You are not logged in.

#1 2011-10-04 13:57:55

pablokal
Administrator
From: Nijmegen, Holland
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 3,633
Website

Pcmanfm-mod is now available in Aur without use of hal

IgnorantGuru has made an my request a new version of pcmanfm-mod that doesn't use hal but works together with devmon, also made by him to mount partitons and the like.
pcmanfm-mod-nohal 1.2.3-1 https://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=52915
devmon: https://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=45842
Since two years pcmanfm-mod is my preferred file manager , especially because the ease of mounting external drives and partitions.


Getting your questions answered here at ArchBang Forums
Please! Always give hardware info, if there is a chance that 's relevant: #lspci -vnn
On Arch(bang) and Openbox: http://stillstup.blogspot.com/

Offline

#2 2011-10-04 17:51:52

ArchVortex
Retired
From: Ts’elxweyeqw, Canada
Registered: 2011-04-01
Posts: 1,465

Re: Pcmanfm-mod is now available in Aur without use of hal

This is great news! smile It was the hal dependency that had me change back to regular pcmanfm.


You have the capacity to learn from mistakes. You'll learn a lot today.
FP:E5F8 7DBA 8128 9ACB 75F7 7279 BE34 AB66 76D9 16DE
KEY ID:76D916DE
Currently running ArchBang / LFS / OpenSUSE Tumbleweed

Offline

#3 2011-10-05 01:56:26

pablokal
Administrator
From: Nijmegen, Holland
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 3,633
Website

Re: Pcmanfm-mod is now available in Aur without use of hal

@AV: would you check this new version with devmon to see if it works ok showing partitions and  external hard drives without hal.

Will had troubles with it;  see here for more info: https://igurublog.wordpress.com/downloa … pt-devmon/
If you add is as daemon it in rc.conf automounts
Can't check this myself as I still use hal.


Getting your questions answered here at ArchBang Forums
Please! Always give hardware info, if there is a chance that 's relevant: #lspci -vnn
On Arch(bang) and Openbox: http://stillstup.blogspot.com/

Offline

#4 2011-10-05 09:28:35

ArchVortex
Retired
From: Ts’elxweyeqw, Canada
Registered: 2011-04-01
Posts: 1,465

Re: Pcmanfm-mod is now available in Aur without use of hal

I had troubles with it this morning too. Permission errors popping up for usb and dvd drive, and not mounting flashdrives. Don't remember the specific errors because I got impatient and re-installed AB. I realize this doesn't help solve any problems that might be occurring but I needed my laptop operable for work and didn't have time to log the errors. Followed IG's installation instructions and was looking forward to using it. Maybe user error smile Wonder if it has to do with some change in a package or lib in the recent influx of updates in the last couple of days?

Addendum: I kind of got the feeling it wasn't devmon's fault.


You have the capacity to learn from mistakes. You'll learn a lot today.
FP:E5F8 7DBA 8128 9ACB 75F7 7279 BE34 AB66 76D9 16DE
KEY ID:76D916DE
Currently running ArchBang / LFS / OpenSUSE Tumbleweed

Offline

#5 2011-10-05 12:56:50

pablokal
Administrator
From: Nijmegen, Holland
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 3,633
Website

Re: Pcmanfm-mod is now available in Aur without use of hal

Ok, thanks for trying.

I tried it using the liveCD; stupid I didn't think of that earlier.
First there is the optional dependency consolekit  that needs to be installed to get permissions;
#pacman -S consolekit
I encountered problems too, but think I've found the cause.
pcmanf-mod doesn't give any error messages and works ok except for not showing mountable partitions and drives.

Ig writes on his  pcmanfm page that "You can check if your ConsoleKit session is 'active' and 'local'":
by doing: ck-list-sessions
My output is that consolekit is not working alright and thus probably the cause of the the problem:
Session1:
    unix-user = '1000'
    realname = '(null)'
    seat = 'Seat2'
    session-type = ''
    active = FALSE
    x11-display = ':0'
    x11-display-device = '/dev/tty7'
    display-device = ''
    remote-host-name = ''
    is-local = FALSE
    on-since = '2011-10-05T22:03:34.959299Z'
    login-session-id = '4294967295'

IG lists these solutions that I can't test on a live CD:

On Arch Linux (and possibly other distributions), you may need to add these lines to the file /etc/pam.d/login:

session optional pam_loginuid.so
session optional pam_ck_connector.so

You may need to reboot for this change to take effect.

{Pablokal: I think this will be enough}


In unusual cases, you may need to explicitly setup PolicyKit to allow members of the storage group to mount and unmount with udisks (usually this is already the case). To do so, create a text file named /etc/polkit-1/localauthority/50-local.d/10-udisks.pkla with this content:

[udisks]
Identity=unix-group:storage
Action=org.freedesktop.udisks.drive-eject;org.freedesktop.udisks.filesystem-mount
ResultAny=yes

Then add your user to the storage group if necessary (replace "myusername" with yours):

sudo usermod -aG storage myusername

Alternatively, you can just give your user permission rather than the whole storage group. In 10-udisks.pkla above change:

Identity=unix-user:myusername

You may need to reboot for this change to take effect.

Would somebody with an installed 2011.10 try these solutions? Thanks!

More here : http://igurublog.wordpress.com/download … n/#trouble


Getting your questions answered here at ArchBang Forums
Please! Always give hardware info, if there is a chance that 's relevant: #lspci -vnn
On Arch(bang) and Openbox: http://stillstup.blogspot.com/

Offline

#6 2012-05-16 23:52:23

marifb
Member
Registered: 2012-03-25
Posts: 11

Re: Pcmanfm-mod is now available in Aur without use of hal

Sorry for posting this old thread. I know archbang is using spacefm now, but I prefer pcmanfm-mod.

I can mount CD and usb disk with devmon and modification at etc/pam.d/login as pablokal post above, but can't see other partitions and my second harddisk.  Could you suggest how to solve this?

Thanks


Linux newbie...

Offline

#7 2012-05-17 07:09:23

pablokal
Administrator
From: Nijmegen, Holland
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 3,633
Website

Re: Pcmanfm-mod is now available in Aur without use of hal

I encountered the same problem; and stopped trying to solve it as I started using spacefm which doesn't have the problem.
With all te polkit and udev changes it would be nearly impossible to guide you here as it all depends on when you installed AB and what residual configs you have of prior versions of pcmanfm-mod, devmon, udev, polkit, etc.


Getting your questions answered here at ArchBang Forums
Please! Always give hardware info, if there is a chance that 's relevant: #lspci -vnn
On Arch(bang) and Openbox: http://stillstup.blogspot.com/

Offline

#8 2012-05-18 03:27:32

marifb
Member
Registered: 2012-03-25
Posts: 11

Re: Pcmanfm-mod is now available in Aur without use of hal

Too bad... I tried spacefm, but I had no idea to configure it. Only displayed root, no media (I thought devmon is built in) and couldn't access as root. The interface looks too complicated for me. But probably I'll use it if it can access all my partition, media and another hdd.


Linux newbie...

Offline

#9 2012-05-18 03:50:46

pablokal
Administrator
From: Nijmegen, Holland
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 3,633
Website

Re: Pcmanfm-mod is now available in Aur without use of hal

I already had installed devmon so probably installing it will do the trick. If not/or as alternative:

You can try two things; one is installing pmount.
It is a great tool for controlling mounting as user:

pacman -S pmount

All you then have to do is edit etc/pmount.allow (you need to be root)to allow which partition to mount as user.
A part of it looks like this in my config:

# /etc/pmount.allow
# pmount will allow users to additionally mount all devices that are
# listed here.
/dev/sda16
/dev/depot
/dev/Archb05
/dev/sda12
/dev/sda10
/dev/sda11
/dev/sda9
/dev/sda6

The other solution you can try as alternative is adding spacefm as daemon:

If you want SpaceFM always running in the background, ready to quickly open windows and automount volumes, but don't want it to manage the desktop, start a daemon instance of SpaceFM:

    spacefm -d

No window will open in this case, but an instance will be started if not already running, and it will continue running for the duration of your X login session. You can also start the daemon from your login script. For example, if using Openbox, add this line to ~/.config/openbox/autostart.sh:

    (sleep 2 && spacefm -d) &


Getting your questions answered here at ArchBang Forums
Please! Always give hardware info, if there is a chance that 's relevant: #lspci -vnn
On Arch(bang) and Openbox: http://stillstup.blogspot.com/

Offline

#10 2012-05-18 05:16:16

Mr Green
Administrator
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 6,920

Re: Pcmanfm-mod is now available in Aur without use of hal

Note that spacefm uses user password to mount [sudo], live you need to change user [live] password to allow spacefm to mount.

Future releases will need some way of allowing spacefm mounting rights, please be aware we are working on this issue so bear with us

Quick Tip

Right click on main pane and select View ---- check Devices and

Also in View --- Style --- check Icons [if required]


Comments, suggestions please feel free to contact me mrgreen(at)archbang(dot)org

Offline

#11 2012-05-19 02:14:00

marifb
Member
Registered: 2012-03-25
Posts: 11

Re: Pcmanfm-mod is now available in Aur without use of hal

Thanks for all your advice pablokal & mr green, i tried but my second harddisk still not show up and I'm not satisffied with its behavior. Btw, I installed Thunar. Its interface is similar with pcmanfm, simple and it works flawlessly. And also I can integrated it with root access and file search capabilities with catfish as posted here http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=214059 I tried nautilus and dolphin, but their theme just not match with archbang and too many depedencies.

I'm satisfied now smile


Linux newbie...

Offline

#12 2012-05-21 02:53:34

pablokal
Administrator
From: Nijmegen, Holland
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 3,633
Website

Re: Pcmanfm-mod is now available in Aur without use of hal

Here is more info about spacefm and (auto)mounting: http://ignorantguru.github.com/spacefm/ … tings-mvol


Getting your questions answered here at ArchBang Forums
Please! Always give hardware info, if there is a chance that 's relevant: #lspci -vnn
On Arch(bang) and Openbox: http://stillstup.blogspot.com/

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB