You are not logged in.

#1 2012-01-31 04:08:03

rederik
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2012-01-04
Posts: 37
Website

Asus eeepc 1101HA (GMA500/Poulsbo chipset)

Hi, I'm the unhappy owner of an Asus eeepc 1101HA netbook, equipped with the notorious GMA500/Poulsbo chipset.
It's hard to find info about the chipset and even harder about this specific netbook.
So, I would like to start a thread to share info and solutions (obviously geared towards Archbang and Arch) about this otherwise wonderful piece of hardware.
I will keep this first post updated with the info gathered.

The netbook has a good 11" monitor, but with a native 1366x768 resolution, hard to manage.

At the moment, this is my situation:
[Updated April 12, 2012]

[SOLVED Archbang installation]
The default setups of Archbang 2011.11 install ISO gets a messy screen, something like 4 images badly overlapped and mixed, you can just manage to position the cursor on the logout button...
Solution: edit GRUB's kernel line. changing xorg=vesa to xorg=fbdev
The installed system will work with correct resolution and no problems with xcompmgr

[Graphic drivers]
The new kernels should give a basic support through psb_gfx module, but I still didn't manage to have it woking fully.
psb_gfx is loaded at startup through mkinitcpio.conf MODULES line, but xorg works with fbdev drive, anyway it works.
fbdev drivers work good with 2D and basic compositing, but video reproduction could be better.
Also LCD brightness is not changeable, even putting acpi_backlight=vendor in GRUB's kernel line

[Power button]
With the default kernel it didn't switch off, but since I installed atom-ck kernel from repo-ck, it works without the need of further tweaks

[suspend to ram]
didn't work OTB, but with some tweaks it works. I've managed to make Fn+F1 work, and also to suspend when the lid is closed. Still have to resume through the power button, at the moment.
As reported by stinkupuss, in a fresh install with the new 2012 ISO plus atom-ck kernel should work out of the box

Here are my config files, I paste only the meaningful lines:


STARTUP - MODULES

/boot/grub/menu.lst:

# (1) ArchBang Linux atom-ck
title  ArchBang Linux atom-ck
root   (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz-linux-ck root=/dev/disk/by-uuid/.... loglevel=3 ro quiet resume=/dev/disk/by-uuid/.... elevator=bfq
initrd /initramfs-linux-ck.img

/etc/rc.conf

MODULES=()
DAEMONS=(dbus acpid @laptop-mode @networkmanager !network !dhcdbd @syslog-ng @dropboxd @alsa lxdm)

/etc/mkinitcpio.conf

MODULES="psb_gfx intel_agp"
HOOKS="base udev autodetect pata scsi sata filesystems usbinput resume"

XORG
I've made no changes after the installation

/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-gpudriver.conf

Section "Device"
	Identifier "Card0"
	Driver     "fbdev"
EndSection

POWER MANAGEMENT
The packages acpi, acpid, pm-utils have to be installed. I had also acpi-eeepc-generic installed, but there were too many scripts in /etc/acpi, so I removed it and reinstalled acpid to have the default settings back

/etc/pm/config.d/config

SLEEP_MODULE="tuxonice kernel"
ADD_PARAMETERS="--quirk-s3-bios --quirk-s3-mode"

/etc/pm/config.d/modules

SUSPEND_MODULES="gma500_gfx"

/etc/acpi/handler.sh (the changes are commented)

#!/bin/sh
# Default acpi script that takes an entry for all actions

minspeed=`cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/cpuinfo_min_freq`
maxspeed=`cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/cpuinfo_max_freq`
setspeed="/sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_setspeed"

set $*

case "$1" in
    button/power)
        #echo "PowerButton pressed!">/dev/tty5
        case "$2" in
            PBTN|PWRF)  logger "PowerButton pressed: $2" ;;
            *)          logger "ACPI action undefined: $2" ;;
        esac
        ;;
#
#Default modified to use pm-suspend
#
    button/sleep)
        case "$2" in
            SLPB)   pm-suspend ;;
            *)      logger "ACPI action undefined: $2" ;;
        esac
        ;;
    ac_adapter)
        case "$2" in
            AC|ACAD|ADP0)
                case "$4" in
                    00000000)
                        echo -n $minspeed >$setspeed
                        #/etc/laptop-mode/laptop-mode start
                    ;;
                    00000001)
                        echo -n $maxspeed >$setspeed
                        #/etc/laptop-mode/laptop-mode stop
                    ;;
                esac
                ;;
            *)  logger "ACPI action undefined: $2" ;;
        esac
        ;;
    battery)
        case "$2" in
            BAT0)
                case "$4" in
                    00000000)   #echo "offline" >/dev/tty5
                    ;;
                    00000001)   #echo "online"  >/dev/tty5
                    ;;
                esac
                ;;
            CPU0)	
                ;;
            *)  logger "ACPI action undefined: $2" ;;
        esac
        ;;
    button/lid)
       	case "$3" in
	    close)
#
#Default modified to use pm-suspend
#
		#echo "LID closed!">/dev/tty5
		pm-suspend
		;;
	    open)
		#echo "LID opened!">/dev/tty5
        	;;
	esac
	;;

    *)
        logger "ACPI group/action undefined: $1 / $2"
        ;;
esac

Last edited by rederik (2012-04-12 08:38:43)


In a World without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates? ;-)

Offline

#2 2012-02-08 03:51:11

rederik
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2012-01-04
Posts: 37
Website

Re: Asus eeepc 1101HA (GMA500/Poulsbo chipset)

[Power button]
I'm not sure why, but after the last updates, the button works!
I'm using linux-ck-atom 3.2.5-1 kernel from repo-ck
mkinitcpio.conf has the line "MODULES=psb_gfx"
menu.lst kernel line has bfq enabled and acpi_osi=Linux option
rc.conf has eee-control-daemon in DAEMONS line


In a World without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates? ;-)

Offline

#3 2012-02-22 04:42:50

stinkupuss
Member
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 8

Re: Asus eeepc 1101HA (GMA500/Poulsbo chipset)

did you upgrade to new kernel? my 1101ha is totally borked now. can't start x at all.

Offline

#4 2012-02-27 02:43:03

rederik
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2012-01-04
Posts: 37
Website

Re: Asus eeepc 1101HA (GMA500/Poulsbo chipset)

Sorry for the late reply...
Probably you had the udev/linux problem... I hope you solved it.
I had this problem too, and I had to start a live system (I used System Rescue CD) and chroot into my Archbox to reinstall udev and then "mkinitcpio -p linux"


In a World without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates? ;-)

Offline

#5 2012-02-27 02:46:11

rederik
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2012-01-04
Posts: 37
Website

Re: Asus eeepc 1101HA (GMA500/Poulsbo chipset)

A strange issue after the udev problem: for a couple of startups the power button ceased to function, now it's back to work... and I didn't change anything... hmm

Last edited by rederik (2012-02-27 02:46:54)


In a World without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates? ;-)

Offline

#6 2012-02-28 04:54:41

stinkupuss
Member
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 8

Re: Asus eeepc 1101HA (GMA500/Poulsbo chipset)

I did initially have the udev/linux issue but managed to fix that. This is the problem I have https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=1061886

Interesting that you didn't run into this. Guess i got to try compile the kernel sad

Offline

#7 2012-02-28 04:56:19

stinkupuss
Member
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 8

Re: Asus eeepc 1101HA (GMA500/Poulsbo chipset)

Do you also have the problem with power button not working after Suspend?

Offline

#8 2012-02-29 07:21:42

rederik
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2012-01-04
Posts: 37
Website

Re: Asus eeepc 1101HA (GMA500/Poulsbo chipset)

stinkupuss wrote:

I did initially have the udev/linux issue but managed to fix that. This is the problem I have https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=1061886

Interesting that you didn't run into this. Guess i got to try compile the kernel sad

Actually, I never compiled the kernel... I began with the standard kernel, then since 3.2.1-5 I'm using the linux-ck-atom kernel from repo-ck and everything is OK.
I had some problems while playing with settings for X, usually there was something wrong in /etc/xorg.conf or in /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-gpudriver.conf files...

These are my settings (I pasted only meaningful lines):


/etc/rc.conf:

MODULES=()
DAEMONS=(dbus @networkmanager !network !dhcdbd @syslog-ng @dropboxd @alsa @eee-control-daemon lxdm)

/etc/mkinitcpio.conf:

MODULES="psb_gfx intel_agp"
HOOKS="base udev autodetect pata scsi sata filesystems usbinput resume"

/boot/grub/menu.lst:

# (1) ArchBang Linux atom-ck
title  ArchBang Linux atom-ck
root   (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz-linux-ck root=/dev/disk/by-uuid/4dea877e-5bd4-4897-b665-008e0288b2ba loglevel=3 ro quiet resume=/dev/disk/by-uuid/3a627005-25f2-49e7-95cf-e6ce97bbc437 acpi_osi=Linux elevator=bfq
initrd /initramfs-linux-ck.img

/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-gpudriver.conf:

Section "Device"
	Identifier "Card0"
	Driver     "fbdev"
EndSection

/etc/xorg.conf: I don't have this file


In a World without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates? ;-)

Offline

#9 2012-02-29 07:25:17

rederik
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2012-01-04
Posts: 37
Website

Re: Asus eeepc 1101HA (GMA500/Poulsbo chipset)

stinkupuss wrote:

Do you also have the problem with power button not working after Suspend?

Well, I don't use the suspend function, but AFAIK the problem is related to the "suspend-to-ram" function, not with the power button, but I'm not sure...
Anyway, my netbook has the same problem




Update:
Just after writing the lines above, I tried to hit Fn+F1, and it went to suspend.
Pressing the power button made it try to come back, but I could see just some ugly patterns on the display
Ctrl+Alt+[F1-F6] lead only to a blank screen, with no cursor
Ctrl+Alt+F7 obtained a flashing-white screen, so I went back to tty1 and, without seeing what I typed, logged in as root and issued "init 6" command to reboot. it worked.

So, now the power button seems to make its work, it's the graphic card that has problems while awakening from suspend...

Last edited by rederik (2012-02-29 07:35:27)


In a World without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates? ;-)

Offline

#10 2012-03-03 05:47:11

stinkupuss
Member
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 8

Re: Asus eeepc 1101HA (GMA500/Poulsbo chipset)

rederik,

can't thank u enough for pointing me to linux-ck-atom kernel. i set it up last night. power button works and brings up shutdown menu. suspend Fn+F1 and hibernate (right click Batti tray icon) work straight out of the box and power button resumes! suspends works great. i setup up acpi to suspend and resume for lid close and open events. i open the lid and resume is almost instant. awesome! means now i wont have 2 always have my charger on hand.

i also notice that my charger is working now. i thought it was on its way out because on the stock kernel, when i plugged in either running or powered off, alot of times it would not charge. when powered down, plugging in charger would sometimes just power on the machine without me even pressing power button but still not charge the battery! its all working perfect now. u just saved me sum euros cos i was about 2 buy a replacement! so thank u!

still some tweaking 2 do. cpufreq and laptop-tools to better manage power and i'll be set! like u said, not figured out backlight management yet. i'm happy with fbdev. i mainly just use this netbook for browsing and ssh. fbdev plays youtube vids fine with cpu switched 2 perfomance mode.

i did a complete reinstall so i'll look back thru my bash history and post the steps i used incase it helps someones else. i pretty much followed ur advice but i had 1 or 2 hitches along the way after a full upgrade. keep posting ur progress and setup tips!

thanks!

Offline

#11 2012-03-04 16:38:14

rederik
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2012-01-04
Posts: 37
Website

Re: Asus eeepc 1101HA (GMA500/Poulsbo chipset)

stinkupuss wrote:

suspend Fn+F1 and hibernate (right click Batti tray icon) work straight out of the box and power button resumes!

In my case the resume ends in a messed up screen, you're gone a step further... So it's only a matter of configs, I'll try to find out the correct one...

stinkupuss wrote:

i also notice that my charger is working now. i thought it was on its way out because on the stock kernel, when i plugged in either running or powered off, alot of times it would not charge. when powered down, plugging in charger would sometimes just power on the machine without me even pressing power button but still not charge the battery!

This is a strange behaviour, I never noticed that...

stinkupuss wrote:

i did a complete reinstall so i'll look back thru my bash history and post the steps i used incase it helps someones else. i pretty much followed ur advice but i had 1 or 2 hitches along the way after a full upgrade. keep posting ur progress and setup tips!
thanks!

Can you post your configuration?
grub's menu.lst, mkinitcpio.conf and rc.conf to see boot options, which modules are loaded and when, the daemons loaded at startup
/etc/xorg.conf and/or /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-gpudriver for xorg configuration


In a World without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates? ;-)

Offline

#12 2012-03-10 17:33:03

rederik
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2012-01-04
Posts: 37
Website

Re: Asus eeepc 1101HA (GMA500/Poulsbo chipset)

Good news...

First, some cleanup of unnecessary or unwanted files/configs:
removed intel_agp from MODULES line in mkinitcpio.conf (there was no difference)
removed "acpi_osi=Linux" from the kernel line in grub as acpid had some complains
removed eee-control package (eee-control-daemon), I will work on it in the future
removed acpi-eeepc-generic package, that shipped scripts for acpid

Then, I managed to have suspend to RAM working, using acpid and pm-utils with some modifications to the config files, see the first post for the configuration...


@stinkupuss: please post your configuration, particularly acpid and whatever you used to have suspend working...

Last edited by rederik (2012-03-10 17:35:25)


In a World without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates? ;-)

Offline

#13 2012-03-19 08:06:55

rederik
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2012-01-04
Posts: 37
Website

Re: Asus eeepc 1101HA (GMA500/Poulsbo chipset)

Update about suspend: it's not "stable", sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't... hmm


In a World without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates? ;-)

Offline

#14 2012-03-22 16:35:05

stinkupuss
Member
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 8

Re: Asus eeepc 1101HA (GMA500/Poulsbo chipset)

Hi rederik,

Sorry for the delayed response, I was on vacation. I pretty much followed your lead. Perhaps my suspend is working because I started from a fresh install. It turns out that my original problems were fixed with psb_gfx module and not the atom-ck kernel as I first suspected. I looked back at my bash history and what I did was to start from scratch follow the instructions here to the letter.

Then I added linux-ck-atom:

pacman -S linux-ck-atom
mkinitcpio -p linux-ck

Then I edit the config to match yours pretty much. My setup is as follows:

/etc/rc.conf

MODULES=(acpi-cpufreq cpufreq_ondemand cpufreq_powersave)
DAEMONS=(laptop-mode dbus networkmanager !network !dhcdbd syslog-ng @alsa)

/etc/mkinitcpio.conf

MODULES="psb_gfx intel_agp"
HOOKS="base udev autodetect pata scsi sata filesystems usbinput resume"

/boot/grub/menu.lst

# (0) ArchBang Linux atom-ck
title  ArchBang Linux atom-ck
root   (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz-linux-ck root=/dev/disk/by-uuid/925e7ecf-fbce-4cd6-9e96-ca158dc54738 loglevel=3 ro quiet resume=/dev/disk/by-uuid/2a5488d8-2899-439c-b4e7-300adc650cf8 acpi_osi=Linux elevator=bfq
initrd /initramfs-linux-ck.img

/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-gpudriver.conf

Section "Device"
	Identifier "Card0"
	Driver     "fbdev"
EndSection

I don't have any xorg.conf. I see that there are now new ISO's available so maybe that might be the way to go.

Hope you get your working.

Last edited by stinkupuss (2012-03-22 16:36:41)

Offline

#15 2012-03-25 08:46:34

rederik
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2012-01-04
Posts: 37
Website

Re: Asus eeepc 1101HA (GMA500/Poulsbo chipset)

stinkupuss wrote:

Hi rederik,
Then I edit the config to match yours pretty much. My setup is as follows:

Can you paste also the power management settings, the lines from:
/etc/pm/config.d/config
/etc/pm/config.d/modules
/etc/acpi/handler.sh


In a World without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates? ;-)

Offline

#16 2012-03-28 13:48:09

stinkupuss
Member
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 8

Re: Asus eeepc 1101HA (GMA500/Poulsbo chipset)

I am not using pm-util nor acpi. Just laptop-mode, cpufreq and Jupiter as the front-end. But the suspend was working before I added any of that.

Offline

#17 2012-03-30 15:57:36

rederik
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2012-01-04
Posts: 37
Website

Re: Asus eeepc 1101HA (GMA500/Poulsbo chipset)

stinkupuss wrote:

I am not using pm-util

Are you sure? I suspect that pm-utils is already installed with archbang...
Before I began working around suspend, I noticed that after pressing Fn+F1 conky reported pm-suspend process running, and I'm sure I didn't install it before...


In a World without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates? ;-)

Offline

#18 2012-04-02 14:30:47

stinkupuss
Member
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 8

Re: Asus eeepc 1101HA (GMA500/Poulsbo chipset)

Not sure if its installed by default but i dont have any of the cfg's. Suspend just worked from the very start. Did u try a fresh install or the new ISO?

Offline

#19 2012-04-03 15:24:36

rederik
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2012-01-04
Posts: 37
Website

Re: Asus eeepc 1101HA (GMA500/Poulsbo chipset)

after the last updates, also suspend seems to work correctly, so I won't do a fresh install...

At this point, we miss only the brightness control...


In a World without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates? ;-)

Offline

#20 2012-04-03 16:30:49

rederik
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2012-01-04
Posts: 37
Website

Re: Asus eeepc 1101HA (GMA500/Poulsbo chipset)

stinkupuss wrote:

Jupiter as the front-end.

mmm....
I tried to install it (toghether with jupiter-support-eee), and I get an arror when trying to run it :

File "/usr/bin/jupiter", line 38
    except ImportError, ex:
                      ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax

did you install it from AUR?
any hack to make it work?


In a World without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates? ;-)

Offline

#21 2012-04-03 16:46:33

rederik
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2012-01-04
Posts: 37
Website

Re: Asus eeepc 1101HA (GMA500/Poulsbo chipset)

rederik wrote:
stinkupuss wrote:

Jupiter as the front-end.

mmm....
I tried to install it (toghether with jupiter-support-eee), and I get an arror when trying to run it :

File "/usr/bin/jupiter", line 38
    except ImportError, ex:
                      ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax

OK, solved.
I didn't see this comment in the AUR package:

Comment by: WallaceIT on Tue, 13 Mar 2012 12:51:58 +0000

    if you have installed python (3.xxx) and python2, change on /usr/bin/jupiter (on first line)
    #!/usr/bin/env python
    to
    #!/usr/bin/env python2
    to make it work

that's my case


In a World without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates? ;-)

Offline

#22 2012-04-12 08:37:46

rederik
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2012-01-04
Posts: 37
Website

Re: Asus eeepc 1101HA (GMA500/Poulsbo chipset)

With the last kernel updates (3.3.1-2) psb_gfx module disappeared. Seems it has been replaced by gma500_gfx.
It also has to be replaced in /etc/pm/config.d/modules


In a World without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates? ;-)

Offline

#23 2012-04-13 06:49:39

rederik
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2012-01-04
Posts: 37
Website

Re: Asus eeepc 1101HA (GMA500/Poulsbo chipset)

After the last update and the psb_gfx issue, suspend doesn't work... :-(


In a World without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates? ;-)

Offline

#24 2012-04-26 04:32:26

stinkupuss
Member
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 8

Re: Asus eeepc 1101HA (GMA500/Poulsbo chipset)

I haven't been able to update in awhile since my 1101 ain't charging again. Hope its just charger or else its going in the /bin! wink

Last edited by stinkupuss (2012-04-26 04:34:15)

Offline

#25 2012-04-30 02:24:33

rederik
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2012-01-04
Posts: 37
Website

Re: Asus eeepc 1101HA (GMA500/Poulsbo chipset)

stinkupuss wrote:

I haven't been able to update in awhile since my 1101 ain't charging again. Hope its just charger or else its going in the /bin! wink

I think it's the charger... Does it work with the machine shut off?
I have another strange issue with the battery, instead: sometimes the charge indicator in conky and in batti drops to zero without reason and remains that way until I reboot the machine...
I still don't know how to reproduce the issue


In a World without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates? ;-)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB