You are not logged in.

#1 2011-01-23 17:51:35

willxtreme
The Cook
From: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada
Registered: 2010-10-06
Posts: 274
Website

ArchBang 2011.01 - Bug Thread

Post your bugs here to help us make this distro more robust!

Offline

#2 2011-01-23 18:32:30

hugepopeye
Member
Registered: 2011-01-22
Posts: 15

Re: ArchBang 2011.01 - Bug Thread

Hi Will,

How can I update my current system to the new release Symbiosis without re-installation?
Thanks a lot.

Offline

#3 2011-01-23 19:04:40

willxtreme
The Cook
From: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada
Registered: 2010-10-06
Posts: 274
Website

Re: ArchBang 2011.01 - Bug Thread

Since you already have ArchBang, you can get the Source Files from the download page and follow the instructions to generate the latest iso so you could see in VirtualBox what Symbiosis looks like and adapt your system (by putting the same gtk theme, OB theme, wallpaper, snatching the rc.xml & menu.xml files, adding/removing/replacing the applications accordingly)

Read the DOC file located in ./ArchBang/overlay/etc/skel to see how to generate the latest iso big_smile

Offline

#4 2011-01-23 19:35:54

sefsinalas
Member
Registered: 2011-01-22
Posts: 4

Re: ArchBang 2011.01 - Bug Thread

i cant put keyboard in spanish. I always make what this post say http://paraisolinux.com/configurar-el-t … l-en-arch/ but now it dont work.

Offline

#5 2011-01-23 19:39:29

willxtreme
The Cook
From: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada
Registered: 2010-10-06
Posts: 274
Website

Re: ArchBang 2011.01 - Bug Thread

sefsinalas wrote:

i cant put keyboard in spanish. I always make what this post say http://paraisolinux.com/configurar-el-t … l-en-arch/ but now it dont work.

In Preferences>Openbox Config>Edit autostart.sh, add the following line

setxkbmap es &

Offline

#6 2011-01-24 06:56:27

holiday
Member
Registered: 2011-01-24
Posts: 1

Re: ArchBang 2011.01 - Bug Thread

is it only me or are there no links for Symbiosis on download page? hope its uploading smile

Offline

#7 2011-01-24 07:39:44

pablokal
Administrator
From: Nijmegen, Holland
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 3,203
Website

Re: ArchBang 2011.01 - Bug Thread

Will writes:

Edit: Symbiosis back online soon sorry for the inconvenience;

before there was a message about an emergency fix, suggesting it would be up again any moment.
So something went/is going wrong. Poor Will.
Let 's show him our patience and understanding.
Lesson  to be learned: never announce a new release.
Just upload it when it is ready.


Getting your questions answered here at ArchBang Forums
Please! Always give hardware info, if there is a chance that 's relevant: #lspci -vnn
On Arch(bang) and Openbox: http://stillstup.blogspot.com/

Offline

#8 2011-01-24 13:39:52

narical
Member
From: Russia
Registered: 2010-12-06
Posts: 9

Re: ArchBang 2011.01 - Bug Thread

Hello. Can you tell what I need for installing new A!-release in virtualbox under another Archbang? smile
It hangs up after I press "enter" in VM's grub on entry "boot Archbang linux".
Hardware - eeepc 1001px (wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Asus_Eee_PC_1001px)

UPD:
My x86_64 CPU in virtualbox seems to be x86-only, that's the reason.
Hope you are going to make .torrent as soon as possible - I was in time for downloading x64 version with ~800 KBps, and now with x86 .iso I have download rate near 3-5 KBps (not kilobyte/s!)

Last edited by narical (2011-01-24 14:24:59)

Offline

#9 2011-01-24 14:36:59

narical
Member
From: Russia
Registered: 2010-12-06
Posts: 9

Re: ArchBang 2011.01 - Bug Thread

Decided to write new post instead of editing.

I've just tried to create torrent, and here it is smile
You can publish magnet-link on x86_64 .iso in your download section
magnet:?xt=urn:btih:5425c07321d4b5f8378a3c8c177e061f12eb0199&dn=ArchBang%5FSymbiosis-2011.01.24-x86%5F64.iso

I've made .torrent file and uploaded it to tracker:
http://freetorrent.ru/download.php?id=1 … so.torrent

P.S. I dunno if it works, please check it out and confirm here!

Last edited by narical (2011-01-24 15:09:17)

Offline

#10 2011-01-24 14:51:45

WhiteJay17
Member
From: Tacoma, WA, USA
Registered: 2011-01-24
Posts: 3

Re: ArchBang 2011.01 - Bug Thread

pablokal wrote:

Will writes:

Edit: Symbiosis back online soon sorry for the inconvenience;

before there was a message about an emergency fix, suggesting it would be up again any moment.

I'm curious what necessitated the fix. I'm using the 1/23 ISO as live-cd now with no problems so far. How unwise would it be to do install from this one?

Not that it would be so difficult to download the 1/24 ISO and reburn. I guess I want to save my pennies by not wasting another CD-R big_smile

Last edited by WhiteJay17 (2011-01-24 15:09:48)

Offline

#11 2011-01-24 16:28:41

pablokal
Administrator
From: Nijmegen, Holland
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 3,203
Website

Re: ArchBang 2011.01 - Bug Thread

I tried both the 32 and 64  bits version in a live session on a modern i3 pc 64 bits;
both work flawlessly; trying the 32 bits on a six year old pc (pentium 4, 2.66ghz, 1 gig mem) no luck.
The same thing I got before using 10.10 on an older pc.
The given info is not clear and seems to point to a bad CD:  CD Error IOTLR

but the same cd works flawlessly on another pc and of course checked the md5sum which was correct.

Edit: tried it a fourth time on the old pc and now suddenly the cdrom loaded and was working ok.

Last edited by pablokal (2011-01-24 17:43:59)


Getting your questions answered here at ArchBang Forums
Please! Always give hardware info, if there is a chance that 's relevant: #lspci -vnn
On Arch(bang) and Openbox: http://stillstup.blogspot.com/

Offline

#12 2011-01-24 17:10:16

willxtreme
The Cook
From: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada
Registered: 2010-10-06
Posts: 274
Website

Re: ArchBang 2011.01 - Bug Thread

WhiteJay17 wrote:

I'm curious what necessitated the fix.

I now have a "victim pc" that one of my brothers is not using anymore and I could boot the cd in failsafe mode but thanks to the last minute fix, I can now boot in normal mode big_smile (after adding few lines of code in rc.local). It had something to do with Xorg. Basically, when I said Symbiosis was out and ready for the first time, it was perfectly ready for my laptop. Things always go well on my laptop lol....but it's good to experiment problems others may have. I can say that things are getting better because there was a time when I would do a lot of testing in VirtualBox but not enough on my real laptop. Now I can do a lot on my laptop + another computer wink

Last edited by willxtreme (2011-01-24 17:14:12)

Offline

#13 2011-01-25 06:13:49

rizzzeee
Member
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6

Re: ArchBang 2011.01 - Bug Thread

Hi,

I have installed Sybiosis and i have to say it is fantastic. Although i have one small problem. I am trying to install the propriety nvidia driver because of the large performance difference between it and nouveau.

However when I type:

pacman -S nvidia

it asks to remove libgl which is needed by the xorg video drivers you have included and so the installation will not continue. Is it safe for me to remove all the xorg video drivers so that libgl can be removed.

Many Thanks

Offline

#14 2011-01-25 07:51:21

Shadowww
Member
Registered: 2011-01-25
Posts: 1

Re: ArchBang 2011.01 - Bug Thread

rizzzeee wrote:

However when I type: pacman -S nvidia
it asks to remove libgl which is needed by the xorg video drivers you have included and so the installation will not continue. Is it safe for me to remove all the xorg video drivers so that libgl can be removed.

Try "pacman -S nvidia nvidia-utils" instead.
smile

Offline

#15 2011-01-25 10:07:20

xmichielx
Member
Registered: 2010-11-17
Posts: 6

Re: ArchBang 2011.01 - Bug Thread

I have a question about Archbang, with the Archbang installer I can create a LVM device and a LUKS/dmcrypt device.
Is it possible to create this with Archbang?
See: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Of … ountpoints

I really want an ecnrypted disk for my private stuff, there is a ecryptfs howto but I rather use LUKS and create an ecnrypted disk/partition from start/scratch/install.

Thanks in advance.

Offline

#16 2011-01-25 10:35:11

rizzzeee
Member
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6

Re: ArchBang 2011.01 - Bug Thread

Hi,
I managed to get it working by removing the xorg video drivers and then libgl

Thanks for the info anyways.

Offline

#17 2011-01-25 11:45:59

ibendiben
Member
Registered: 2011-01-24
Posts: 13

Re: ArchBang 2011.01 - Bug Thread

iso checked, md5 checked... tried again with unetbootin, boots with following error:

::  Loading Initramfs
::  Starting udevd...
done.
Waiting 30 seconds for device /dev/disk/by-label/ARCH_201101 ...
sd 2:0:0:0 [sdb] Assuming drive cache: write through
ERROR: boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds...
    Falling back to interactive prompt
    You can try to fix the problem manually, log out when you are finished 
/bin/sh: can't access tty; job control turned off
[ramfs /]# _

Offline

#18 2011-01-25 14:32:07

r3d33m3d
Member
Registered: 2011-01-25
Posts: 1

Re: ArchBang 2011.01 - Bug Thread

@ibendiben
You need to rename your USB drive as ARCH_201101 ... reboot and it should all work.

R3d33m3d

Offline

#19 2011-01-25 15:46:41

pablokal
Administrator
From: Nijmegen, Holland
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 3,203
Website

Re: ArchBang 2011.01 - Bug Thread

I suspect there is a command error in the cd build.
Even after install  I get the same error Cd Error IOTLR


Getting your questions answered here at ArchBang Forums
Please! Always give hardware info, if there is a chance that 's relevant: #lspci -vnn
On Arch(bang) and Openbox: http://stillstup.blogspot.com/

Offline

#20 2011-01-25 15:54:20

narical
Member
From: Russia
Registered: 2010-12-06
Posts: 9

Re: ArchBang 2011.01 - Bug Thread

Everything is OK in virtualbox smile

Offline

#21 2011-01-25 16:58:06

ibendiben
Member
Registered: 2011-01-24
Posts: 13

Re: ArchBang 2011.01 - Bug Thread

Renamed usb (thanks R3d33m3d) and booted!
Looking good, have to say..!

Couple of things on livesystem (latop: Compaq tc4200):
- no wireless (intel firmware package is missing: ipw2200-fw)
- no scrolling (simply adding >Option "VertEdgeScroll" "on" in /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/10-synaptics.conf does the trick!)
- no mirror for pacman (/etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist are all #'ed)
- pacman -Q doesn't work is there a cache? (EDIT: my bad, looked for the wrong packages I guess, it works correctly)
- using old version of pacman?

Installation:
- user is not in sudoers file (as root, uncomment %wheel ALL=(ALL) ALL with EDITOR=nano visudo and save as /etc/sudoers)

Also for some strange reason I couldn't log into the archbang website. It said: logged in succesfully but then it remained logged out... anyone any ideas on that?

I'll see what I can find out in further testing.
This is a great project! Minimal Archlinux installation... looking GREAT!

Last edited by ibendiben (2011-01-26 08:54:58)

Offline

#22 2011-01-25 22:55:05

Rothsdad
Member
Registered: 2011-01-25
Posts: 3

Re: ArchBang 2011.01 - Bug Thread

I have a problem:

thunar cannot automount my usbdisk or windows partition(cannot display windows partition either).

I have already set it in the thunar property, but it doesn't work!

Offline

#23 2011-01-26 01:08:53

Rothsdad
Member
Registered: 2011-01-25
Posts: 3

Re: ArchBang 2011.01 - Bug Thread

another problem:

after I uncomment vattery and reboot, I find vattery doesn't display.

(I use laptop, D630)

Offline

#24 2011-01-26 04:00:28

xmichielx
Member
Registered: 2010-11-17
Posts: 6

Re: ArchBang 2011.01 - Bug Thread

pablokal wrote:

I suspect there is a command error in the cd build.
Even after install  I get the same error Cd Error IOTLR

64 bit install cd

Same here, after a normal dd -if=Archbang*** of=/dev/sdb1

sad

Offline

#25 2011-01-26 04:07:16

pablokal
Administrator
From: Nijmegen, Holland
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 3,203
Website

Re: ArchBang 2011.01 - Bug Thread

thunar cannot automount my usbdisk or windows partition(cannot display windows partition either).

This is not an Archbang specific problem.
Try dbus-launch thunar in the terminal to see if that fixes the problem.

- no mirror for pacman (/etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist are all #'ed)

this is default in a new Arch install; see http://bbs.archbang.org/viewtopic.php?id=152

Btw I stilll have random kernel panic  like boot failures with Symbiosis: I suppose it is related to the cd build but it also can have a relation to this
http://stillstup.blogspot.com/2011/01/r … rsion.html

So it might not be Symbiosis specific; haven't updated yet.

Last edited by pablokal (2011-01-26 04:12:03)


Getting your questions answered here at ArchBang Forums
Please! Always give hardware info, if there is a chance that 's relevant: #lspci -vnn
On Arch(bang) and Openbox: http://stillstup.blogspot.com/

Offline

#26 2011-01-26 04:58:52

ibendiben
Member
Registered: 2011-01-24
Posts: 13

Re: ArchBang 2011.01 - Bug Thread

pablokal wrote:

- no mirror for pacman (/etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist are all #'ed)

this is default in a new Arch install; see http://bbs.archbang.org/viewtopic.php?id=152

That's fine after default Arch installation maybe, but after installing archbang all mirrors where uncommented I belief.
Furthermore, my comment was about the lifesystem! (first list of comments are all on the lifesystem)
In lifemode you don't want to edit /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist!

Offline

#27 2011-01-26 05:43:30

narical
Member
From: Russia
Registered: 2010-12-06
Posts: 9

Re: ArchBang 2011.01 - Bug Thread

I'm using "old" Archbang distribution, and just 2-3 days ago Thunar was updated - right after that I had this:

thunar cannot automount my usbdisk or windows partition(cannot display windows partition either).

I noticed also that dependencies-list for thunar has changed.
I've  installed "gvfs" package and my proble was solved - there's even my ntfs partitions in "bookmarks" now!

Offline

#28 2011-01-26 07:03:52

xmichielx
Member
Registered: 2010-11-17
Posts: 6

Re: ArchBang 2011.01 - Bug Thread

Is there any news when the ISO errors will be fixed and the 64 bit iso will be bootable?

Offline

#29 2011-01-26 12:09:03

ibendiben
Member
Registered: 2011-01-24
Posts: 13

Re: ArchBang 2011.01 - Bug Thread

packer misses following dependencies:
- fakeroot
- patch

Last edited by ibendiben (2011-01-26 12:11:54)

Offline

#30 2011-01-26 12:25:37

Rothsdad
Member
Registered: 2011-01-25
Posts: 3

Re: ArchBang 2011.01 - Bug Thread

pablokal wrote:

Btw I stilll have random kernel panic  like boot failures with Symbiosis

I have the same problem.

Offline

#31 2011-01-26 15:07:35

gestaltish
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2010-10-09
Posts: 144
Website

Re: ArchBang 2011.01 - Bug Thread

ibendiben wrote:

packer misses following dependencies:
- fakeroot
- patch

Have you notified the maintainer?


Before you ask anything: CHECK THE ARCHWIKI!
- Wiki: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Main_Page

Offline

#32 2011-01-26 15:39:29

ibendiben
Member
Registered: 2011-01-24
Posts: 13

Re: ArchBang 2011.01 - Bug Thread

gestaltish wrote:
ibendiben wrote:

packer misses following dependencies:
- fakeroot
- patch

Have you notified the maintainer?

just did, good one, thought it was an installer mistake big_smile

Offline

#33 2011-01-27 04:02:10

pablokal
Administrator
From: Nijmegen, Holland
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 3,203
Website

Re: ArchBang 2011.01 - Bug Thread

That's fine after default Arch installation maybe, but after installing archbang all mirrors where uncommented I belief.
Furthermore, my comment was about the lifesystem! (first list of comments are all on the lifesystem)
In lifemode you don't want to edit /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist!

Just started working with the new install and with me all entries of the mirrorlist are/were uncommented (without the #).
But I had to sync the repository database with pacman -Syy for pacman to start working.
Tip: try powerpill for faster downloading when updating: pacman -S powerpill


Getting your questions answered here at ArchBang Forums
Please! Always give hardware info, if there is a chance that 's relevant: #lspci -vnn
On Arch(bang) and Openbox: http://stillstup.blogspot.com/

Offline

#34 2011-01-29 01:57:20

ancleessen4
Member
From: luxembourg
Registered: 2010-10-08
Posts: 199

Re: ArchBang 2011.01 - Bug Thread

I can confirm that 'dbus-launch thunar' results in automount working.

Offline

#35 2011-01-29 12:07:57

Mektub
Member
From: Lisbon / Portugal
Registered: 2011-01-28
Posts: 15

Re: ArchBang 2011.01 - Bug Thread

DblMtn wrote:

Trying to setup "Dropbox" in Symbiosis.  Can not see the questions for the boxes, due to background being the same color as the font.  How can I change this, so I can see the font?

I suppose you are referring to Lxterminal.

Go to Edit--> Preferences, click on Background, put opacity slider completely to the right, choose color on the left side.

Mektub

Offline

#36 2011-01-29 19:12:03

gestaltish
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2010-10-09
Posts: 144
Website

Re: ArchBang 2011.01 - Bug Thread

DblMtn wrote:

Anyone able to install Wine in Symbiosis?  If so, how did you do it?

Have you tried: 'sudo packer -S wine'?


Before you ask anything: CHECK THE ARCHWIKI!
- Wiki: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Main_Page

Offline

#37 2011-01-29 19:39:06

gestaltish
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2010-10-09
Posts: 144
Website

Re: ArchBang 2011.01 - Bug Thread

Weird..
Wine is in the community repo and should be installable with pacman/packer.

Could you post the output from the command "sudo pacman -S wine"?


Before you ask anything: CHECK THE ARCHWIKI!
- Wiki: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Main_Page

Offline

#38 2011-01-29 19:52:34

gestaltish
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2010-10-09
Posts: 144
Website

Re: ArchBang 2011.01 - Bug Thread

Have you re-updated the database since you changed pacman.conf?

If not: Force pacman to update by exec. "sudo pacman -Syy" and then try again.


Before you ask anything: CHECK THE ARCHWIKI!
- Wiki: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Main_Page

Offline

#39 2011-01-29 20:50:20

willxtreme
The Cook
From: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada
Registered: 2010-10-06
Posts: 274
Website

Re: ArchBang 2011.01 - Bug Thread

DblMtn wrote:

error: 'wine' : could not find or read package

Sounds like you are running on a x86-64 system: you have to install wine from multilib so be sure to add in your pacman.conf

[multilib]
Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

but even before installing it, you should install=> lib32-mpg123 lib32-libxml2 lib32-openal lib32-libpng

(Taken from Arch's wiki)
(wine is in the community rep only for i686)

Offline

#40 2011-01-29 22:26:20

Mektub
Member
From: Lisbon / Portugal
Registered: 2011-01-28
Posts: 15

Re: ArchBang 2011.01 - Bug Thread

Even after "pacman -Syy" and having multilib in pacman.conf, I get:

error: failed retrieving file 'multilib.db.tar.gz' from archlinux.limun.org : Not Found
error: failed retrieving file 'multilib.db.tar.gz' from artfiles.org : Connection timed out
error: failed retrieving file 'multilib.db.tar.gz' from artfiles.org : Not Found

this with different servers enabled in mirrorlist.
With a server taken from the Arch distribution it wonks, but I don't know if this is correct.

Mektub

PS: Using x86_64

Last edited by Mektub (2011-01-29 22:28:04)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB