installation problems, could do with feedback from i686 users if they have managed to install ArchBang i686?


Best things in life are systemd free...

Offline

#9 2012-05-06 08:44:01

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,663

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

@scjet You will not find Qdark in obconf its in preferences -- user interface-settings, Qdark is a gtk theme not an openbox one. But you are right I have messed up PKGBUILD big time smile


Best things in life are systemd free...

Offline

#10 2012-05-06 09:13:42

scjet
Member
Registered: 2010-12-01
Posts: 1,461

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

Mr Green wrote:

@scjet You will not find Qdark in obconf its in preferences -- user interface-settings, Qdark is a gtk theme not an openbox one. But you are right I have messed up PKGBUILD big time smile

ahh k, thx.  I created a ~/.themes folder, and copied over QDark4...:

/home/rick/.themes/
               └── QDarkStudio4
                               ├── gtk-2.0
                               └── metacity-1

and now i see it in User Interface Settings. under  Preferences.

- BTW: jus' curious, any chance the author can create a QDark4Stdio ".obt" OpenBox Theme archive of this, or too much work ?

Last edited by scjet (2012-05-06 09:25:37)

Offline

#11 2012-05-06 09:44:07

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,663

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

Have updated PKGBUILD in AUR hopefully it works now smile


Best things in life are systemd free...

Offline

#12 2012-05-07 03:51:27

sano
Member
Registered: 2012-02-13
Posts: 19

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

Mr Green wrote:

Seems a number of users are having more problems with i686 version, mostly with installation. There are a number of posts relating to installation problems, could do with feedback from i686 users if they have managed to install ArchBang i686?

I managed to install it on an old Netbook (HP compaq Q10, Atom n270, 1GB RAM). I had to download the firmware for BCM4312 and install it with pacman -U, but the rest worked like a charm and OOB. Don't like the theme though, I prefer something more like #!.
But anyway, it's a friend's computer, and she just wanted to be able to watch youtube again...

Offline

#13 2012-05-07 08:03:42

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,663

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

@sano, well at least one person got it running smile, now you have it installed you can make it look how you want....


Best things in life are systemd free...

Offline

#14 2012-05-08 00:27:22

scjet
Member
Registered: 2010-12-01
Posts: 1,461

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

this is more of a nuisance, than a bug, but "DOC.html"  needs to be updated.
- if you're following "DOC.html" (Super +"r") you'll notice just under the "Video driver" section, if you run the "sudo pacman -R ..." to remove xorg dirvers, you'll get removal errors due to the fact that Xorg is much newer now.
The below xorg drivers, ...,  no longer exist, and therefore should be removed from that "sudo pacman -R" line in "DOC.html" now:
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
mach64-dri
mga-dri
r128-dri
savage-dri
sis-dri
tdfx-dri
xf86-video-xgi
xf86-video-xgixp
-----------------------------------------------------------------

Last edited by scjet (2012-05-08 00:31:23)

Offline

#15 2012-05-08 01:05:12

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,663

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

Noted will edit DOC to reflect changes.... thanks


Best things in life are systemd free...

Offline

#16 2012-05-08 01:21:25

scjet
Member
Registered: 2010-12-01
Posts: 1,461

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

Hey guys, this is more of a question than a bug:
In ~/.Xdefaults i noticed the settings/lines within that file are stil "URxvt*geometry: ..." ?  But, we're now using LXterminal, instead of urxvt (in the default install).
I replaced all "URxvt" with "LXTerminal" (restarted X), but it didn't seem to affect "lxterminal" for good or ill.
Anyway,
Are you keeping these default Urxvt lines in  "~/.Xdefaults" here for historic reasons, in case someone wants to install urxvt-unicode ???

Thanks again.

Last edited by scjet (2012-05-08 01:34:52)

Offline

#17 2012-05-08 04:14:00

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,663

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

I had not forgotten .Xdefaults just have not got around to removing it smile

Done! left in xft stuff for good measure


Best things in life are systemd free...

Offline

#18 2012-05-08 07:19:19

oliver
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-04
Posts: 2,208

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

scjet wrote:

Hey guys, this is more of a question than a bug:
In ~/.Xdefaults i noticed the settings/lines within that file are stil "URxvt*geometry: ..." ?  But, we're now using LXterminal, instead of urxvt (in the default install).
I replaced all "URxvt" with "LXTerminal" (restarted X), but it didn't seem to affect "lxterminal" for good or ill.
Anyway,
Are you keeping these default Urxvt lines in  "~/.Xdefaults" here for historic reasons, in case someone wants to install urxvt-unicode ???

Thanks again.

I don't think LXTerminal honours the .Xdefaults file and contains all the customizations in the preferences section (I may be wrong though)

Personally, I wouldn't remove the entries from .Xdefaults but hash them out just in case you ever want to go back

Offline

#19 2012-05-08 09:00:27

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,663

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

@oliver I have only removed the urxvt stuff not the xft, I can put them back if need be....


Best things in life are systemd free...

Offline

#20 2012-05-08 09:12:12

scjet
Member
Registered: 2010-12-01
Posts: 1,461

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

EDIT:
@Mr Green;  ok thanks all for the explanations, regarding urxvt, and Xdefaults.
I agree that Xdefaults seems fine the way it is, it's not hurting anything as mentioned, + you're  all are aware of this. and

@oliver, I think your right, by definition LXTerminal is an "independent" VTE-based terminal,... standard for lxde/openbox.... -according to some explanations. ?
I installed urxvt-unicode initially, moreso becuase I got so used to it over the last few AB revs. Lol.  But now, I've  UN-installed "urxvt" again, and I'm slowly finding LXTerminal to be more simpler, dependable, and that's fine for a default distro such as AB.

Last edited by scjet (2012-05-08 09:31:59)

Offline

#21 2012-05-08 09:23:00

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,663

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

I have returned .Xdefaults as it was, does not seem any point in removing it as it does not take up any room. DOC has been edited too....

Keep 'em coming smile


Best things in life are systemd free...

Offline

#22 2012-05-08 09:25:35

scjet
Member
Registered: 2010-12-01
Posts: 1,461

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

Mr Green wrote:

I have returned .Xdefaults as it was, does not seem any point in removing it as it does not take up any room. DOC has been edited too....

Keep 'em coming smile

ahh well, sorry for the false alarm.  wink

Offline

#23 2012-05-08 09:35:42

ArchVortex
Retired
From: Bali
Registered: 2011-04-01
Posts: 1,464

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

Did three installations on three different laptops with the latest i686 release and everything went smooth as a baby's bottom. Only complaint was the QDStudio4 not working until re-installed.

BTW, average install time for me is under 8 and a half minutes. smile


You have the capacity to learn from mistakes. You'll learn a lot today.
FP:E5F8 7DBA 8128 9ACB 75F7 7279 BE34 AB66 76D9 16DE
KEY ID:76D916DE
Currently running ArchBang / LinuxBBQ / Funtoo (FunBang?) / FreeBSD / SlackBang Current 14.2

Offline

#24 2012-05-08 09:41:08

scjet
Member
Registered: 2010-12-01
Posts: 1,461

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

ArchVortex wrote:

Did three installations on three different laptops with the latest i686 release and everything went smooth as a baby's bottom. Only complaint was the QDStudio4 not working until re-installed.

BTW, average install time for me is under 8 and a half minutes. smile

Hey, but that is NOT a bug ?! 
that is a GOOD thing.   wink
Hehehe

Last edited by scjet (2012-05-08 09:42:06)

Offline

#25 2012-05-08 09:49:06

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,663

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

@ArchVortex I have fixed QDark [my bad] glad to hear install is working, was thinking there was a problem with setting up partitions under cfdisk. Did try out 64bit version under virtualbox this morning and cfdisk worked fine. Still going to dust off my old box and try on that just to be certain.

@scjet I take feedback when I can get it smile


Best things in life are systemd free...

Offline

#26 2012-05-08 21:11:25

ArchVortex
Retired
From: Bali
Registered: 2011-04-01
Posts: 1,464

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

Just did two installations using cfdisk for the hell of it No problems. And no bugs.


You have the capacity to learn from mistakes. You'll learn a lot today.
FP:E5F8 7DBA 8128 9ACB 75F7 7279 BE34 AB66 76D9 16DE
KEY ID:76D916DE
Currently running ArchBang / LinuxBBQ / Funtoo (FunBang?) / FreeBSD / SlackBang Current 14.2

Offline

#27 2012-05-08 23:23:24

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,663

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

@ArchVortex good to know smile


Best things in life are systemd free...

Offline

#28 2012-05-10 13:26:03

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,663

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

My partners laptop normally runs Lubuntu [12.04], Lxpanel was playing up so I decided to install ArchBang on it.

Rocking with ArchBang on her laptop now.....

Would like a way to get onscreen messages looking better [or turned off!]

And gtk3 needs sorting!!!!


Best things in life are systemd free...

Offline

#29 2012-05-15 22:13:39

joe74
Member
From: Managua, Nicaragua
Registered: 2010-10-11
Posts: 21
Website

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

Installed Archbang but GRUB fails to load the /boot files needed to. It sets boot partition by ID and returns error 17.

Last edited by joe74 (2012-05-16 10:08:41)

Offline

#30 2012-05-16 09:56:41

marties
Member
Registered: 2011-10-06
Posts: 2

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

Hi,
i'm on the i686 iso, all the install process went well. Great !
The usb harddrive automount didn't work except for root, i had to alter the /etc/sudoers file with

username  ALL=(ALL) ALL 

Keep the good job

Offline

#31 2012-05-16 12:49:21

pablokal
Administrator
From: Nijmegen, Holland
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 3,586
Website

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

Installed Archbang but GRUB fails to load the /boot files needed to. It sets boot partition by ID and returns error 17

Do you really think that is a bug?
It is an installation error.
Post it again in the installation thread.
Probably this will help you enough though: http://stillstup.blogspot.com/2012/03/g … ation.html


Getting your questions answered here at ArchBang Forums
Please! Always give hardware info, if there is a chance that 's relevant: #lspci -vnn
On Arch(bang) and Openbox: http://stillstup.blogspot.com/

Offline

#32 2012-05-17 23:01:52

linuxfan
Member
Registered: 2012-05-14
Posts: 12

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

Feedback for Mr. Green: I too have installed i686 version with no partition or install probs. One bug is the system benchmark whcih opens blank dialogs, is that fixed? Do I have to manually config some file somewhere?

Offline

#33 2012-05-18 01:59:54

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,663

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

@linuxfan its theme error switching themes/ installing omg-suite from aur will sort it


Best things in life are systemd free...

Offline

#34 2012-05-20 05:58:58

replabrobin
Member
Registered: 2011-11-06
Posts: 81

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

Tried the latest test iso archbang-2012.05.16-i686.iso and it works & installs fine.

Offline

#35 2012-06-06 00:15:12

linuxfan
Member
Registered: 2012-05-14
Posts: 12

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

I noticed during bootup that one of the Hooks is resume but there is an error that no device is configured for resume. What to do remove resume from mkinitcpio?

Offline

#36 2012-06-06 01:17:29

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,663

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

You need to edit mkinitcpio.conf in /etc remove resume and and then run mkinitcpio -p linux


Best things in life are systemd free...

Offline

#37 2012-06-21 20:48:21

00Davo
Member
Registered: 2012-06-21
Posts: 1

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

I'm unable to install ArchBang 2012.05 i686, through a LiveUSB produced using Unetbootin. The installation process starts fine, but at approximately the copying-files stage some sort of kernel error is produced, connected to the process "kswapd". The system fails to respond from that point and must be power-cycled to restore operation.

The same error has been produced during other activity in the live environment, usually high-CPU processing. The error appears to be very similar to this Arch one: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=140635&p=1 Since that error was apparently corrected by a kernel update, I assume that the ArchBang .iso may also need said update.

EDIT: This error is also very similar: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=140702

Last edited by 00Davo (2012-06-21 21:57:51)

Offline

#38 2012-06-22 06:11:25

pablokal
Administrator
From: Nijmegen, Holland
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 3,586
Website

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

Generally we advice not to use unetbootin for creating  a liveUSB, because that will regularly lead to problems: http://bbs.archbang.org/viewtopic.php?pid=5290#p5290, see the dd solution presented there.


Getting your questions answered here at ArchBang Forums
Please! Always give hardware info, if there is a chance that 's relevant: #lspci -vnn
On Arch(bang) and Openbox: http://stillstup.blogspot.com/

Offline

#39 2012-07-16 09:52:17

lordnisse
Member
Registered: 2012-07-16
Posts: 2

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

Well, that's not a bug actually, but I didn't know who I should concact.
I think there's something wrong with the 2012.05 iso image served from sourceforge.
Was going to try and test it in a virtualmachine, but it's not working as iso. I cannot unpack it, neither mount it.
So I tried again and again to download it, but no better chance...

Could anybody check?

Offline

#40 2012-07-16 11:43:15

oliver
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-04
Posts: 2,208

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

can you do an md5sum on the downloaded image and post the results?

Offline

#41 2012-07-17 02:05:28

lordnisse
Member
Registered: 2012-07-16
Posts: 2

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

Yeah, sure.
Of curse it doesn't match:
254b0ffc5764ee5cabe4771a188f2607  archbang-2012.04.30-x86_64.iso

Offline

#42 2012-07-17 07:32:42

oliver
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-04
Posts: 2,208

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

I just downloaded from sourceforge and got this which matches the md5sum posted on the download page

$ ls -l archbang-2012.04.30-x86_64.iso 
-rwxrwx--- 1 root vboxsf 517996544 Jul 17 09:10 archbang-2012.04.30-x86_64.iso

$ md5sum archbang-2012.04.30-x86_64.iso 
858da5d69c98c1c56440c5a1ac067e67  archbang-2012.04.30-x86_64.iso

Offline

#43 2012-07-17 15:15:12

SpawnHappyJake
Member
Registered: 2012-01-13
Posts: 210

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

There's a typo in /etc/inittab:

## Only one of the following two lines can be uncommented!
# Boot to console
id:5:initdefault:
# Boot to X11
#id:5:initdefault:

By default it should be:

## Only one of the following two lines can be uncommented!
# Boot to console
#id:3:initdefault:
# Boot to X11
id:5:initdefault:

There are two problems with how it is now:

1. The line used to boot ArchBang into a GUI is under the comment for how to boot ArchBang into a console. Notice which line is commented out and which isn't (only the uncommented one is used).

2. "id:5:initdefault:" exists twice (one is commented out). Rather, the one under the console comment should be "id:3:initdefault:", and the one under X11 should be left as is and uncommented (and comment-out the other one under the console command and make it be "3" instead of "5").

Cheers,
Jake


WARNING/DISCLAIMER: My posted solutions (or attempts thereof) are usually my attempt at (re)iterating something that worked for _me_. I do not guarantee they will work for you. Use at your own risk.
My solutions may not be the simplest solutions, either. However, I do not intentionally add pointless complications.

Offline

#44 2012-07-17 15:20:15

SpawnHappyJake
Member
Registered: 2012-01-13
Posts: 210

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

Another typo:

The file name for the archbang-2012.05.02-i686 release iso is "archbang-2012.04.30.i686.iso".

Obviously that should be "archbang-2012.05.02-i686.iso" instead.

The x86_64 iso needs a similar filename correction.

Cheers,
Jake


WARNING/DISCLAIMER: My posted solutions (or attempts thereof) are usually my attempt at (re)iterating something that worked for _me_. I do not guarantee they will work for you. Use at your own risk.
My solutions may not be the simplest solutions, either. However, I do not intentionally add pointless complications.

Offline

#45 2012-07-17 15:26:45

SpawnHappyJake
Member
Registered: 2012-01-13
Posts: 210

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

And I'm still sticking to my story that abinstall's inability to use an archisobasedir other than "arch" is a bug. The kernel has a parameter, "archisobasdir=", to set the archisobasedir to any folder the user wants it to be. Therefore, abinstall should have the same ability. Abinstall should automatically pickup on what the archisobasedir is by parsing the kernel parameter. I wrote a helper bash script that can fix this bug:

http://bbs.archbang.org/viewtopic.php?id=2992

Cheers,
Jake


WARNING/DISCLAIMER: My posted solutions (or attempts thereof) are usually my attempt at (re)iterating something that worked for _me_. I do not guarantee they will work for you. Use at your own risk.
My solutions may not be the simplest solutions, either. However, I do not intentionally add pointless complications.

Offline

#46 2012-07-17 16:56:51

oliver
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-04
Posts: 2,208

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

I may be arguing semantics here, but I think what you're requesting is a feature request, not a bug.  A bug implies that it was designed to work a certain way and is failing to do so.  You are requesting a modification to the current behaviour.

IMO, the current way is not broken - but thats not to say it can't be improved.  It is up to the AB overlords to determine how far they want to customize the install.

Offline

#47 2012-07-17 17:23:18

SpawnHappyJake
Member
Registered: 2012-01-13
Posts: 210

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

I may be arguing semantics here, but I think what you're requesting is a feature request, not a bug.  A bug implies that it was designed to work a certain way and is failing to do so.  You are requesting a modification to the current behaviour.

IMO, the current way is not broken - but thats not to say it can't be improved.  It is up to the AB overlords to determine how far they want to customize the install.

I can see your point of view that it's a feature request, and it kinda is, but I still kinda see it as a bug because if someone renames the "arch" folder ("arch" as in "Arch Linux", not "architecture"), abinstall won't work. So whether it works or not, period, in some situations, is at stake here.

But going back to what you were saying, that may not have been in the design intensions, so maybe it's not truly a bug. Maybe a "design bug".

Jake


WARNING/DISCLAIMER: My posted solutions (or attempts thereof) are usually my attempt at (re)iterating something that worked for _me_. I do not guarantee they will work for you. Use at your own risk.
My solutions may not be the simplest solutions, either. However, I do not intentionally add pointless complications.

Offline

#48 2012-07-21 23:29:13

SpawnHappyJake
Member
Registered: 2012-01-13
Posts: 210

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

Another bug:

In pacman version 4.0.3, doing "-Scc -r [path]" clears the cache directory going off of the actual root, and clears the database directory from the specified root.

Needs to use the specified root for both.

Jake


WARNING/DISCLAIMER: My posted solutions (or attempts thereof) are usually my attempt at (re)iterating something that worked for _me_. I do not guarantee they will work for you. Use at your own risk.
My solutions may not be the simplest solutions, either. However, I do not intentionally add pointless complications.

Offline

#49 2012-07-22 08:33:17

mike4ca
Happy (Arch|Manjaro)[B,b]ang User
From: Iowa, USA
Registered: 2011-10-17
Posts: 435

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

SpawnHappyJake wrote:

Another bug:

In pacman version 4.0.3, doing "-Scc -r [path]" clears the cache directory going off of the actual root, and clears the database directory from the specified root.

Needs to use the specified root for both.

Jake

This should be reported to Arch.  I think this thread should be for things that ArchBang does not implement correctly.  I don't think we would try to support every bug for every application here.


Free Software Foundation member 10865

Offline

#50 2012-08-16 20:29:06

stargazer
Member
Registered: 2012-08-16
Posts: 4

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

Hi, I am new to this forum, and I am in the hopes that I can get ArchBang to be installed on my system. I have a dual processor system (Iwill DVD266 smp, 2 pentium III, 500 MB of Ram, 1 nvidia GF4 card). My hopes is to convert it to a file server using linux. Because of my computer system age I would like to put a light OS on it, and ArchBang fits the bill nicely. Unfortunately, ArchBang 2012.04.30-i686 hangs everytime I finish off setting up the partitions and the cd attempts to mount them. I can not get past this stage and I hate that fact. I am hoping someone can give me some kernel parameters or something, to get me over this disappointment. Please help...

Offline

#51 2012-08-17 06:47:31

oliver
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-04
Posts: 2,208

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

are you able to see the console messages (ctrl-alt-f6 I think) to see if there are any hints as to what is happening?  If you open up another terminal, is anything being written to /var/log/messages?  Also, does df -k show the partitions as mounted?

Offline

#52 2012-08-17 08:28:43

stargazer
Member
Registered: 2012-08-16
Posts: 4

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

Well I've been using the vesa mode and I get the same results, even with a Nvidia GF2 card. I am able to boot to the desktop fine, but I have now discovered that just working with lxterminal has brought on a complete freeze(hang), just like before. The hang came about however, when I lauch the install and a lxterminal was opened. The system is unresponsive where the mouse does not move or keyboard functional. So it appears that this may be a kernel/Xorg/video card issue. Perhaps...

Offline

#53 2012-08-17 08:31:57

stargazer
Member
Registered: 2012-08-16
Posts: 4

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

I should add that previously I had PCLinuxOS running fine on this machine, just that it was a bit heavy and so performance was decent I guess. But really no hang up with that distro. That's why I say that this is a bug....

Offline

#54 2012-08-17 09:44:12

stargazer
Member
Registered: 2012-08-16
Posts: 4

Re: ArchBang 2012.05 - Bug Thread

o.k so after some more attempts to get this install, my the install freeze again while playing with lxterminal only, however just before it freezed it threw up some info:

[   119.532720] BUG: unable to handle kernel paging request at 00100104
[   119.532840] IP:  [<c01ece76>]  isolate_Iru_pages+0xc6/0x310
..........
...........
..........
[119.533372] [drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: GPU lockup - switching to software fbcon

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB