You are not logged in.

#1 2011-10-31 15:23:24

pablokal
Administrator
From: Nijmegen, Holland
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 3,633
Website

Create a transparent menu in Openbox

Remove xcompmgr

#pacman -R xcompmgr

Install xcompmgr-dana:

$ packer -S xcompmgr-dana

Add to /home/username/.config/openbox/autostart.sh:

xcompmgr -fF -t-5 -l-5 -r4.2 -o.55 -D2 -m.83 &

Thanks Dana  for your work on Openbox!!


Getting your questions answered here at ArchBang Forums
Please! Always give hardware info, if there is a chance that 's relevant: #lspci -vnn
On Arch(bang) and Openbox: http://stillstup.blogspot.com/

Offline

#2 2011-10-31 21:10:47

mike4ca
Happy (Arch|Manjaro)[B,b]ang User
From: Iowa, USA
Registered: 2011-10-17
Posts: 435

Re: Create a transparent menu in Openbox

Do you have a screen shot for us to see?


Free Software Foundation member 10865

Offline

#3 2011-10-31 22:09:23

ArchVortex
Retired
From: Ts’elxweyeqw, Canada
Registered: 2011-04-01
Posts: 1,465

Re: Create a transparent menu in Openbox

Here's an image

obmenu.png

I found that Chromium, when opened, was showing only 80% of the browser. When I commented out  xcompmgr -fF -t-5 -l-5 -r4.2 -o.55 -D2 -m.83 & in autostart and rebooted then Chromium opened up showing a full browser.


You have the capacity to learn from mistakes. You'll learn a lot today.
FP:E5F8 7DBA 8128 9ACB 75F7 7279 BE34 AB66 76D9 16DE
KEY ID:76D916DE
Currently running ArchBang / LFS / OpenSUSE Tumbleweed

Offline

#4 2011-11-01 03:41:42

pablokal
Administrator
From: Nijmegen, Holland
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 3,633
Website

Re: Create a transparent menu in Openbox

I found that Chromium, when opened, was showing only 80% of the browser.

Tried to replicate this failure but no problems here.


Getting your questions answered here at ArchBang Forums
Please! Always give hardware info, if there is a chance that 's relevant: #lspci -vnn
On Arch(bang) and Openbox: http://stillstup.blogspot.com/

Offline

#5 2011-11-01 04:56:11

willxtreme
The Cook
From: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada
Registered: 2010-10-06
Posts: 275

Re: Create a transparent menu in Openbox

pablokal wrote:

Thanks Dana  for your work on Openbox!!

And thanks Paul for making me discover a better xcompmgr big_smile

ArchVortex wrote:

I found that Chromium, when opened, was showing only 80% of the browser. When I commented out  xcompmgr -fF -t-5 -l-5 -r4.2 -o.55 -D2 -m.83 & in autostart and rebooted then Chromium opened up showing a full browser.

Yeah it's a glitch with chromium to fix it:
1) Right click in the top of chromium and tell it to use the system titlebar

2) then in rc.xml add this to the applications section near the bottom

    <application name="chromium">
      <decor>no</decor>
    </application>

Offline

#6 2011-11-01 05:02:37

ArchVortex
Retired
From: Ts’elxweyeqw, Canada
Registered: 2011-04-01
Posts: 1,465

Re: Create a transparent menu in Openbox

I removed and re-installed xcompmgr-dana and the same thing happened plus firefox-aurora as well. Removed it and re-installed xcompmgr and chromium and firefox do it with xcompmgr as well. If I click on the missing part of the browser it returns piece by piece. Recommented xcompmgr in autostart, rebooted and all is well. I removed xcompmgr as I don't use it.


You have the capacity to learn from mistakes. You'll learn a lot today.
FP:E5F8 7DBA 8128 9ACB 75F7 7279 BE34 AB66 76D9 16DE
KEY ID:76D916DE
Currently running ArchBang / LFS / OpenSUSE Tumbleweed

Offline

#7 2011-11-01 05:05:04

ArchVortex
Retired
From: Ts’elxweyeqw, Canada
Registered: 2011-04-01
Posts: 1,465

Re: Create a transparent menu in Openbox

Thanks Will for the tip but I just removed xcompmgr. smile


You have the capacity to learn from mistakes. You'll learn a lot today.
FP:E5F8 7DBA 8128 9ACB 75F7 7279 BE34 AB66 76D9 16DE
KEY ID:76D916DE
Currently running ArchBang / LFS / OpenSUSE Tumbleweed

Offline

#8 2011-11-01 08:44:30

hsngrms
Member
From: Turkey
Registered: 2011-10-30
Posts: 70
Website

Re: Create a transparent menu in Openbox

willxtreme wrote:
pablokal wrote:

Thanks Dana  for your work on Openbox!!

And thanks Paul for making me discover a better xcompmgr big_smile

ArchVortex wrote:

I found that Chromium, when opened, was showing only 80% of the browser. When I commented out  xcompmgr -fF -t-5 -l-5 -r4.2 -o.55 -D2 -m.83 & in autostart and rebooted then Chromium opened up showing a full browser.

Yeah it's a glitch with chromium to fix it:
1) Right click in the top of chromium and tell it to use the system titlebar

2) then in rc.xml add this to the applications section near the bottom

    <application name="chromium">
      <decor>no</decor>
    </application>

Thanx for this. But don't work for me.
I'm adding code to rc.conf and start Google Chrome. It's %80.
When i tell it to use system titlebar, start %100.

Sorry for my Eng. tongue

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB