You are not logged in.

#1 2012-02-16 12:08:22

ArchVortex
Retired
From: Ts’elxweyeqw, Canada
Registered: 2011-04-01
Posts: 1,465

Sabayon 8 CoreCDX = Sabayon base + Fluxbox

Running the Sabayon 8 CoreCDX which comes with only Fluxbox, lynx, nano and xterm added. Installed easily and you are left with Fluxbox and nothing else. Talk about minimal smile Everything has to be added by the user, truly leaving it up to the user how they want to build their Fluxbox system or other desktop for that matter. Sabayon runs binaries with Equo or source with Portage. Choose which package manager you want to run and stick with it. Equo is just as easy to run as pacman, not quite as quick, but still fast. It has a GUI called Sulfur which slows down things a lot but allows you to search and choose packages. Pretty easy to make a customized .iso with molecule for installs or backup.


You have the capacity to learn from mistakes. You'll learn a lot today.
FP:E5F8 7DBA 8128 9ACB 75F7 7279 BE34 AB66 76D9 16DE
KEY ID:76D916DE
Currently running ArchBang / LFS / OpenSUSE Tumbleweed

Offline

#2 2012-02-16 12:24:31

oliver
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-04
Posts: 2,209

Re: Sabayon 8 CoreCDX = Sabayon base + Fluxbox

How wide-ranging is the equo repo?  They can't have compiled the entire portage tree can they?

Offline

#3 2012-02-16 19:36:58

ArchVortex
Retired
From: Ts’elxweyeqw, Canada
Registered: 2011-04-01
Posts: 1,465

Re: Sabayon 8 CoreCDX = Sabayon base + Fluxbox

They pretty much cover everything in Gentoo. Surprisingly, packages that you have to autounmask-write or are still rc e-builds in Gentoo are already binaries in Sabayon. Sabayon is Gentoo testing with an overlay. If you want something that isn't in Sabayon, Joost is pretty good at getting it added. If you keep portage to under 10% usage then you'll be okay (to add overlays that have packages not in Sabayon or Gentoo mainstream yet).


You have the capacity to learn from mistakes. You'll learn a lot today.
FP:E5F8 7DBA 8128 9ACB 75F7 7279 BE34 AB66 76D9 16DE
KEY ID:76D916DE
Currently running ArchBang / LFS / OpenSUSE Tumbleweed

Offline

#4 2012-02-17 02:21:14

pablokal
Administrator
From: Nijmegen, Holland
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 3,634
Website

Re: Sabayon 8 CoreCDX = Sabayon base + Fluxbox

'If you keep portage to under 10% usage " That's Chinese for me; will have to learn another way of doing Linux, I guess.. will be hard to be a novice again.
But the fact that there are binaries and not everything has to be compiled does it for me. Thanks for the info.
I already know the gentoo wiki is amazing, so it must be doable.


Getting your questions answered here at ArchBang Forums
Please! Always give hardware info, if there is a chance that 's relevant: #lspci -vnn
On Arch(bang) and Openbox: http://stillstup.blogspot.com/

Offline

#5 2012-02-17 08:26:47

oliver
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-04
Posts: 2,209

Re: Sabayon 8 CoreCDX = Sabayon base + Fluxbox

pablokal wrote:

'If you keep portage to under 10% usage " That's Chinese for me; will have to learn another way of doing Linux, I guess.. will be hard to be a novice again.

You'll pick it up in about 2 minutes.
Think of the portage tree like AUR but divided into logical categories...  At this point, it's just a list of "ebuilds" (the same as a PKGBUILD file).  I should clarify that it's not the free-for-all that AUR is, these are approved builds by developers (although anyone can set up their own repo too)

When you want to install something, you "emerge" the package which reads the ebuild, downloads the source and compiles it based on your global (or app-specific) parameters. 

My question was how much of this portage tree has been pre-compiled....  my requirements are fairly minimal but probably rather esoteric

I already know the gentoo wiki is amazing, so it must be doable.

You should have seen it before the crash (and they had *no* backups)

Offline

#6 2012-02-19 06:37:11

ArchVortex
Retired
From: Ts’elxweyeqw, Canada
Registered: 2011-04-01
Posts: 1,465

Re: Sabayon 8 CoreCDX = Sabayon base + Fluxbox

Equo, the CLI client of the entropy package manager is just as easy as using the CLI for pacman. You can also use Sulfur which is the graphical wrapper but it is slow, probably because there are a lot of logical categories to search. More reading about the Entropy Package Manager here at http://wiki.sabayon.org/index.php?title=En:Entropy.


You have the capacity to learn from mistakes. You'll learn a lot today.
FP:E5F8 7DBA 8128 9ACB 75F7 7279 BE34 AB66 76D9 16DE
KEY ID:76D916DE
Currently running ArchBang / LFS / OpenSUSE Tumbleweed

Offline

#7 2012-02-19 07:16:20

pablokal
Administrator
From: Nijmegen, Holland
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 3,634
Website

Re: Sabayon 8 CoreCDX = Sabayon base + Fluxbox

Thanks for the link, Archvortex. I haven't found the time to try CoreCDX out yet , but I surely will


Getting your questions answered here at ArchBang Forums
Please! Always give hardware info, if there is a chance that 's relevant: #lspci -vnn
On Arch(bang) and Openbox: http://stillstup.blogspot.com/

Offline

#8 2012-02-23 07:41:23

pablokal
Administrator
From: Nijmegen, Holland
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 3,634
Website

Re: Sabayon 8 CoreCDX = Sabayon base + Fluxbox

I tried it and of course it wouldn't work with nvidia out of the box...


Getting your questions answered here at ArchBang Forums
Please! Always give hardware info, if there is a chance that 's relevant: #lspci -vnn
On Arch(bang) and Openbox: http://stillstup.blogspot.com/

Offline

#9 2012-02-23 09:17:09

oliver
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-04
Posts: 2,209

Re: Sabayon 8 CoreCDX = Sabayon base + Fluxbox

ArchVortex wrote:

Sabayon runs binaries with Equo or source with Portage. Choose which package manager you want to run and stick with it.

Is this possible with the coreCDX image?  I'm playing with it now and it doesn't appear to have a working compiler installed.  So I need to at least use equo once to get gcc before switching to portage.

It's entirely likely that I'm missing something though

Offline

#10 2012-02-23 09:31:22

ArchVortex
Retired
From: Ts’elxweyeqw, Canada
Registered: 2011-04-01
Posts: 1,465

Re: Sabayon 8 CoreCDX = Sabayon base + Fluxbox

Oliver, equo should be working OOTB if you have it connected to ethernet:

# equo update
# equo upgrade --ask 
# equo install entropy sulfur

Then

# equo install portage -av

should give you portage to use

Just a word of warning, if you emerge --sync it will take around 45 minutes to finish

Pablokal, sorry to hear nvidia won't work OOTB with Core. Another reason why I won't touch nvidia with a ten foot pole.


You have the capacity to learn from mistakes. You'll learn a lot today.
FP:E5F8 7DBA 8128 9ACB 75F7 7279 BE34 AB66 76D9 16DE
KEY ID:76D916DE
Currently running ArchBang / LFS / OpenSUSE Tumbleweed

Offline

#11 2012-02-23 17:14:36

pablokal
Administrator
From: Nijmegen, Holland
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 3,634
Website

Re: Sabayon 8 CoreCDX = Sabayon base + Fluxbox

Playing with the rather bloated xfce version of Sabayon 8 now.
Equo is a great installer, great feedback with the --ask flag, but it is  slower than pacman.

And  where is the rc.conf file :-O
I miss that ease of configuration of Arch.

And then the different package names.
It has really been a pain in the ass to install a simple program like adeskbar.
The available ebuilds don t work.
The dependencies have different names in gentoo python-wnck is called libwnck-python
gnome-menus I have but still python-gmenu I couldn t find.


Getting your questions answered here at ArchBang Forums
Please! Always give hardware info, if there is a chance that 's relevant: #lspci -vnn
On Arch(bang) and Openbox: http://stillstup.blogspot.com/

Offline

#12 2012-02-24 05:37:48

oliver
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-04
Posts: 2,209

Re: Sabayon 8 CoreCDX = Sabayon base + Fluxbox

ArchVortex wrote:

Oliver, equo should be working OOTB if you have it connected to ethernet:

# equo update
# equo upgrade --ask 
# equo install entropy sulfur

Then

# equo install portage -av

should give you portage to use

thanks... I was a little concerned about the warning of mixing equo with portage but you can't use portage without first getting some 'base devel' stuff from equo

Unfortunately for me, a 'make world' immediately requires keyword modifications to run so I think it would still be incredible amounts of work unless I stayed purely equo and that defeats the object of gentoo IMO.  I'm a little sad because aesthetically, sabayon has always done a fantastic job.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB