You are not logged in.

#1 2011-11-01 18:01:22

willxtreme
The Cook
From: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada
Registered: 2010-10-06
Posts: 275

ArchBang 2011.11 - Bug Thread

Post bugs here big_smile

Offline

#2 2011-11-02 14:28:11

albatroz
Member
From: Versailles, France
Registered: 2011-10-26
Posts: 20

Re: ArchBang 2011.11 - Bug Thread

Hi!

ab 2011.11 is again clean & lean: more than yesterday & less than tomorrow?

Thanks to the team!

wink

Offline

#3 2011-11-02 14:47:36

mastis
Member
From: Finland
Registered: 2011-10-02
Posts: 135

Re: ArchBang 2011.11 - Bug Thread

The DOC file is missing! Could some send me the DOC? I wanna remove the unwanted video drivers etc..but cant remember how.

edit: 2011.11 works like a sharm. Havent found any real bug, everything works fine.

Last edited by mastis (2011-11-02 14:51:04)

Offline

#4 2011-11-02 15:49:51

pablokal
Administrator
From: Nijmegen, Holland
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 3,556
Website

Re: ArchBang 2011.11 - Bug Thread


Getting your questions answered here at ArchBang Forums
Please! Always give hardware info, if there is a chance that 's relevant: #lspci -vnn
On Arch(bang) and Openbox: http://stillstup.blogspot.com/

Offline

#5 2011-11-02 16:41:27

ArchVortex
Retired
From: Bali
Registered: 2011-04-01
Posts: 1,462

Re: ArchBang 2011.11 - Bug Thread

The Super + r keybinding allows you to read the DOC


You have the capacity to learn from mistakes. You'll learn a lot today.
FP:E5F8 7DBA 8128 9ACB 75F7 7279 BE34 AB66 76D9 16DE
KEY ID:76D916DE
Currently running ArchBang / LinuxBBQ / Funtoo (FunBang?) / FreeBSD / SlackBang Current 14.2

Offline

#6 2011-11-02 19:17:11

oliver
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-04
Posts: 2,174

Re: ArchBang 2011.11 - Bug Thread

In the 'configure system' part of the install, you're prompted to edit hosts.allow and hosts.deny but tcp_wrappers was deprecated a while back and is not installed anyway.

Is another app using them or is it a remnant of the old installer?

Offline

#7 2011-11-02 19:39:20

willxtreme
The Cook
From: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada
Registered: 2010-10-06
Posts: 275

Re: ArchBang 2011.11 - Bug Thread

oliver wrote:

In the 'configure system' part of the install, you're prompted to edit hosts.allow and hosts.deny but tcp_wrappers was deprecated a while back and is not installed anyway.

Is another app using them or is it a remnant of the old installer?

Thanks for pointing that & for the info Oliver big_smile

Offline

#8 2011-11-03 13:21:26

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,448

Re: ArchBang 2011.11 - Bug Thread

Two network icons, easy to fix head into autostart and # out nm-applet line

Bug or feature?


Best things in life are systemd free...

Offline

#9 2011-11-03 15:01:04

maxx
Member
Registered: 2011-11-03
Posts: 1

Re: ArchBang 2011.11 - Bug Thread

How to do this point with the new installer??
7.Select base, sudo (netcfg & wireless_tools if you use wireless)
can`t install wireless_tools !

Offline

#10 2011-11-03 15:40:25

handy
Member
Registered: 2011-11-03
Posts: 500

Re: ArchBang 2011.11 - Bug Thread

Hi mod's, I thought I'd stick this in here as it is a fresh install problem. So if you think that it is more appropriate for it to be placed elsewhere in the forum please move it I'll certainly understand.


I've been an Arch user on my prime machine for 3.5 years now. smile

Installed ArchBang for the first time on a new HP i3 desktop machine with only SATA on the m/board.

From the word go the optical drive is not recognised by AB, if I put a disk in the drive it is not read. There was no reference in fstab for it so I added the following lines:

/dev/cdrom      /media/cdrom    iso9660 ro,user,noauto,unhide   0       0
/dev/dvd        /media/dvd      udf     ro,user,noauto,unhide   0       0

I've got udev & hal running, & I've added the following to /etc/rc.local:

# create optical drive symlinks
ln -s /dev/sr0 /dev/cdrom
ln -s /dev/sr0 /dev/cdrw
ln -s /dev/sr0 /dev/dvd
ln -s /dev/sr0 /dev/dvdrw 

all to no avail.

I'm sure that as usual there is a really quick solution to this problem, once the answer is found. smile

I certainly look forward to hearing that solution...

Last edited by handy (2011-11-03 15:41:03)

Offline

#11 2011-11-03 16:17:23

nemesis2all
Member
Registered: 2011-10-07
Posts: 10

Re: ArchBang 2011.11 - Bug Thread

You are probably having issues because of udev 174-1. The symlinks and fstab should'nt be necessary to get your optical drive to work. Some programs may not look for your optical drive to be /dev/sr0. If that is a case you should file a bug report.

Basically what is changed in udev is that it isn't making your optical drive belong to the optical group anymore. It is under the disk group. If you can't make it work with the default setup then you could keep your symlinks and either add yourself to the disk group. Or you could add back in the optical rules to make it part of the optical group again. That would be last resort for me tho.

More information can be found here. https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=129044

Last edited by nemesis2all (2011-11-03 16:19:33)

Offline

#12 2011-11-03 16:48:44

pablokal
Administrator
From: Nijmegen, Holland
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 3,556
Website

Re: ArchBang 2011.11 - Bug Thread

This udev issue is mentioned in the Update Warnings section of this forum:
http://bbs.archbang.org/viewtopic.php?id=1475
Please check this section out regularly....and mention this section in the DOC?


Getting your questions answered here at ArchBang Forums
Please! Always give hardware info, if there is a chance that 's relevant: #lspci -vnn
On Arch(bang) and Openbox: http://stillstup.blogspot.com/

Offline

#13 2011-11-03 17:26:51

oliver
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-04
Posts: 2,174

Re: ArchBang 2011.11 - Bug Thread

Mr Green wrote:

Two network icons, easy to fix head into autostart and # out nm-applet line

Bug or feature?

I *think* it's caused by the upgrade to openbox that you drag down on the first upgrade.  Unfortunately timing rather than bug or feature :-)

Offline

#14 2011-11-03 17:51:40

handy
Member
Registered: 2011-11-03
Posts: 500

Re: ArchBang 2011.11 - Bug Thread

I've added my nonroot user to the disk group, but that had no effect. So I then created the udev rules, which also had no effect.

It would seem that this computer is particularly prone to this current "dusty" environment as upstream is trying to work out how to implement these changes satisfactorily.

My other Arch box has not been affected by this problem, which is just how it goes in the wonderful world of computing...

So if I downgrade udev I would get out of this problem, though I doubt I have the required package. Does anyone know the exact name of the package required?

I just looked & I only have udev-17-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz in my cache (I unfortunately recently did a pacman -Sc on the old Arch box (first time I've ever regretted it).

Offline

#15 2011-11-03 19:04:07

nemesis2all
Member
Registered: 2011-10-07
Posts: 10

Re: ArchBang 2011.11 - Bug Thread

You should be able to get anything you need from here. http://arm.konnichi.com/

Also may I suggest cacheclean instead of pacman -Sc. Recommended to leave 2 versions. Ex. cacheclean -v 2

Last edited by nemesis2all (2011-11-03 19:07:26)

Offline

#16 2011-11-03 20:17:14

handy
Member
Registered: 2011-11-03
Posts: 500

Re: ArchBang 2011.11 - Bug Thread

nemesis2all wrote:

You should be able to get anything you need from here. http://arm.konnichi.com/

Thanks for that nemesis2all. So the previous version of udev should get me out of trouble?

nemesis2all wrote:

Also may I suggest cacheclean instead of pacman -Sc. Recommended to leave 2 versions. Ex. cacheclean -v 2

As I mentioned in my previous statement, I've never needed more than the previous good version of a package in the cache before, but now, after having this experience I'll install cacheclean & set it up to keep 2 versions in the cache in future.

Offline

#17 2011-11-04 16:05:25

nemesis2all
Member
Registered: 2011-10-07
Posts: 10

Re: ArchBang 2011.11 - Bug Thread

@ handy

I believe going back to udev 173 will get you where you need to be. If not you may want to consider starting your own thread to trouble shoot there.

Offline

#18 2011-11-06 13:18:23

archibald
Member
Registered: 2011-11-06
Posts: 36

Re: ArchBang 2011.11 - Bug Thread

I was pleasantly surprised by discovering the "Arch Way" through installing ArchBang, so I'd like to say thanks for making this possible!

One small glitch I discovered was the lack of GTK3 themes with a corresponding GTK2 alternative and a gtk-engine needed to coherently display the UI for several GNOME applications from the default install such GNOME Character Map, Disk Utility, Transmission. So the latter appear un-themed and rather ugly in comparison to the other GTK applications in the default selection.

I have fixed this cosmetic deficiency by installing gtk-engine-unico (that is needed by most of the GTK3 themes anyway) and a theme that has both a GTK2 and 3 variant. The GTK2 variant can be selected through lxappearance, but in order to make use of the corresponding GTK3 theme, its gtk-3.0 folder should be copied into ~/.config. Please note that lxappearance creates a ~/gtk-3.0 folder that might be a bug in lxappearance 0.5.1 dealing with GTK3 and needs further investigation. I have found that this directory is not utilized in any way and may be safely deleted to keep ~/ clean ;-)

Otherwise everything else goes as smooth as it can get smile

EDIT: Just found a related thread on the ArchLinux forums.

Last edited by archibald (2011-11-06 13:33:32)

Offline

#19 2011-11-07 10:31:01

!lix
Member
Registered: 2011-10-25
Posts: 8

Re: ArchBang 2011.11 - Bug Thread

hi, this is the second version of archbang that i've installed and used! in this one, i don't know if it is a bug, but the adobe flash beta package didn't work well, and so i replaced it with the stable one. now it works fine! i wanna say also that this last AB version is fantastic! have i got to aspect a new relese every month?

ciao Igor

Offline

#20 2011-11-07 13:41:03

pablokal
Administrator
From: Nijmegen, Holland
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 3,556
Website

Re: ArchBang 2011.11 - Bug Thread

I would like to write:

have i got to aspect a new release every month?

Yes and you have to install a new version each month!!
That is the big bonus of a rolling release that you don't have to wait a half year for a new release!!
Don't believe Will:

You don't need it if you already have AB installed on your system tongue

quote from: http://archbang.org/news/archbang-2011- … n-the-wild
                           http://archbang.org/news/archbang-2011- … n-the-wild
                           http://archbang.org/news/archbang-2011-09-out
                           http://archbang.org/news/archbang-2011- … n-the-wild
But of course that would be a bad  joke; sorry, forget it.


Getting your questions answered here at ArchBang Forums
Please! Always give hardware info, if there is a chance that 's relevant: #lspci -vnn
On Arch(bang) and Openbox: http://stillstup.blogspot.com/

Offline

#21 2011-11-07 13:57:57

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,448

Re: ArchBang 2011.11 - Bug Thread

With configs available you can of course bring your Archbang up to date.


Best things in life are systemd free...

Offline

#22 2011-11-07 16:40:58

!lix
Member
Registered: 2011-10-25
Posts: 8

Re: ArchBang 2011.11 - Bug Thread

sorry for my error 'relese' big_smile ! i know that i don't need to install a new version each month! i said this is the second version of archbang that i've installed, because i've installed archbang2011.10 on a desktop last month, and now i've installed the last 'relese big_smile' on my laptop! when i said about the monthly new 'relese big_smile', it was because i've appreciated these continuous look improvements! but i don't speak english well, so you kidded me and willxtreme will change the format name! what disaster smile !

ciao Igor

Offline

#23 2011-11-08 06:57:09

djim123
Member
Registered: 2011-05-17
Posts: 10

Re: ArchBang 2011.11 - Bug Thread

how to remove the icons from OB-menu .tnx

Last edited by djim123 (2011-11-08 06:59:19)

Offline

#24 2011-11-08 08:49:09

ArchVortex
Retired
From: Bali
Registered: 2011-04-01
Posts: 1,462

Re: ArchBang 2011.11 - Bug Thread

Remove openbox-menu and you will have a normal menu without icons.

# pacman -R openbox-menu

You have the capacity to learn from mistakes. You'll learn a lot today.
FP:E5F8 7DBA 8128 9ACB 75F7 7279 BE34 AB66 76D9 16DE
KEY ID:76D916DE
Currently running ArchBang / LinuxBBQ / Funtoo (FunBang?) / FreeBSD / SlackBang Current 14.2

Offline

#25 2011-11-08 09:13:19

djim123
Member
Registered: 2011-05-17
Posts: 10

Re: ArchBang 2011.11 - Bug Thread

Tnx.Archvortex

Offline

#26 2011-11-09 10:39:51

mastis
Member
From: Finland
Registered: 2011-10-02
Posts: 135

Re: ArchBang 2011.11 - Bug Thread

Aurora automatic update doesn't work. It is trying to find update, but it hangs there forever.

Last edited by mastis (2011-11-09 10:44:45)

Offline

#27 2011-11-09 11:17:58

ArchVortex
Retired
From: Bali
Registered: 2011-04-01
Posts: 1,462

Re: ArchBang 2011.11 - Bug Thread

From the DOC about Aurora:

-If you want to update through the browser itself, you have to start it
as root to install the updates to have the necessary permissions. The
only thing is it won't change the version entry in the pacman database.
-You can also disable to automatically check for updates in
Preferences > Advanced > Updates


You have the capacity to learn from mistakes. You'll learn a lot today.
FP:E5F8 7DBA 8128 9ACB 75F7 7279 BE34 AB66 76D9 16DE
KEY ID:76D916DE
Currently running ArchBang / LinuxBBQ / Funtoo (FunBang?) / FreeBSD / SlackBang Current 14.2

Offline

#28 2011-11-13 16:56:37

albatroz
Member
From: Versailles, France
Registered: 2011-10-26
Posts: 20

Re: ArchBang 2011.11 - Bug Thread

ArchVortex wrote:

From the DOC about Aurora:

-If you want to update through the browser itself, you have to start it
as root to install the updates to have the necessary permissions. The
only thing is it won't change the version entry in the pacman database.
-You can also disable to automatically check for updates in
Preferences > Advanced > Updates

Hi!

I don't know if it's an orthodox way, but in the "/opt/" directory, I used the command "sudo chmod -R 777 firefox-aurora" and the updates are OK...

Thanks again for your work!

wink

Offline

#29 2012-02-03 07:55:43

francois.e
Member
From: Montréal, Québec
Registered: 2012-01-12
Posts: 67

Re: ArchBang 2011.11 - Bug Thread

Merci Will. Belle grosse job.


Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien (Voltaire).

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB